We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great location, great hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
BEST WESTERN Inn On The Bay
Ranked #1 of 10 Hotels in Owen Sound
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Level Contributor
58 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Great location, great hotel”
Reviewed September 17, 2013

We were skeptical when we were driving to it as it was out of the main part of town. However, the location is absolutely beautiful, the hotel was very nice and clean. Front desk staff were all wonderful!! We got a motorcycle discount, which was nice. If you are on a motorcycle, they let you park under the covered area, which is monitored by cameras. The whole town shuts down very early after Labor Day (we were actually there on Labor Day and ended up eating dinner at Tim Horton's because nothing was open). For the first night on our week-long motorcycle tour of the peninsula it was a great stay!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MarciD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

458 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    251
    140
    42
    10
    15
See reviews for
116
171
7
102
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (93)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Any
English first
Orchard Lake
Level Contributor
16 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed September 15, 2013

My husband and I drove up to the Bruce Peninsula for a quick getaway to view some of the waterfalls in the area. We had not made a reservation before arriving and found this location better than others in the area. We came to see the local beauty and the setting of the hotel is unsurpassed. The room was clean and well appointed. We thought cost was a touch pricy ($152 for a king bedroom) but considering the location (the only waterfront hotel in the city) we decided to stay.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Orchardmary
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Port Hope
Level Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviewed September 8, 2013

Inn On the Bay really is the best place in Owen Sound to stay. They staff and very friendly and really go the extra mile for you. Rooms are always clean and the hotel is properly maintained. The view of the bay is awesome. You begin to unwind the minute you drive onto the property. I have stayed at this hotel over 100 nights and never had a bad experience.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
Thank Stephen Mr W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Monroe City
Level Contributor
16 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed September 7, 2013

Was in Toronto for a wedding August 17th and stayed at the the BEST WESTERN INN ON THE
BAY at Owen Sound. Arrived on the 16th and departed on the 18th. The accomodations were very
clean and modern, the help was professional and very helpful. We arrived on a very busy weekend
and would have like to enjoy some of the local hap complaints about the foopenings but being in the Bridal Party did not have
the time, most of the items we were interested in were booked solid. Our room faced the
Gerogian Bay of Lake Huron and was very picturesque, breathtakingly beautiful.
No complaints about the food, breakfast was warm, tasty and plentyful as was dinner, and the help
was very friendly. We enjoyed our stay in Canada and when I arrived and asked question to get
familiar with the area the gentleman at the desk was so helpful I knew my stay would be well spent,
looking forward to a return visit next season to enjoy the motel and festivities.
looking forward to

Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Edward V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jason H, General Manager at BEST WESTERN Inn On The Bay, responded to this review, September 8, 2013
Hi Edward V,

I must say, your review is a prime example of everything we strive for in this industry. I am so proud of this hotel and its employees because guests like you get to enjoy every part of their stay here. I will be posting this review in our staff area for all employees to read. I am sure it will help everyone feel good about their efforts at this hotel.

Thank you for providing such wonderful feedback on your experience at our hotel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lucan Ontario
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed September 4, 2013

Spent 3 nights here and they were great. Staff very pleasant and friendly. Food in restaurants very good, breakfast typical would have liked maybe scrambled eggs not the hard boiled, excellent coffee lots of refills. Clean room and well cleaned we we asked for it, will stay again was a pleasure weekend and the stay was excellent, loved the bed and pillows

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Aliy S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jason H, General Manager at BEST WESTERN Inn On The Bay, responded to this review, September 8, 2013
Hi Aliy S,

It is great to see that you enjoyed your 3 night stay at our hotel. The staff here are what makes this hotel so great and I am always happy to compliment them for their efforts. We have a clean and up to date hotel with caring employees that work to make everyone's stay a nice one. I am glad that your experience here reflects that.

Thank you for your review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canada
1 review
Reviewed September 3, 2013

Can't ask for much more. Great place to stay when we need to work i Owen Sound. Very clean and great location right off the bay. Carpets are showing their age and are a little worn but everything else has been maintained.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
Thank Steve O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jason H, General Manager at BEST WESTERN Inn On The Bay, responded to this review, September 8, 2013
Hi Steve O,

I would like to thank you for your patronage in staying at our hotel when travelling on business. We appreciate that you continue to stay here and recommend us to others.

All of the staff at this hotel take great pride in keeping a clean and well maintained hotel for our guests. I am well aware of the condition of our carpets and they are due for replacement in the next few years. I should also mention that they are scheduled for professional cleaning as our busy season comes to a close. The carpets start to look worse after a long summer but they will be much better after some attention from our cleaning professionals.

Thank you for providing such a nice review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, Ontario, Canada
Level Contributor
22 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed September 2, 2013

Travelled up to TOBERMORY for the Long Weekend with the wife. We stayed in OWEN SOUND, Room 364 at the BEST WESTERN Inn on the Bay, a large suite complete with huge Jacuzzi and fireplace. Room was $300.00 tax included. We both thought the room was a little over-priced... The room and hotel in general was exceptionally clean. The bathroom was quite spacious and the shower was terrific..., great water pressure with the adjustable shower head.., so much so.., I'm going to purchase that same shower head from a company called "OXYGENICS". The Jacuzzi was just amazing.., I mean it really rocked with bubbling, thrusting, water flow... Limited channels on the wide screen T.V. The bed was one of the most comfortable we've ever slept in.. Lots of places to sit down in the room. We were a little disappointed in that we did not get any view of the harbour.... Air-conditioning worked well and very little noise when turned on. Great sleep! I would stay at this hotel again. We had a late night Supper at "MONTANA'S" and OMG it was spectacular. Food was terrific and absolutely great service by Chelsey the waitress. G.F. WHITE @ "Fifth Avenue Para-Legal & Private Investigation Services, LONDON, Ontario.

Room Tip: Room 364 comes complete with Jacuzzi and fireplace. It's one of two most expensive rooms you can...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Garry W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jason H, General Manager at BEST WESTERN Inn On The Bay, responded to this review, September 8, 2013
Hi Garry W,

I would like to thank you for taking the time to write such a positive and enthusiastic review of your experience at our hotel. Knowing that guests are enjoying their time here much like you did is exactly why I stay working in this industry. It makes the extra effort very worthwhile.

Thank you again for your review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Owen Sound
0.8 mi away
Comfort Inn Owen Sound
Comfort Inn Owen Sound
#5 of 10 in Owen Sound
157 reviews
0.7 mi away
Travelodge Owen Sound ON
Travelodge Owen Sound ON
#9 of 10 in Owen Sound
434 reviews
1.2 mi away
Knights Inn Owen Sound
Knights Inn Owen Sound
#2 of 10 in Owen Sound
153 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
21.8 mi away
Quality Inn
Quality Inn
#1 of 4 in Southampton
133 reviews
14.6 mi away
Waterview on The Bay
Waterview on The Bay
#1 of 4 in Wiarton
329 reviews
1.4 mi away
Owen Sound Inn
Owen Sound Inn
#4 of 10 in Owen Sound
149 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to BEST WESTERN Inn On The Bay? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN Inn On The Bay

Property: BEST WESTERN Inn On The Bay
Address: 1800 2nd Avenue East | P O Box 516, Owen Sound, Ontario N4K 5RI, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > Ontario > Grey County > Owen Sound
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 10 Hotels in Owen Sound
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — BEST WESTERN Inn On The Bay 2.5*
Number of rooms: 100
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Orbitz, Best Western, Evoline ltd, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your BEST WESTERN Inn On The Bay reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Inn On The Bay Hotel Owen Sound
Best Western Owen Sound
Owen Sound Best Western
Inn On The Bay
BEST WESTERN Inn On The Bay Owen Sound, Ontario

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing