We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Plain Jane, and not very cheap.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Comfort Inn Owen Sound
Ranked #4 of 10 Hotels in Owen Sound
Canada
Level 6 Contributor
233 reviews
74 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 94 helpful votes
“Plain Jane, and not very cheap.”
Reviewed March 23, 2013

I was a little surprised that this hotel was as pricy as it is, given how generic it is. Lobby staff doesn't even have a corkscrew or wine glasses (yay! plastic cup!), toiletries are small, lighting is stark, breakfast is not very good. It's a shame: Owen Sound itself is so gorgeous. I wonder where the right place to stay there is.

Oh, and really: invest in digital thermostats, and get decent (i.e., quiet) HVAC systems. Sheesh.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank melted_snowball
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GeneralManagerOS, General Manager at Comfort Inn Owen Sound, responded to this review, April 10, 2013
Thank you for your review of our hotel. We apologize that your stay was not to your liking. We do have a cork screw for guests who wish to drink in their rooms it must have either been in use or not returned sorry for any inconvenience that caused you. Our breakfast in in the process of switching over to a hot Sunshine breakfast we invite you to try it out on your next stay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

166 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    43
    48
    40
    18
    17
See reviews for
39
52
13
39
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (36)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Ontario
Level 5 Contributor
66 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 85 helpful votes
Reviewed March 17, 2013

We stayed March 14th & 15th, 2013. This hotel is not fancy, but we were okay with our experience.
When we arrived, I was a bit concerned because the front lobby is unimpressive to say the least. There were piles of folded sheets on the "breakfast" tables (it was late afternoon when we arrived) and the entrance windows were absolutely filthy.
Once we started down the hallway with our luggage, we discovered that there is no elevator & we had to lug our bags up the stairs. So if you are unable to do that, you may want to request a room on the ground floor.
The room however, was fine. The furniture is a bit outdated, but certainly adequate. The bed is a basic firm hotel bed. The bathroom was very clean and the tub & taps were gleaming. The carpets (both in the room & the hallways, especially edges) could have used a bit more attention, but to me, it's the cleanliness of the bed & the bathroom that are most important.
We had the continental breakfast in the front lobby on the first day of our stay & it was good. The baked items were nice & fresh and the coffee was okay. It's right next door to a Tim Horton's, so that may also be an option if you're fussy about your coffee.
One thing that may be of concern to some travellers is that the side door to the hotel which leads into the stairwell is not locked, even at night. So it's possible that anyone could come into the building unnoticed.
Also, it's a pet friendly hotel, so if allergies are an issue, this might be a consideration. On the other hand, if you're travelling with a dog, they have rooms with patio doors on the ground level which make it very easy to slip out of your room with them.
One thing we took advantage of, is that several restaurants in town gave a 10% off discount if you show your room key. Pretty awesome that the hotel arranged that for their guests!
Overall, we thought we got our money's worth & would likely stay here again.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank snowdespisers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GeneralManagerOS, General Manager at Comfort Inn Owen Sound, responded to this review, April 10, 2013
Thank you for your kind and detailed review of Comfort Inn Owen Sound we appreciate all feedback as we use it as a useful tool to improve our overall service to guests. At certain times our front desk staff is required to help out with the laundry we assure you our tables are clean and only clean laundry is brought out. We are always willing to fulfill requests if the room is available had you mentioned your preference to ground floor we may have been able to switch your room. Thank you for mentioning our continental breakfast and keep in mind within the next few months we will be upgrading to a hot breakfast. The issue of the side door not locking had been brought up with our maintenance department a part needed to be ordered and it is now locking we do apologize for any feeling of insecurity you may have felt. We do look forward to seeing you on your next visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wiarton, Canada
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed February 25, 2013

During my husbands stay at the hospital I checked in to the Comfort Inn to be greeted by a friendly, curtious front desk personal. The staff was very accommodating and compassionate. The rooms were clean and the continental breakfast was enjoyable. We would highly recommend this Inn in the future.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank redsaturn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GeneralManagerOS, General Manager at Comfort Inn Owen Sound, responded to this review, March 3, 2013
Thank you for your extremely pleasant review of Comfort Inn. We are happy to hear our friendly staff was accommodating and helpful. We are glad you enjoyed the free breakfast. We look forward to seeing you stay again in the future be sure to visit when the warmer weather comes there is lots to do around town.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed January 29, 2013

Stay overnight on business...The Wi-Fi was very fast; good central location and room was very clean for economical price. The staff was very friendly! The only issue I would have is that there is no fitness centre or pool. Would stay here again.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank iamCanadian2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GeneralManagerOS, General Manager at Comfort Inn Owen Sound, responded to this review, February 26, 2013
Thank you for you kind review of Comfort Inn Owen Sound. WiFi at Comfort Inn is very fast we are happy you enjoyed the free access. Even though our property is not large enough to have either a pool or fitness room, the YMCA has a bran new rec. center minutes from our door and offer affordable day passes
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bowmanville, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed December 23, 2012

we arrived early but was not a problem, the desk clerk as friendly and we were treated great. the room was very clean and the beds were very comfortable, there were plenty of pillows which was great. overall the price and location were great. will definately be back.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lld499253
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GeneralManagerOS, General Manager at Comfort Inn Owen Sound, responded to this review, February 26, 2013
Thank you for you great review of Comfort Inn Owen Sound. We are very happy to hear you found your room clean and comfortable our housekeepers work very hard. It pleases us to hear you were able to get an early checkin although we cant guarentee this we always try our best to fullfill all requests.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed November 19, 2012

We had a great stay in Owen Sound! The staff were friendly always had a smile on their faces. Our room was clean and comfy not to mention the new tv. I had no problem at all with the WiFi, had a great connection. Plenty selection for breakfast. We will be back!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Auty C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GeneralManagerOS, General Manager at Comfort Inn Owen Sound, responded to this review, February 26, 2013
Thank you for you kind review of our hotel. Our staff strives for the best and we are glad to hear your stay reflected that. Thank you again we look forward to seeing you on your next visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed November 6, 2012

I'm sure the economics of running a chain hotel in a smaller city can be challenging. But in this case, the "comfort" in Comfort Inn seemed to stretch the term a bit. We stayed here for a night during the Thanksgiving weekend. The staff seemed friendly enough. But we found the bed was rock hard (mind you, some people may like that). The some of the furniture, like the couch, looked a little the worse for wear. The walls seemed paper thin. I could hear every word of a marathon phone conversation a woman in the next room was having at 2 a.m. There were streaks of bird poop on our window. The bathroom was okay, but there was not much water pressure from the taps. I couldn't seem to get the WiFi to work with my phone, but maybe that was just me. The breakfast area has been shoe-horned into the small lobby area, so it's very cramped. Generally, not much here in the way of amenities. Overall, I loved Owen Sound. But our accommodations left me feeling that maybe we should have spent an extra 40 or 50 bucks to stay at a slightly higher end place.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JohnLS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GeneralManagerOS, General Manager at Comfort Inn Owen Sound, responded to this review, December 7, 2012
Thank you for submitting your review of our hotel. We apologize about your bed being not to your liking. We are currently under-going some updates to our property we have just received flat screen TV’s and are awaiting the delivery of new beds/furniture. It is unfortunate that you were disturbed by another guest we would have been more than willing to speak to the guest beside you or find a new room to your liking. We have noticed with certain devices it is hard to connect to our WiFi because of specific settings. If our front desk clerk could not help with the issue (unfamiliar with devices settings) we would be more than willing to contact support to help you get online. We appreciate your feedback and look hope to see you again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Owen Sound
0.8 mi away
Best Western Inn On The Bay
Best Western Inn On The Bay
#1 of 10 in Owen Sound
499 reviews
0.1 mi away
Travelodge Owen Sound ON
Travelodge Owen Sound ON
#8 of 10 in Owen Sound
451 reviews
1.4 mi away
Knights Inn Owen Sound
Knights Inn Owen Sound
#2 of 10 in Owen Sound
156 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Owen Sound Inn
Owen Sound Inn
#5 of 10 in Owen Sound
153 reviews
15.5 mi away
Waterview on The Bay
Waterview on The Bay
#1 of 4 in Wiarton
343 reviews
22.1 mi away
Quality Inn
Quality Inn
#1 of 4 in Southampton
136 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Comfort Inn Owen Sound? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Comfort Inn Owen Sound

Property: Comfort Inn Owen Sound
Address: 955 9th Ave E, Owen Sound, Ontario N4K 6N4, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > Ontario > Grey County > Owen Sound
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 10 Hotels in Owen Sound
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Comfort Inn Owen Sound 2.5*
Number of rooms: 60
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Comfort Inn provides warm hospitality, excellent customer service and clean comfortable rooms. We are conveniently located on the conjunction of four major highways 6-10-21 and 26. We have all the amenities you're looking for... Free Sunshine Breakfast, wireless internet, daily newspaper, local calls, and guest computer. Your Home Away From Home! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Choice Hotels, Priceline, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Agoda, HotelsforEveryone, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Comfort Inn Owen Sound reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Comfort Inn Owen Sound Hotel Owen Sound
Owen Sound Comfort Inn
Comfort Inn Owen Sound Ontario

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing