We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A real gem”
Review of The Highland Manor

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
The Highland Manor
Ranked #1 of 5 Owen Sound B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“A real gem”
Reviewed June 20, 2014

Great location, close to downtown, quiet neighborhood, beautiful old trees, elegant home, spacious rooms, friendly and helpful hosts, tasty and nutritious full breakfast, comfortable and quality bed and linens, etc, etc. If you ever need a place to stay in the Owen Sound area, this is it.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Denise_Jim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

219 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    206
    11
    2
    0
    0
See reviews for
24
129
18
20
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (52)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Orlando, Florida
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed May 31, 2014

Linda and Paul are superlative hosts........... welcoming, giving good tips on local sight seeing, and making dinner reservations. We enjoyed our four nights at their B & B with the most scrumptious and leisurely breakfasts and spacious bedroom.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank JPCGLC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed May 30, 2014

My fiance and I have stayed at Highland Manor twice when we have been visiting our wedding vendors in Owen Sound. The property is impeccable and the owners are simply delightful. Whatever idyllic ideas you have about English style B&B accommodations, they will be far exceeded here. It is such a wonderful place to stay that I have recommended it for some of my more discerning wedding guests. You will not be disappointed.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank StockholmSyndr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Owen Sound, Canada
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed April 7, 2014

My wife won an evening at the Highland manor b&b and for someone who usually never wins anything this was a great bonus.The Inn is lovely and very comfortable.The hosts Paul and Linda made us feel right at home and very comfortable.I have never done the B&B thing before and if they all come even close to this experience I wil become a fan.Thankyou Paul and Linda.

Room Tip: The front room view is great
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kent Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ontario, Canada
Level 2 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed March 11, 2014

My husband and I had the great pleasure of spending 2 nights at The Highland Manor. So happy we chose this beautiful property for our first experience in a B&B. This house is incredibly beautiful and has been restored to perfection by proud owners, Linda and Paul. The moment we arrived, our ever welcoming hosts immediately made us feel at home and comfortable. Our room was lovely, spacious and immaculate! Linda prepared the most delicious breakfasts and went to great lengths to make us feel pampered during our stay. Fantastic getaway!!

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MsLouie-travels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed January 13, 2014

My husband & I had a wonderful time at the Inn. The house is absolutely stunning! Our room was spacious, yet cozy and it had a working fireplace. Linda was kind enough to make dinner reservations for us at one of the nearby restaurants and the main Downtown strip was within walking distance. When we returned to the Inn, Paul got the fire ready for us. No better way to spend your anniversary, then sharing a bottle of wine, in front of the fireplace, in a beautiful place and then fall asleep in one of the most comfortable beds ever! We are already looking forward to our next visit!

Thanks, Linda & Paul xoxo

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Leslie F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed November 28, 2013

My husband and I stayed at the Highland Manor early this year. The B&B is truly magical if you like old world charm. The room was perfectly done with french decor and quite spacious. The host is exceptionally friendly and booked us our dinner reservation in town for the night.
If you go around New Year's - Owen Sound has the festival of lights. Take a carriage ride around town at night- it's quite magical.
The bars all have live music and people are ever so friendly. The location of the Highland Manor is few minutes away from main town - it's easy to get there just by walking.
We would definitely go back to Highland Manor - thumbs up for a city girl like me!!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Nov1273
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Owen Sound
1.2 mi away
Best Western Inn On The Bay
Best Western Inn On The Bay
#1 of 10 in Owen Sound
495 reviews
1.1 mi away
Comfort Inn Owen Sound
Comfort Inn Owen Sound
#4 of 10 in Owen Sound
166 reviews
15.1 mi away
Waterview on The Bay
Waterview on The Bay
#1 of 4 in Wiarton
342 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Knights Inn Owen Sound
Knights Inn Owen Sound
#2 of 10 in Owen Sound
156 reviews
1.2 mi away
Owen Sound Inn
Owen Sound Inn
#5 of 10 in Owen Sound
153 reviews
1.0 mi away
Travelodge Owen Sound ON
Travelodge Owen Sound ON
#8 of 10 in Owen Sound
450 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Highland Manor? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Highland Manor

Property: The Highland Manor
Address: 867 4th Ave a W, Owen Sound, Ontario N4K 6L5, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > Ontario > Grey County > Owen Sound
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 B&Bs / Inns in Owen Sound
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — The Highland Manor 3*
Number of rooms: 4
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity and Orbitz so you can book your The Highland Manor reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Highland Manor Owen Sound, Ontario

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing