We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Charming and welcoming!”
Review of The Highland Manor

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
The Highland Manor
Ranked #1 of 5 Owen Sound B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed August 23, 2009

We stayed at the Highland Manor for two nights whilst on tour exploring the area of Ontario. Linda and Paul make one feel very welcome and gave us lots of advice on where best to visit and eat. Paul was also extremely helpful in phoning around various stores for my husband who had left his computer power cable behind in our last accommodation, many thanks Paul! They both go beyond their call of duty to help one out. We stayed in the Buchanan room and although it was advertised to me as ‘cosy’, it was really lovely and spacious. Unfortunately, we had very wet weather on our visit so couldn’t make use of the garden veranda, but a plus is the communal fridge to chill a nice bottle of wine in :) Overall a very welcoming and comfortable home.

  • Stayed: August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ExplorerM02
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (231)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

191 - 197 of 231 reviews

Reviewed August 10, 2009

The lovely house and furnishings, the very elegant Fleming room, and our helpful, welcoming hosts made for a great and memorable 5-day pause from very busy schedules.

Linda and Paul gave useful, informed advice and directions about restaurants, activities and attractions, and struck just the right balance between welcoming us and leaving us to enjoy our stay. We also appreciated their willingness to accommodate our schedule for breakfast.

The breakfast each day was exceptional in variety, quality and taste, and they are rightly proud of their menu and presentation. Each of four five mornings was different, including a varied take each day on a fresh fruit cup. No choice was offered and we weren't asked about our preferences, but both of us enjoy breakfast, and quickly began to look forward to starting our day with this unusually good, fresh-cooked food. Kudos!

We slept very well in a really comfortable bed, which also had good lighting for reading. The bathroom is large and well outfitted, and we also appreciated the wireless internet access. I would have liked a small desk or table for my computer (and an appropriate chair) but this really isn't meant for the wired traveller staying several days.

Rather, one should enjoy the spacious, graceful rooms, test the outside seating on the veranda, lounge in the reading area in the upstairs hallway and savour the quiet, privacy.

  • Stayed: July 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Inscribed
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 20, 2009

Linda and Paul could not have been more hospitable. The breakfast (and coffee!) was excellent, and they will not hesitate to provide directions and give recommendations. We wanted to go on a run, and Linda mapped out the perfect route for us (don't miss the Bruce trail!).

The house is absolutely stunning and impeccably maintained. There is wifi and complimentary water and sodas (and a mini fridge that you can share with the other guests). We stayed in the Ross, which had a private balcony and updated bathroom.

Make sure you ask for directions; Googlemaps was wrong(!). I only wish that we could have stayed longer.

  • Stayed: July 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank KLorrayne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 6, 2009

We stayed at this lovely B&B for 3 nights. The Highland Manor is a beautiful home on private grounds, yet close to the downtown (we walked to everything). All the rooms were large, super clean and lots of special features. Our hosts made us feel right at home, we really appreciated their knowledge of the area's history and suggestions of things to do. Next time we visit the Bruce Peninsula we'll definitely stay again!

  • Stayed: June 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank foodie072
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 18, 2009

Have stayed here many times while travelling as a single lady for business and I am just getting to writing a review now. This is a lovely place on the top of a hill in Owen Sound...with lovely rooms each with their own ensuite. Each room has it's own theme, colour skeme complete with title. Breakfast is lovely each time, fresh fruit cup to start, choice of juice, followed by one of Linda's menu items such as: baked eggs with warm croissants, another time french toast with fresh berries, pumpkin souffle pancakes...both are served with local maple syrup.
LInda and Paul are lovely hosts, great cooks, and good company too. If you ask Linda...she may even play the grand piano for you....

  • Stayed: June 2009, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SafetyLady2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 23, 2008

We arrived at this magical home when each and every leaf, branch and tree had been 'iced' with white, glistening snow. As we approached the house at the top of a hill, we stood overlooking the sparkling lights of Owen Sound's Festival of Lights. To our delight, this was also the view from the beautiful Ross Room. Linda greeted us warmly, showed us to our room and her husband Paul made sure we had a fire in the hearth. They are an extraordinary couple who indeed have come down where they ought to be. It was a privilege to see how lovingly they have restored and maintained this historically important home. Linda and Paul are exceptional hosts and we were made to feel welcome in every way. It was a wonderful stay and we can only wish future guests bon appetit when they sit down to one of Linda's marvelous breakfasts..

  • Stayed: December 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank willieandme
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 23, 2008

Stayed at Highland Manor for two nights in the middle of November 2008. Not exactly the best time of year to visit Northern Ontario but in the midst of a snowy Owen Sound we discovered a true gem of a B&B that, in our view, cannot be matched. Highland Manor is not really a B&B but is a warm and friendly home where hospitality is brimming from wall to wall and the house itself offers you an experience to step back in time. Linda and Paul are the most gracious of hosts and from the moment we arrived the welcome was truly exceptional. They greeted us as though were long lost friends and within a few minutes felt as if we had known them for many years. The house if full of warmth and laughter which is reflected in the flames of the fire which was lit in our bedroom each evening to lull us off to sleep in our wonderfully comfortable bed. There are many restaurants to experience and we sadly only experienced two but that is a great excuse to return and hopefully, snow willing, we will be able to experience Ted's and Jasmyn's on a future trip. The Northen Lights festival is a great excuse to visit the area and we won't forget the magical experience of a stroll along the river bank viewing the colourful light displays with snow falling all around. Staying at Highland Manor is truly an experience we would thoroughly recommend - many thanks Linda and Paul.

  • Stayed: November 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank Caledoniagirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Owen Sound
1.2 mi away
Best Western Inn On The Bay
Best Western Inn On The Bay
#1 of 10 in Owen Sound
568 reviews
1.1 mi away
Comfort Inn Owen Sound
Comfort Inn Owen Sound
#4 of 10 in Owen Sound
176 reviews
21.0 mi away
Quality Inn
Quality Inn
#1 of 4 in Southampton
149 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
15.1 mi away
Waterview on The Bay
Waterview on The Bay
#1 of 4 in Wiarton
368 reviews
0.4 mi away
Knights Inn Owen Sound
Knights Inn Owen Sound
#2 of 10 in Owen Sound
166 reviews
7.7 mi away
Inn at Cobble Beach Resort and Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Highland Manor? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Highland Manor

Address: 867 4th Ave a W, Owen Sound, Ontario N4K 6L5, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > Ontario > Grey County > Owen Sound
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 B&Bs / Inns in Owen Sound
Price Range: $148 - $155 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The Highland Manor 3*
Number of rooms: 4
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz and Hotels.com so you can book your The Highland Manor reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Highland Manor Owen Sound, Ontario

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing