We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Pleasant Surprise in the Grey-Bruce Area”
Review of Taj Indian Restaurant - CLOSED

Taj Indian Restaurant
Price range: $0 - $20
Cuisines: Indian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Lunch, Reservations, Takeout
Description: Our restaurant offers Authentic Tandori Cuisine. With many lunch specials, an extensive menu of cultural dishes, and fantastic dinners and takeout options, you can try some of the best Indian Cuisine in the Region. Our head Chef and owner Milah, used his 20 years of experience to create our menu that has famous indian dishes like "Butter Chicken, Lamb of Beef Vindaloo, Shrimp Curry, Chicken Madras, Tikki Masala, and vegetarian specialities such as Mixed Vegetable Curry, and Vegetable Korma's. There are well over 30 items to order from, and our customers have raved about our wonderful food, and the reasonable prices!"Taste Authentic Indian Cuisine"
Cambridge, Ontario, Canada
Level 5 Contributor
95 reviews
79 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“A Pleasant Surprise in the Grey-Bruce Area”
Reviewed September 28, 2013

My son and I decided to drop in and check the Taj out. It is a an unpretentious restaurant with a decidedly 70's decor. The proprietor recommended the lunch special ($8.95) chicken curry. It almost felt like he wanted us the prefer the special as opposed selecting from the menu but we took him up on his recommendation. Voila! In less than 5 minutes our chicken curry was delivered. My son and I both felt the food was good and I would return to order off the main menu.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Eric E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

47 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    28
    15
    3
    0
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
London, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Amazing!”
Reviewed September 25, 2013

Fantastic food and service. The owner is wonderful and very accommodating. Highly recommend the samosa and the Chana curry :-)

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank HappyCanuck9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 6 Contributor
446 reviews
300 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 223 helpful votes
“Good food, cheap prices”
Reviewed September 14, 2013 via mobile

Came here for dinner on a Tuesday night. The place is quite small and wasn't busy. They had a special on for less than $12 that included rice, a chicken curry, somosa and naan. The meal was quite good. For two of us to eat and one beer came to $32. Can't beat the price. The owner was quite friendly and spoke with us throughout the meal. I recommend for a great meal at a low price.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Motorbragg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
victoria
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Great Indian in Owen Sound”
Reviewed May 29, 2013

Very welcoming place for two road-weary travellers. We had the "Meal for Two" which was a selection of a bit of everything -- our way to test a new place. Nice home-made samosas and deliciously soft nan, lamb, beef, veggies, fragrant basmati rice. Because it was between lunch and dinner (3 p.m.), the owner had time to chat -- he even brought us (free!) basmati rice pudding for dessert -- delicious! We were stuffed and took our leftovers home for another meal. We will be back again.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank irisheyesvictoria
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Owen Sound, Canada
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Great Lunch Specials”
Reviewed May 28, 2013

Have picked up quite a few lunch specials to go & have never been dissapointed.
Also have bought frozen meals from them at the Owen Sound Farmers Market, great Samosas

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Eamon F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Taj Indian Restaurant also viewed

Owen Sound, Grey County
 
Owen Sound, Grey County
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing