We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“What a great place to stay”
Review of The Highland Manor

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
The Highland Manor
Ranked #1 of 5 Owen Sound B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed June 11, 2012

Linda and Paul made us feel like we were visiting good friends with a lovely home. Our room was cozy and cheerful. Breakfasts were delicious. The living rooms were packed with comfort and old world charm. We particularly enjoyed sitting on the veranda surrounded by giant maples and lots of interesting critters.

Dave Fisher, Powell River, B.C.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank david F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (230)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

148 - 154 of 230 reviews

Reviewed March 27, 2012

We are 11 ladies who go away each year on one or two weekends together. This was our first time at the Highland Manor Inn in Owen Sound ON. We will return!! The accommodations were exceptional. The Victorian style inn was very comfortable and the decor was most interesting and resulted in many conversations. The bedrooms are beautifully decorated with many interesting, artistic and functional antique pieces. The beds were all VERY comfortable. The en-suite bathrooms were meticulously clean and with lots of linens. We spent evenings in the parlor with a gas fire place and lovely environment for all to gather to be social. The music room was a treat, and we were delightfully treated to some expert!!! piano entertainment. The food was delicious, the meals were timed/planned around our schedule and recipes were requested. The grounds offer a spectacular view. The host and hostess are lovely warm people, and knowledgeable of the area. They were most accommodating in assisting us to plan activities. It was a special weekend.

Room Tip: Pick any. They are all special.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Golfgitl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 18, 2012

This was our first experience at a B&B and what a treat! Proprietors Linda and Paul made us feel so welcome. This home is extraordinary. The service was excellent, as was our breakfast. Location is good - nice and quiet, great view of Owen Sound. We will definitely be back! Thanks Linda and Paul :)

Room Tip: Check out each room's overview on the website. All 4 rooms are very nicely appointed.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank tracy l
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 29, 2011

This was my first time at a Bed and Breakfast and the Highland Manor has set the bar very high. The Fleming was a serene and comforting room. It was spacious and bright with two walls of windows. The bed was sublime - the mattress was perfect and the sheets were so incredibly soft. Both the bedroom and the adjoining bathroom were spotless. Not a speck of dust or dirt in either space. Breakfast in the morning was delicious: rich coffee, berries and banana in an orange rind cinnamon glaze followed by orange scented french toast with heated maple syrup and a strawberry sauce. It is apparent that Linda and Paul care very much about the guests and their attention to detail will ensure that anyone who stays here will return.

  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank HowManyMoreMinutes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 20, 2011

Great location, high level of comfort, delicious breakfasts...........it's all there. But the best part of our experience at the Highland Manor was the interaction with the hosts - Linda and Paul. They just made us feel at home. What more can I say.

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Kunaldg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 3, 2011

My husband and I stayed at the Highland Manor for one night this past weekend and we both truly enjoyed this bed and breakfast. We haven't had good experience with B&Bs in the past, but this place changed our negative opinion. The couple that run the B&B were awesome! they had so much information about what to do in Owen Sound and the surrounding area. The rooms and house are lovely, incredibly clean, and roomy. The beds were very very comfortable and breakfast was delicious! My husband and i will be back for sure. (Owen Sound is also beautiful!)

Room Tip: There are pictures of all the rooms on their website, so pick the one that suits you best :)
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank AlisonandJaredB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 25, 2011

From start to finish our visit to Highland Manor was a delightful experience. Beautiful house, charming and interesting hosts (Paul and Linda), great food, interesting fellow guests.
Terrific place to stay for Summerfolk at Owen Sound.

Room Tip: all good I think
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Graeme F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Owen Sound
1.2 mi away
Best Western Inn On The Bay
Best Western Inn On The Bay
#1 of 10 in Owen Sound
559 reviews
1.1 mi away
Comfort Inn Owen Sound
Comfort Inn Owen Sound
#4 of 10 in Owen Sound
175 reviews
0.4 mi away
Knights Inn Owen Sound
Knights Inn Owen Sound
#2 of 10 in Owen Sound
165 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
15.1 mi away
Waterview on The Bay
Waterview on The Bay
#1 of 4 in Wiarton
367 reviews
21.0 mi away
Quality Inn
Quality Inn
#1 of 4 in Southampton
149 reviews
1.0 mi away
Travelodge Owen Sound ON
Travelodge Owen Sound ON
#8 of 10 in Owen Sound
481 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Highland Manor? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Highland Manor

Address: 867 4th Ave a W, Owen Sound, Ontario N4K 6L5, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > Ontario > Grey County > Owen Sound
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 B&Bs / Inns in Owen Sound
Price Range: $152 - $158 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The Highland Manor 3*
Number of rooms: 4
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz and Hotels.com so you can book your The Highland Manor reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Highland Manor Owen Sound, Ontario

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing