We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“What would Marilyn do?”
3 of 5 bubbles Review of Norma Jean's

Norma Jean's
Ranked #5 of 102 Restaurants in Owen Sound
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $4 - $21
Cuisines: Canadian, Delicatessen, Fusion, Gastropub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Families with children, Special occasions, Local cuisine
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Lunch, Full Bar, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: Norma Jean's opened it's doors in 1984 and has been a local favourite for 30 years. Offering a wide range of food and brews/spirits for every walk of life. Drawing inspiration from many cultures and culinary styles. Norma Jean's also includes daily lunch and dinner features created by the amazing team of chefs dwelling in the closet... Uh hum, I mean kitchen!
Ontario
Level Contributor
58 reviews
39 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“What would Marilyn do?”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 7, 2013

I wondered what Marilyn Munroe would do if she walked into a restaurant in small town Ontario to find it paid homage to the late actress. It is a small cafe, unpretentious and on a quiet street, so when you walk in to find the place full, it's a bit of a shock. The food was creative and fun, the staff (dining and kitchen) are youthful and obviously enjoy what you do. The decor is basic, and things are made from scratch so be prepared to wait, especially if the tables are full.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank YvonneS991
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

196 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    91
    71
    22
    8
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Toronto, ON
Level Contributor
37 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Nice bistro”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 28, 2013 via mobile

We made reservations for a Saturday night and arrived to a completely full restaurant except for our table which was waiting. An exceptional locally brewed ale was quickly delivered along with a rendition of the daily specials. Our table tried Moroccan mussels (aromatic with vegetables steam in), steak sandwich (accompanied by a respectable Caesar salad), blackened salmon (spicy but not salty or over black as so often is the case), Arctic char with BBQ'd asparagus (very tasty) and a shared order of yam fries ( served with a spicy sauce on the side). Everything was slightly influenced by North Africa though we established that the kitchen no longer had North African staff:-).
We ended the meal by sharing a slice of chocolate truffle cake buried in hot fudge and quite sufficient for four people!
Good service, a nice informal atmosphere, not too noisy despite being very busy even when we left a 10:30, contributed to a delightful experience of bistro dining. The bill with a couple of beers each and tip was about $40 a person and well worth it.
We'll definitely return...perhaps to try the various lunch offerings we saw on the menu which looked equally promising and inexpensive.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank dbearToronto_ON
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Owen Sound, Canada
Level Contributor
22 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Always Consistent”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 13, 2013

This little bistro is always good . While it is small and therefore can be a little noisy , the food is excellent and as another reviewer has said the burgers are great . I would advise a reservation , especially on week-end evenings , but you can always take a chance .

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Catherine T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
“Wonderful food and service!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 12, 2013

Had the opportunity to eat at Norma Jeans on Tuesday April 9th, and we had a wonderful time. The food options are plentiful, from a full menu to the great daily special's. Fish, fowl, red meat and vegetarian choices all prepared in a tasteful and visually incredible way. All of our meals were excellent, the drink choices were plentiful, including an ale by a local brewmaster which was so tasty. We had wonderful service by a really helpful waitress, the place is not big so it has a friendly warm atmosphere. We will absolutely go back to this yummy, fun, superb resteraunt again, and soon!!

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank PauletteW707
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto
1 review
“Fresh food, friendly service”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 10, 2013

I love this bistro so much. Every time I've gone there are different specials (both mains and apps). I always get the catch of the day. Or the blues burger. Oh man best burgers in town. They are so big and juicy and the blues burger has blue cheese and onions. It is a really small place but its nice and intimate but I would call ahead if you're going on a weekend.
I highly recommend it!!!

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank CWalkster
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Norma Jean's also viewed

 
Owen Sound, Grey County
Owen Sound, Grey County
 
Owen Sound, Grey County
Owen Sound, Grey County
 

Been to Norma Jean's? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing