We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely lunch”
Review of The Milk Maid

The Milk Maid
Ranked #18 of 113 Restaurants in Owen Sound
Restaurant details
Reviewed November 21, 2018

Driving through Owen Sound, we passed this place and decided to pop in for a bite for lunch. We ordered a cheese board with extra olives and a 1/2 L caraf of red wine.

We chose three cheeses and they chose two for us. Had to ask for extra crackers which were free of charge which was a nice touch. The cheeses came with three local jams as accompaniments.Very tasty.

They also sold tea/coffee/cider and scones too. Very spacious cafe area - they could fit quite a few more tables and chairs into the space and should do, as it was fairly busy.

Nice ambiance, good service, good price. We bought some cheese and some local sauces and rubs to take home. Really great selection of cheeses. Both the cafe and the deli were busy with a steady steam of clientele.

Would highly recommend for a light nice lunch.

Date of visit: November 2018
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank ottobottodog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (45)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

2 - 6 of 45 reviews

Reviewed October 26, 2018 via mobile

A group of us went for lunch this week on a cold, blustery day. We learned that hot lunches are a thing of the past...too bad! The cold plates looked good but not enticing enough to encourage us to stay.

The cheese selection is modest but good. The Chateau de Bourgogne cheese is very well priced here. It is a WONDERFUL cheese...well worth a trip here.

Date of visit: October 2018
Thank JanTravels_4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 27, 2018

Love to have a couples visit with cheese platter and meat platter to share. The Scone Workshop is really worth taking! Check out the goodies wall with extra treats to take home for your pantry.

Date of visit: May 2018
Thank Sharon K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 5, 2018

If you have a penchant for delicious cheese varieties this is the place - and you can pick up pickles and sauces and get a snack while you are there....my favourite - goat gouda!

Date of visit: May 2017
Thank KateJourney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 11, 2018

My daughter and I have on several occasions, ordered the scone of the day with a cup of coffee. I asked the well informed Owner for a recommendation as to a piece of cheese that would compliment the scone and coffee. I have NEVER been disappointed in her suggestions. A well stocked assortment of cheeses to select from, and if you have a want of a bit of decadence, the Goat Cheese Brownies are divine!

Date of visit: January 2018
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Valancy S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Milk Maid also viewed

Owen Sound, Grey County
Owen Sound, Grey County
 
Owen Sound, Grey County
Owen Sound, Grey County
 

Been to The Milk Maid? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing