We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very Disappointed”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Travelodge Owen Sound ON
Ranked #8 of 10 Hotels in Owen Sound
Waterloo, Canada
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Very Disappointed”
Reviewed August 10, 2008

We just returned from the travelodge in Owen Sound. We booked a couple days in advance for a mini-holiday at Sauble Beach. We booked on the monday for a Wednesday check in and requested a roll-away-bed as we have 3 children. The gentlemen that registered our stay was very nice and told us that it would be no problem for the roll-away-bed. I called on the morning of our check in to let them know that we would be checking in late and that if they could have the roll-away-bed ready in the room it would be appreciated. The girl at the front desk told me it was request only and would not confirm. I called back 2 hours later and she still did not know but would see what she could do. I left the reservation as is due to no availability in the area. We arrived at 10 pm at night with 3 tired children. I asked at the front desk if the extra bed was in the room but the girl did not know. She told me to look in our room. There was no extra bed, no extra towels and no extra blankets. The staff was very unprofessional and no effort was taken what so ever. The room was dirty and the bathroom was disgusting. The blankets given to us after I requested at the front desk had stains and cigeratte burns in them. One of my children had to sleep on the floor. To top it all off there was several baseball teams partying during the night and in the halls inbetween our room. We had to call the front desk 3 times until the noise settled down after 1:30 in the morning. I was not impressed with this hotel and would not recommend it to anyone.

  • Stayed August 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
4 Thank dlog48
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

451 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    50
    127
    122
    85
    67
See reviews for
182
105
26
86
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (31)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
toronto
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed April 1, 2008

I am not sure why some people gave bad reviews. Maybe in 2005 it was old looking, but I just went there the past weekend and I was really impressed. The whole motel was newly renovated with great size rooms. Me and my family went down for a hockey game and I was happy. The service and rates were great, I really enjoyed the breakfast in the morning. The lady working in the morning was really nice and was very helpful. The man working in the evening was really funny and helped us take our bags to our rooms which was surprising. I will be coming back for sure. I recommend this place to everyone.

  • Liked — I really think that the quality of stay is great for the price and service is great.
  • Disliked — There was no weightroom, but its a motel so I cant complain
  • Stayed March 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank Alex_Toronto_SC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michigan
Level 6 Contributor
79 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 90 helpful votes
Reviewed May 28, 2007

We stayed here for the Canadian Tandem Rally. Overall the place isn't fancy, but our room was decent. There was one nasty glitch, in that a towel was hanging on the back of the bathroom door. The towels had obviously been replaced, but the room attendant hadn't bothered to notice that one.

While we were there (3 nights) the room was made up promptly and the linens were clean and in good shape. I should note there were some mildew spots on the caulk in the tub, though not large and disgusting ones.

Front desk service was friendly and helpful, too. They did a decent job of serving our group breakfast in the meeting room, but we did run out of coffee on Sunday morning for too long.

From prior reviews I thought it would be a terrible place, but it was very serviceable for the price.

  • Stayed May 2007, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Nanner08
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed October 30, 2005

I would not stay there again if they paid me. After I left, I even had a charge on my bill for 2 tickets to France. Hadn't used that card for a long while previously, trip to France booked on Travelocity, and I really question their security with names, numbers and above all personal information i.e. addresses. Manager assured me they have systems in place, but the timing was very suspicious. I changed rooms twice to get one with internet access, and even then it was iffy.

  • Stayed February 2005, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Owen Sound hotels

Guelph, Canada
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 97 helpful votes
Reviewed August 29, 2005

I will not recommend this hotel to anyone. Did not care for the room for the following reasons...
-gave us wrong room key
-when we arrived the room had not been cleaned even though we arrived 2 hours after check-in time
-cobwebs in room, room stunk, room appearance was very disappointing
-continental breakfast was not good, very sparse
-overall atmosphere -----
Did not enjoy our stay whatsoever.

  • Stayed July 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
10 Thank belly_14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Owen Sound
0.1 mi away
Comfort Inn Owen Sound
Comfort Inn Owen Sound
#3 of 10 in Owen Sound
166 reviews
0.7 mi away
Best Western Inn On The Bay
Best Western Inn On The Bay
#1 of 10 in Owen Sound
499 reviews
1.3 mi away
Knights Inn Owen Sound
Knights Inn Owen Sound
#2 of 10 in Owen Sound
157 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Owen Sound Inn
Owen Sound Inn
#4 of 10 in Owen Sound
153 reviews
15.4 mi away
Waterview on The Bay
Waterview on The Bay
#1 of 4 in Wiarton
344 reviews
22.0 mi away
Quality Inn
Quality Inn
#1 of 4 in Southampton
136 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Travelodge Owen Sound ON? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Travelodge Owen Sound ON

Property: Travelodge Owen Sound ON
Address: 880 10th St E, Owen Sound, Ontario N4K 1T4, Canada
Location: Canada > Ontario > Grey County > Owen Sound
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 10 Hotels in Owen Sound
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Travelodge Owen Sound ON 2*
Number of rooms: 61
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Travelodge Owen Sound ON reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Travelodge Owen Sound Hotel Owen Sound
Travel Lodge Owen Sound
Owen Sound Travel Lodge
Owen Sound Travelodge
Travelodge Owen Sound ON Ontario

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing