We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Inn on the Bay”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Best Western Inn On The Bay
Ranked #1 of 10 Hotels in Owen Sound
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Reviewed July 7, 2014

Nice patio in summer time. Overlooks the bay. Nice wine flights were offered when we were there. Nice hot tub with view of the bay but not large enough for swimming. Not a pool per se. Not cheap to stay there.

  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western
1  Thank DLG519
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jason H, General Manager at Best Western Inn On The Bay, responded to this reviewResponded July 8, 2014

Hi Doug G,

I am glad that you were able to enjoy part of our summer menu with the wine flights while sitting on the patio overlooking Georgian Bay. By offering fresh fish, divine desserts and wine flights we are attempting to create a memorable experience for our guests and it is nice to see that you were able to enjoy that. Our location is beautiful and unique to Owen Sound so it is our focal point when promoting anything at the hotel. I am glad that you had a nice experience here and I hope it was memorable enough to bring you back again in the future.

Thank you for your review.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (541)
There are newer reviews for Best Western Inn On The Bay
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

340 - 346 of 541 reviews

Reviewed July 6, 2014

We stayed at the Best Western Inn on the Bay in Owen Sound in April 2014 while visiting family. I shared a room with my husband and daughter, while other family also stayed in the same hotel. It was a nice updated clean hotel with friendly staff. The route we drove in on seemed a bit industrial, but the hotel was towards the end of the road and right on the water, beside an arena with houses on the hill above. The indoor hot tub overlooked the water and so did the restaurant. Our stay included a basic continental breakfast which was fine for us or you could instead get a credit towards a hot meal. Our room had 2 large comfortable beds, while my Aunt’s room had one bed with a pull out couch and fireplace. The rooms have refrigerators which I always find handy. Both rooms were nice depending on your needs. I found this hotel on Trip Advisor and would stay there again.

Room Tip: They were happy to move our rooms to put us closer to family when checking in.
  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Gracefulfun
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jason H, General Manager at Best Western Inn On The Bay, responded to this reviewResponded July 8, 2014

Hi Gracefulfun,

I would like to thank you for posting such an insightful review of your experience at our hotel. We are so very fortunate to have such a beautiful location in Owen Sound and it is nice to see this reflected in your comments. We do have many different options for guest rooms and should be able to accommodate most needs in that regard. Our breakfast options offer a wide range of choices including gluten lactose free options. It is our mandate to ensure that we have suitable accommodations for all guests and have everyone is satisfied with their experience. I can see in your review that you were satisfied with your experience and will look forward to your return to Owen Sound.

Thank you again for your review.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 6, 2014

Very nice view out of the hotel. The lake is just near the hotel. I had a very nice dinner at the restaurant, and the view out of the window is wonderful,although the price is not low. Not a lot of choices for Breakfast. rooms are clean.

  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western
Thank Chao C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jason H, General Manager at Best Western Inn On The Bay, responded to this reviewResponded July 8, 2014

Hi Chao C,

It is nice to see that you could enjoy and appreciate our beautiful location on the shores of Georgian Bay. It can be quite expensive to have as much prime waterfront property as we do and this does reflect in our rates to some degree. We try to offer an experience that justifies our rates and seek to ensure that each guest is satisfied with their stay here. I hope that you will consider staying with us first when returning to Owen Sound. We would love to have you back again.

Thank you for taking the time to post this review.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 30, 2014

Excellent accommodations. Beds very comfortable. Extremely clean. Overlooking the water. Nice dining room. spa was relaxing. Staff very attentative and nice. We wanted to stay only one night as we were attending a wedding on the Saturday but were not allowed to book one night. We had to book 2 nights to get the accommodation at this BW. I am a gold member so I would think that they would have made some exceptions to those with gold membership to let them book the one night. The BW here is a very very nice place and we always try and stay at BW whenever we travel if there are any on our routes that we take as we have never been disappointed in their accommodations and service.

  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western
Thank Nancy M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jason H, General Manager at Best Western Inn On The Bay, responded to this reviewResponded July 6, 2014

Hi Nancy M,

I would like to thank you for your patronage to the Best Western brand. Your loyalty is very much appreciated and I am glad that you have not been disappointed in any of your experiences. That says a lot for how far we have come as a franchise.

I hope that the two night minimum was not too much of an inconvenience in your travel plans. Unfortunately, we had to put these policies in place to help limit chaos on busy weekends in the summer months. There are only 12 weekends of the year that we have this policy in place and it is mostly based around wedding groups. Our hotel is very popular for wedding groups and we found that we could not accommodate early check in for a majority of our guests on Saturdays. With Friday nights being busy as well, it was impossible to have guests checked out and get all of our rooms cleaned in time for our early arrivals. This left guests frustrated and upset. The two night policy has allowed us to offer early check in as well as late check out to guests without any hassle and it has increased guest satisfaction as a result (avoiding rushing our housekeepers has also helped us to maintain a very clean hotel). I do understand that it does not necessarily work well for everyone staying here and I hope it does not deter you from returning again in the future. We take pride in the accommodations we offer at this hotel and try to have policies in place that make for a better guest experience overall.

Thank you for taking the time to complete this kind review. Again, we appreciate your loyalty to our brand.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 23, 2014

The room was quite large, clean, beautiful view. The restaurant served delicious food. The staff were friendly and helpful. We were very happy with our choice. We will stay here again if we ever return to the area

  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western
2  Thank Eileen G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jason H, General Manager at Best Western Inn On The Bay, responded to this reviewResponded July 6, 2014

Hi Eileen G,

I am glad to see that you enjoyed your stay with us in Owen Sound. Our restaurant is especially nice this time of year with the patio overlooking Georgian Bay and hope you were able to enjoy that with your dining experience. Thank you for taking the time to write this review. We will look forward to your next stay in Owen Sound.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 18, 2014

We stayed for the week end and had the corner room with a Jacuzzi. It was a great room with a water view. Room very clean and also had a fireplace. Staff were all friendly and I would recommend staying here.

  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western
1  Thank Janet F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jason H, General Manager at Best Western Inn On The Bay, responded to this reviewResponded June 22, 2014

Hi Janet F,

I am so happy that you could enjoy one of our most beautiful suites while you stayed at our hotel. The Jacuzzi suite was built to provide one of the best views in Owen Sound and the room has every option we have to offer. If you are returning to the area in the future, please ask about our romance packages. You will not be disappointed with what we have to offer in that package!

Thank you for taking the time to complete this review of your pleasant experience at our property.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 11, 2014

I spent last weekend here with 140 other ladies (and a few gentlemen) at The Ontario Handspinning Seminar. What a gorgeous setting - perfect June weather with sunny days and mauve coloured sunsets over the bay. The staff could not have been more friendly, helpful and accommodating to all our our requests, even if they had to.
The rooms were beautifully decorated, clean and with beds and pillows that were oh, so comfy.
The meals that the group had pre-ordered had lots of quantity and variety, were served on time and in a most pleasant manner.
Really, I only have superlatives for this place.

  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank needles4ewe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jason H, General Manager at Best Western Inn On The Bay, responded to this reviewResponded June 14, 2014

Hi needles4ewe,

It was an honor to host the Ontario Handspinning Seminar for their 50th anniversary year! I am very happy to see that you and your colleagues enjoyed your experience at our hotel and felt welcomed during your stay. Each of our staff members truly care about each guest experience as we all take pride in our hotel and its reputation. Your kind review represents exactly what we are trying to accomplish here! Thank you for taking the time to share your experience.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Owen Sound
0.8 mi away
Comfort Inn Owen Sound
Comfort Inn Owen Sound
#4 of 10 in Owen Sound
173 reviews
21.8 mi away
Quality Inn
Quality Inn
#1 of 4 in Southampton
147 reviews
1.2 mi away
Knights Inn Owen Sound
Knights Inn Owen Sound
#2 of 10 in Owen Sound
163 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
14.6 mi away
Waterview on The Bay
Waterview on The Bay
#1 of 4 in Wiarton
364 reviews
0.7 mi away
Travelodge Owen Sound ON
Travelodge Owen Sound ON
#8 of 10 in Owen Sound
470 reviews
16.9 mi away
Sauble Beach Lodge
Sauble Beach Lodge
#3 of 6 in Sauble Beach
146 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Inn On The Bay? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Inn On The Bay

Address: 1800 2nd Avenue East | P O Box 516, Owen Sound, Ontario N4K 5RI, Canada (Formerly BEST WESTERN Inn On The Bay)
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > Ontario > Grey County > Owen Sound
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 10 Hotels in Owen Sound
Price Range: $124 - $185 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Best Western Inn On The Bay 2.5*
Number of rooms: 100
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This Best Western Inn on the Bay hotel gives guests no shortage of pampering along with a fantastic location right on the shore of the Georgian Bay. Owen Sound is located where the Niagara Escarpment meets Georgian Bay so stunning views and fresh air are standard here. We're less than 10 minutes away from three beautiful waterfalls with hiking trails, so outdoor lovers and photographers have struck gold. This is one Bruce Peninsula hotel that never disappoints. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, Best Western, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Booking.com, Priceline, Hotwire and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Best Western Inn On The Bay reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Inn On The Bay Hotel Owen Sound
Best Western Owen Sound
Owen Sound Best Western
Inn On The Bay
Best Western Inn On The Bay Owen Sound, Ontario

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing