We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect Bed and Breakfast”
Review of The Highland Manor

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
The Highland Manor
Ranked #1 of 5 Owen Sound B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
MI
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Perfect Bed and Breakfast”
Reviewed August 19, 2006

This was the nicest way to begin our marriage together. Paul and Linda (owners) made our stay so enjoyable and were incredibly pleasant. We thought the room was charming, the house was amazing, and the food was fabulous. We couldn't have asked for anything else.

Helpful?
1 Thank mmm4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

219 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    206
    11
    2
    0
    0
See reviews for
24
129
18
20
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (52)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Toronto, Ontario
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed July 25, 2006

My husband and I escaped for a two night retreat to this beautiful Inn.. Our plan was to stay in the Sauble Beach area, but there didn't seem to be any cottages or Inns that suited our taste. I'm very happy that we made the decision to stay at this Inn, which is only about a 15-20 minute drive from Sauble Beach. We were surrounded by antiques and various collections that are priceless. The breakfasts were delicious and consisted of French Toast with local berries and grated orange zest the first morning, and Western-style eggs with home made croissants the second morning (I was grateful that Linda even told me how to make these!) The hosts, Linda and Paul were very welcoming and offered suggestions on how we could spend our time in the area. We were happy to have gone to a nearby town "Keady", where every Tuesday morning, there are live stock auctions and local vendors selling their unique goods. We couldn't believe how large of an event it turned out to be! It was very enjoyable. The air here is clean and crisp and we enjoyed the breeze coming through our window during the night. Our room, The Ross, was especially nice because it had it's own little balcony, where we relaxed reading, while sipping some wine, with a great view of large trees, over one hundred years old. I'd recommend this Inn for anyone who is longing to find some peace and quiet...definitely a romantic place we would love to return to.

  • Liked — Tranquility/Privacy
  • Stayed July 2006, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank RJDZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cornwall England
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed July 24, 2006

We heard about the Highland Manor from friends so when we went to Canada for a holiday from England we thought we would go and stay for a few days to get away from it all.
What a lovely place..we were greeted by Linda and Paul and given a tour of their gorgeous house.
It was our 39th wedding anniversary so we had the honeymoon suite which was just perfect.
The room looked out over Owen Sound and in the evenings as it was still a bit chilly we put a log in the open fire and it was just magical.
Linda and Paul were such good hosts and told us all the great places to go to eat and each one we tried was as good as they had said. They gave us ideas on where to go to see all the local history ,as we didn't manage to fit it all in we will definitly have to make a return trip.
We stayed for 5 nights and each morning we had a different breakfast which was delicious and set us up for the day.
We were welcome to use the sitting room and to read the many books that they have, they have a great many on the history of Owen Sound and they love to talk about the history of thier much loved old house.
If you want to get away from the stress of every day living and be spoilt rotten by your suroundings this is the place to go.

  • Liked — The whole package
  • Stayed May 2006, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank helleur
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hamilton
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed July 24, 2006

From Friday night to Sunday morning our stay at this B & B was welcoming, delicious and a lot of fun. Not only do the owners share the history of this Victorian home, they share the great sites of Owen Sound for you to enjoy. It took the guess work out of what to do and allowed us to relax.

The breakfasts gave Martha Stewart competition. Fresh seasonal berries served over french toast with a hint of orange drizzled in local maple syrup. If you can believe it Sunday's topped Saturdays; which is not a surprise when you see the cookbooks in the kitchen used regularly by both Linda and Paul.

Along with wonderful meals and accomodations, Paul and Linda's sense of humour topped off our getaway. They were meant to be in the hospitality business and we are glad to have had this weekend away. Our advice is to book and let them suggest the rest. A quick holiday made easy.

Stayed June 2006
Helpful?
1 Thank GottaBeKD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hamilton
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed July 23, 2006

The only thing better than the actual B&B are the hosts Linda and Paul - they are incredibly hospitable and bent over backwards to make us feel comfortable.

The breakfasts were incredible!!!

We will definitely be coming back

  • Liked — The Hosts
  • Tips/Secrets — Ask for the French toast
  • Stayed July 2006, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kobiharley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Owen Sound, Canada
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed July 13, 2006

This is a lovingly maintained Victorian mansion, grandly appointed but with a welcoming feel. Our hosts upgraded us to a more expensive room on the other side of the building, because it had better ventilation. The house itself has a natural coolness, even in July, due to the very high ceilings and thick brick walls. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed July 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank rgdaniel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed July 12, 2006

The Highland Manor is a fascinating Victorian house with a history that includes being the birthplace of 2000 babies. Our recent stay was quite satisfying from all viewpoints. Hosts Linda and Paul were attentive but not intrusive, certainly friendly and eager to talk about their home. The manor had been substantially restored by previous owners and now the current ones are dedicated to continuing the neverending work of painting, restoring old parts such as rotted corbels, and adding period-compatible furnishings.

Linda's breakfasts were beautifully presented and delicious. I wholeheartedly recommend this B&B if you are stopping in or passing through the area.

Helpful?
Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Owen Sound
1.2 mi away
Best Western Inn On The Bay
Best Western Inn On The Bay
#1 of 10 in Owen Sound
495 reviews
1.1 mi away
Comfort Inn Owen Sound
Comfort Inn Owen Sound
#4 of 10 in Owen Sound
166 reviews
15.1 mi away
Waterview on The Bay
Waterview on The Bay
#1 of 4 in Wiarton
342 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Knights Inn Owen Sound
Knights Inn Owen Sound
#2 of 10 in Owen Sound
156 reviews
1.2 mi away
Owen Sound Inn
Owen Sound Inn
#5 of 10 in Owen Sound
153 reviews
1.0 mi away
Travelodge Owen Sound ON
Travelodge Owen Sound ON
#8 of 10 in Owen Sound
450 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Highland Manor? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Highland Manor

Property: The Highland Manor
Address: 867 4th Ave a W, Owen Sound, Ontario N4K 6L5, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > Ontario > Grey County > Owen Sound
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 B&Bs / Inns in Owen Sound
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — The Highland Manor 3*
Number of rooms: 4
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity and Orbitz so you can book your The Highland Manor reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Highland Manor Owen Sound, Ontario

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing