We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Team Stay” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Owen Sound Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Owen Sound Inn
Ranked #5 of 10 Hotels in Owen Sound
Saskatoon
2 reviews
“Team Stay”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 11, 2013

We just spent a week at the hotel and we were very happy with our stay. We had a team there with 10 rooms booked. In comparing prices to other places in Owen Sound at the time, it was very reasonably priced. Very clean and well kept. The staff was extremely freindly and helpfull. Any thing we needed they took care of, use of their bar-b-que, areas in back for team socializing and even giving us rides around town, prior to us picking up rental vehicles. I would certainly stay here again, if evr back in OWen Sound. Thanks Aman and Neet, fo a great stay.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Clayton F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

148 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    67
    47
    13
    11
    10
See reviews for
32
44
20
20
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (26)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Brampton, Canada
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 5, 2013

I stayed at this hotel during a snowstorm and was very nervous as I was alone. The room had a strong smell of some type of spray. It didn't have a phone and the door wouldn't lock. I was offered a different room which smelled much worse so stayed in my original room. I have stayed in 2 other hotels in Owen Sound which were given lower ratings and can't understand this as one was beautiful with a large continental breakfast and the other more average but still better than this one.
I will definitely not stay here again.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank nerfnerf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Neet D, Manager at Owen Sound Inn, responded to this review, August 12, 2013
This reviewer has chosen to hide behind an anonymous name and provide the following incorrect information about our property:
1. Room did not have a phone: All the guest rooms are equipped with a phone;
2. Door did not lock: This is scenario is impossible at our property because in addition to the door locks, we have dead-bolts on the doors and they lock the doors without fail;
3. Smell of spray: We take note of the fact that some of our guests may be allergic to perfumes and fragrances. As such we have a no fragrance policy for the rooms.
In addition, the reviewer has laid bare his bias and most likely a family/friendly connection with another motel in Owen Sound by being offended by our better rating on this website. This anonymous reviewer has put up a review after 8 - 10 months of his/her alleged stay to provide incorrect information about our property and offer unsubstantiated praise of our competitors.
If this anonymous reviewer has ever stayed at our property we would request him/her to provide the date of stay along-with the room number and his/her name. This would allow us to review our records and rectify any short-comings at our end and provide better accommodations and facilities to our guests.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kingston, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 2, 2013

My Partner, Darryl and I stayed for a night at the Owen Sound Inn. around mid July. We had just got in after a very long ride on the Harley and the weather was really Hot! We were welcomed in by our Gracious Hosts, Aman and Neet. We were made to feel right at home and although it is nothing really fancy, it was clean and comfortable. Our hosts are of East Indian decent and I decided to inquire into any Indian Food restaurants in town, as both Darryl and I absolutely love Indian Food. Aman was very helpful in giving us some information but decided to make us a meal himself! Unbelievable! It was delicious and they brought it right to our room. I was so surprised that they went to that extent to make us comfortable. Aman is a very interesting gentleman to talk to as he spoke with us at length on many subjects, from food to culture. They were so nice to us and he even gave me a cold beer! Darryl does not drink but water was flowing as was the conversation! We got home and sent them some of my strawberry jam and some hot sauce for his efforts at being such a great cook! We consider these nice folks friends! I would recommend staying here anytime if you are looking for an economical, clean and nice spot on your travels near the Bruce Peninsula. There was even a lovely continental breakfast and fresh coffee for us in the Morning. They out did themselves and we really enjoyed our stay. We hope to see them again! . Thank you so much! Sincerely, Lesa Johnston from Kingston, Ontario

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Lesalynnjohnston
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
anglewoody, Owner at Owen Sound Inn, responded to this review, August 6, 2013
Dear Lesa & Darryl: There is a saying in the east-indian culture that people in the journey of life can be broadly divided into two categories:
1. Garbage & Night Soil Carts: these people go about their life in an unhappy state of mind and try to dump their unhappiness on everyone along the way. They try to fixate their problems on external factors and spread unpleasantness along the way; &
2. Flower Carts: Just like a flower cart moving on the road, these people bring cheer and joy to all the people around them by their fragrance, beauty and good vibes. You my friends, are perfect examples of the flower cart group.
People like you make it worth being in the hospitality business.
We know that we have many shortcomings as human beings. Thank you for ignoring those and finding the good in us. Similarly, we acknowledge that our motel is not the most luxurious in town but, as you put it very aptly - "an economical, clean and nice spot". Again, many thanks for appreciating what our property offers.
We look forward to seeing you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Waterloo, Canada
Level Contributor
20 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 26, 2013

In reading the other reviews I thought I would take a chance. Turns out this was a mistake. The office staff to be sure are friendly and helpful. However the room was terrible. It had that musty covered up with too much Febreze smell. The shower curtain had black mold spots. The refrigerator was unplugged but the door was closed - and you know what that smells like. The sliding glass door handle lock not only didn't work, it wasn't even there. And behind the hotel the view was of a broken down BBQ and two discarded rusting propane tanks - not pretty and probably not safe.

Awful!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank GRemington99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
anglewoody, Owner at Owen Sound Inn, responded to this review, July 27, 2013
Dear GRemington99:
I have checked the room records for the last 3 months and note that we have not had a guest with last name Remington during this time. I also note that we had a guest from Waterloo, Ontario within the last 10 days and it is possible that the same guest may be writing this post under a false guise. However, it is difficult to believe that because that guest was accommodated with an early check-in and a late check-out. Also, this guest was friendly and would have definitely pointed out any shortcomings at our end at the time of check-out.
However, I will still respond to the issues raised in your review:
1. Cleanliness: At the Owen Sound Inn, we are proud of the clean and comfortable rooms and beds that are provided to our guests. We have a rigorous and timely schedule for room cleaning. I have checked all the rooms in the Inn and did not find any mold spots on any shower curtain. These curtains are cleaned after each check-out and replaced regularly;
2. Refrigerator: The refrigerators in the rooms are cleaned and unplugged after each check-out. The door is left open after each cleaning. It is possible that the refrigerator door was closed inadvertently or due to the rush of air due to the sudden and forceful opening of the room door;
3. Staff: Many thanks for your kind remarks with respect to the staff.
Also, thank you for taking the time-out for writing this review and pointing out our short-comings as perceived by you. We will continue to follow our rigorous standards for house-keeping and cleanliness and try our best to live upto the expectations of our valued guests.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Woodstock, Canada
Level Contributor
16 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 26, 2013

We came up to Owen Sound to relax for a couple of days and just drive around enjoying some old memories. We like this inn as it is owner operated and the the owners are a great couple. Very nice to just sit and chat with, also a new couple to Owen Sound, from the Toronto area, so very interesting to talk to. There were no surprises with the price of the room or the room. It is a very economical inn to stay at. The room was very quiet, lots of towels, a large TV and close to downtown. Everything was clean. The breakfast was enough for us as we do not eat a huge meal in the morning. Again, the owners were most gracious to their guests.

Room Tip: The rooms on the upper level in the back have a lovely view of the little park and are very quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Rob M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thunder Bay, Canada
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 17, 2013

I stayed at Owen Sound In on June 13 and 14. The place was clean, beds were comfortable.
The Motel was booked to the capacity. There was group of people from Windsor Ontario who were staying with there young children's. They were having excellent time. All were having fun at the back and kids were playing.

I had to leave early for work and owners were kind enough to offer breakfast an hour early before, there usual breakfast time.

I would recommend this place.

The only thing that i didn't like was they don't have restaurant on site.

Overall its provide good value for the money you spend.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank DianeVandemeer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Trenton
Level Contributor
17 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 26, 2013

I choose this particular Inn on three counts. One, because of close proximity to our destination, second because of the price and third, it's family owned and its quiet. :)
We had stayed at this Inn more than once before, so when calling back to reserve again, even though the time period had been a few months, the owner remembered us, which is always a pleasant surprise.

Room Tip: I prefer the downstairs rooms, as the room is three feet from the car. We knew the air conditioner...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Gladys F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Owen Sound
0.6 mi away
Comfort Inn Owen Sound
Comfort Inn Owen Sound
#4 of 10 in Owen Sound
3.5 of 5 bubbles 156 reviews
1.4 mi away
BEST WESTERN Inn On The Bay
BEST WESTERN Inn On The Bay
#1 of 10 in Owen Sound
4.5 of 5 bubbles 451 reviews
1.6 mi away
Knights Inn Owen Sound
Knights Inn Owen Sound
#2 of 10 in Owen Sound
4.0 of 5 bubbles 152 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Travelodge Owen Sound ON
Travelodge Owen Sound ON
#7 of 10 in Owen Sound
3.0 of 5 bubbles 432 reviews
16.0 mi away
Waterview on The Bay
Waterview on The Bay
#1 of 4 in Wiarton
4.5 of 5 bubbles 327 reviews
0.2 mi away
Quality Inn Owen Sound
Quality Inn Owen Sound
#10 of 10 in Owen Sound
3.0 of 5 bubbles 212 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Owen Sound Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Owen Sound Inn

Property: Owen Sound Inn
Address: 485 9th Avenue East, Owen Sound, Ontario N4K 3E2, Canada
Location: Canada > Ontario > Grey County > Owen Sound
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 10 Hotels in Owen Sound
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Owen Sound Inn 2*
Number of rooms: 26
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Hotels.com so you can book your Owen Sound Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Owen Sound Hotel Owen Sound
Owen Sound Inn Ontario

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing