We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Magnificent B; forgetable B”
Review of The Highland Manor

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Owen Sound
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
The Highland Manor
Ranked #1 of 5 Owen Sound B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
toronto
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Magnificent B; forgetable B”
Reviewed August 2, 2013

The elegant property, inside and outside, made us sorry to leave; and the owners are gracious and friendly. The breakfast, however, was very disappointing - no choice, a little fruit, a slab of French toast, coffee. Ordinary B&B's around the world present better meals.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank howard t
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

213 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    201
    10
    2
    0
    0
See reviews for
24
125
18
20
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (52)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Canton, Michigan
Level Contributor
4 reviews
Reviewed July 28, 2013

We stayed 5 nights at the Highland Manor, using it as a home base to explore the Bruce Peninsula. Linda and Paul not only provided warm, gracious hospitality, but went way beyond what most innkeepers do in terms of spending time to show us around the property, get us well oriented to the nearby places in Owen Sound, and in giving us outstanding day trip ideas each morning, personalized to perfectly match our interests. Breakfasts were wonderful and served piping hot with lots of attentiveness. The house is a beauty and our room was spacious, clean and comfortable in every way. My husband has back problems but the mattress was so nice that he said it was like being at home. This property is a definite MUST if you're going to the area. There is nothing else that will compare. If this is your first time in a bed and breakfast, be warned --- you'll be spoiled and hard to satisfy after staying here. We've enjoyed many B&B stays but this one went to the top of our list of favorites!!

Room Tip: Can't go wrong. Just tell Linda what you like and she'll suggest the best to meet your needs...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mlh2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois, United States
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed July 20, 2013

Thanks for a great stay Linda and Paul. We really had a wonderful time during our brief stay the 1st week of July and totally enjoyed the room, the breakfast and your company ! And the added bonus was, we all got to take home some great memories and important insights into the music bizz, including our daughter who was especially influenced by your thoughtful advice. We can only hope she has a career as long and exciting as yours. Thanks again for everything. We're spreading the word about Highland Manor and hope to be back in the fall. All the best !

Martin,Sophie and Katy C

Room Tip: Trust Linda and Paul's advice, they won't steer you wrong.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MartinC101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
43 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 113 helpful votes
Reviewed July 16, 2013

What an excellent place for a getaway. We were excepting it to be good by reading all the nice reviews about this Inn, but it exceeded our expectations!.
First of all, both Linda and Paul are excellent hosts, very helpful and knowledgeable about the history of the place and providing tips for the visits of the surrounding places.
The Inn is surrounded by big trees and really you cannot see it even from the front outside road as all the surrounding greenery hides it. The sitting area and music room is full of history, antiques and memorablia.
We booked online Ross room for a weekend getaway. A beautiful room, with ensuite bath/washroom with all the necessary amneties and toileterries. A private romantic rustic balcony to watch sunset / daybreak, huge windows provide wonderful view of the city and surrounding greens. The bed was so comfortable for a nice sleep after a long journey. The decor of the room was very nice.
The wraparound veranda with sofas and the chairs in the huge backyard green area provides quite romantic decor.
It is a small Inn with only four rooms, so everytning is very quite and personal. The morning breakfast is very tasteful with blueberry pancakes and aromatic coffee.
The Inn is so much nice and clean and look after that tells the work and dedication of the owners.
Very much looking forward for another getaway to this gem of a place.
Thanks Linda and Paul.
Highly recommend this excellent place for a quite reclusive getaway.

Room Tip: Ross Room on the second floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Brad J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cookstown
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed June 3, 2013

In owning our own Century home. Nikki and I were looking for a place to stay that has history, charm and character as our place.
With our love for antiques. Linda and Paul have outfitted their home so many time period pieces of treasures.
Upon arrival. We were welcomed by a friendly smile and our first names.
Linda went right into tour mode. Explaining the history and showing us every room.
We stayed in The Fleming room. Very clean and comfy.
But... be prepared to be up early. Those big windows let in a lot of sunlight. :)
Linda and Paul gave us great suggestions in what to do for the rest of the day.
And their suggestions made our stay even more memorable.
Great breakfast the next day.
Nikki and I will definitely go back again.

Room Tip: The Fleming Room is awesome!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Bert V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Catharines, Canada
Level Contributor
101 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 100 helpful votes
Reviewed May 28, 2013

First, Linda is a wonderful host. Because the hospitality of a B&B owner is always one of the key ingredients in a B&B stay (versus a hotel stay), I wanted to make sure that Linda and Paul are both recognized. Linda greeted my wife and I by name when we arrived, and continued to be a friendly and helpful host throughout our stay. I really appreciated that she got up early on our second morning to serve a delicious breakfast about an hour earlier than the usual time. I had to get on the Bruce Trail early, and Linda was most accommodating. As for the home, it's a wonderful place with plenty to enjoy. Simply walking around the two sitting rooms and looking at all the books, artwork, trinkets, history, collectibles, pianos, furniture, decor - everything - was a pleasant past time. Our bedroom was excellent. Clean, comfortable and quiet with lots of personality. Highly recommended.

Room Tip: We stayed in The Ross. Comfortable TempurPedic bed. Full size bathroom with tub and shower. Plenty o...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Christopher L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Ontario, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed May 21, 2013

Beautiful place with history that Paul and Linda had kept. The photos doesn't do justice to it, you will have to go see it your self. It's one of those places you feel lucky to find it. Only complaint I would have is the lack of hot water, maybe we used too much for shower.. there wasn't enough left for the bath :S. The bed was superb and one that you will probably want to invest when you go home..The breakfast was spectacular with the home made french toast Linda had prep. Owen Sound is a great small town with lot to see in between. Will definitely be back there to explore.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank James H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Owen Sound
1.2 mi away
Best Western Inn On The Bay
Best Western Inn On The Bay
#1 of 10 in Owen Sound
4.5 of 5 bubbles 464 reviews
1.1 mi away
Comfort Inn Owen Sound
Comfort Inn Owen Sound
#5 of 10 in Owen Sound
3.5 of 5 bubbles 158 reviews
0.4 mi away
Knights Inn Owen Sound
Knights Inn Owen Sound
#2 of 10 in Owen Sound
4.0 of 5 bubbles 154 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Travelodge Owen Sound ON
Travelodge Owen Sound ON
#8 of 10 in Owen Sound
3.0 of 5 bubbles 439 reviews
15.1 mi away
Waterview on The Bay
Waterview on The Bay
#1 of 4 in Wiarton
4.5 of 5 bubbles 332 reviews
1.2 mi away
Owen Sound Inn
Owen Sound Inn
#4 of 10 in Owen Sound
4.0 of 5 bubbles 151 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Highland Manor? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Highland Manor

Property: The Highland Manor
Address: 867 4th Ave a W, Owen Sound, Ontario N4K 6L5, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > Ontario > Grey County > Owen Sound
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 B&Bs / Inns in Owen Sound
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 4
Also Known As:
The Highland Manor Owen Sound, Ontario

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing