We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very nice hotel on the bay!” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of BEST WESTERN Inn On The Bay

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
BEST WESTERN Inn On The Bay
Ranked #1 of 10 Hotels in Owen Sound
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Columbia, MD
Level Contributor
152 reviews
132 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 365 helpful votes
“Very nice hotel on the bay!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 8, 2012

We recently spent two nights at the BW Inn on the Bay. We were pleasantly surprised by the excellent quality of the hotel, its rooms, and its restaurant. Our room was spacious, with flat screen television and free wi-fi. It was very clean, and everything worked as expected. We had lunch at the hotel restaurant as well as complimentary breakfast, and both were good. The location was very convenient for visiting the Bruce peninsula. I would definitely recommend this hotel to friends visiting Owen Sound.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ColumbiaTrekkers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jason H, General Manager at BEST WESTERN Inn On The Bay, responded to this review, October 9, 2012
Hi ColumbiaTrekkers,

Thank you for the kind review regarding your stay at our hotel. Many guests enjoy the onsite restaurant and beautiful location at this hotel and I am glad to see that you did too. We are the main hotel for guests visiting the Bruce Peninsula as we are located very close to the best parts of the Bruce Trail while being centrally located for some of the best waterfalls as well. Inglis falls, Jones falls and Indian falls are all less than 10 minutes from the hotel. I hope you had the opportunity to visit some of them during this beautiful fall season and hope you will return to see it again sometime in the future.

Thank you again for your kind response.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

450 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    247
    136
    42
    10
    15
See reviews for
116
170
7
98
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (93)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Any
English first
Livonia, Michigan
Level Contributor
135 reviews
56 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 118 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 7, 2012

Stayed three nights while attending a conference in September 2012, thankfully at a slightly reduced room rate. Otherwise, this place would really be overpriced. Much is made of the water-side location in hotel ads, but our room was at the end of the hallway with of a view of the parking lot. Odd room layout, it was very difficult to get past the desk chair to get around to the other side of the bed. Finally just pushed the chair off to one side to get it out of the way. The first entire night we noticed the fluorescent light over the entry door flickering, almost like a strobe light, even though the switch was off. Reported the problem to the front desk as a possible fire/electrical-short hazard. Maintenance staff simply disabled the light fixture. It was not repaired during our stay. Paid $450.84 Cnd for the three nights. Continental breakfast included. Nothing special here to recommend a return visit.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank GreatLakesMariner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jason H, General Manager at BEST WESTERN Inn On The Bay, responded to this review, October 9, 2012
Hi GreatLakesMariner,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review regarding your stay at our hotel. I am aware that some of our rooms do not offer a great view over the Bay and encourage our guests to enjoy the location by taking in the scenery in other ways. The restaurant, spa and walking path along the water offer spectacular views over Georgian Bay and are complimentary for all of our guests. Of course, there are several suite options that do offer great views from the guest room as well.

I know that the room you stayed in has two queen beds and that can make for limited extra space in the guest room. I remember your room because of the lighting issue (I had a look at it myself). I assure you that there were no fire or electrical hazards as it was determined that the light switch was allowing a very small amount of current through even when shut off. The electrician had a look and ordered the correct replacement part so we were unable to repair the light during your stay. The front desk was told to offer a complimentary upgrade and you should have received that offer upon your return that day. I sincerely apologize if that offer was not extended to you and hope that you would consider staying with us again when returning to the area. I would enjoy the opportunity to provide you the accommodations you deserve.

Thank you again for your review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Markham, Canada
Level Contributor
22 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 1, 2012

Great location to see the sights and Fall Colours of the Grey-Bruce area. Very Quiet hotel with wonderful restaurant. Great sunsets just outside the hotel. Fantastic place to stay when touring through the area. Close to all amenities.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sara H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jason H, General Manager at BEST WESTERN Inn On The Bay, responded to this review, October 3, 2012
Hi Sara,

Thank you for taking the time to complete such a nice review for our hotel. Fall colours are in full bloom and it is a beautiful time to be in Owen Sound. The sunsets over the water certainly help bring out the beauty in our scenery and landscape. I hope you will have the oppertunity to come and visit us again next year.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Owen Sound, Canada
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 28, 2012

We stayed in a room with a jacuzzi, a king-sized bed and a fireplace to celebrate our 25th wedding anniversary. The front desk staff were pleasant and helpful. The room was clean, comfortable and tastefully decorated. We liked the seating area in front of the fireplace and we appreciated the absence of mirrors around the jacuzzi. There was a lovely view of the bay and the hotel grounds from our room. We slept well because the bed was comfortable and the hotel was quiet. We ate breakfast in the dining room and the food was delicious. The dining room staff are very friendly. We had such a nice time that we plan to come here every year for our anniversary.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank 4grahams
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jason H, General Manager at BEST WESTERN Inn On The Bay, responded to this review, October 9, 2012
Hi 4grahams,

First of all, congratulations on 25 years in a wonderful marriage! It sounds like you two can still have a lot of fun together and that is great to see in your review. Your kind words are very much appreciated and we will look forward to your return in the many coming years while you celebrate your anniversary.

Thank you for the great review!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guelph, Canada
Level Contributor
141 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 26, 2012

I arranged a meeting here and all went well. The room was properly set up, comfortable and quiet. My partner had to put in time waiting for me, so she sat in the restaurant. She reported that the staff were very friendly and accommodating. Their home made muffins were so good she bought a couple to take with us. The view of Owen Sound (the body of water, not the city) was pleasant and relaxing. Based on this experience we would consider staying at the hotel on a longer visit.

Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
Helpful?
Thank BillfromGuelph
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jason H, General Manager at BEST WESTERN Inn On The Bay, responded to this review, October 3, 2012
Hi Bill,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review on your experience at our hotel. I am glad that you were well accommodated in all departments and hope that you do have the chance to stay with us again in the future. Our banquet space can accommodate up to 180 guests and can be sufficient for small meetings or large celebrations. If you are travelling for leisure purposes, be sure to contact the hotel directly and ask for a suite facing the water. We will be sure to help you get the most out of your next experience in Owen Sound.

Thank you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
23 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 24, 2012

Not sure why the rave ratings? I've stayed at better Best Westerns. The property is located on the water, but when I looked out my window I was boxed in and all I saw was someone elses window. The hotel itself is located in an industrial area, so felt kind of out of the way and spooky.
The rooms needed updating for sure. Hotel staff were polite. I was originally travelling on my own, but a friend joined me at the last minute. At check-in, I was asked how many people, I said 2 and was charged an extra $20. For what? A continental breakfast of yogurt and water?
I will not be staying here again, I would not recommend this hotel. There is a Travelodge located in a better area that I will try next time I go to Owen Sound.

Room Tip: Don't stay in room 216, no view whatsoever, not even the parking lot!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank MsBLuv2travel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jason H, General Manager at BEST WESTERN Inn On The Bay, responded to this review, September 25, 2012
Hi MsBLuv2travel,

I am sorry that our hotel did not meet your expectations. Unfortunately, the hotel is not designed in a way that every room has a view of the bay. Still, there are many opportunities to take in this beautiful location and enjoy the waterfront. Our spa area and restaurant patio are in prime locations and are great examples of how every guest can enjoy a wonderful view of the bay.

The extra charge should only be for rooms with over three adults unless you stayed under a corporate or government rate. The standard increase is ten dollars after two adults and it covers the cost of breakfast and amenities used. Our continental breakfast comes complete with fresh whole and sliced fruit, yogurt, hard boiled eggs, French toast, muffins, pastries and a wide variety of breads and cereals. I am not certain if yogurt and water were just your choice, but there are plenty of options to enjoy.

Again, I apologize that your stay did not meet expectations. Better hotels certainly do exist and we acknowledge that. We do believe in our product and service at this hotel and i hope that you would give us another opportunity to show you why in the future.

Thank you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brampton, Canada
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 23, 2012

We stayed for one night and had a really nice and restful nights sleep. We stayed in a suite and it was lovely. Lovely people at the hotel. Only thing was that I put on a robe and found a used kleenex eeeew!!

Room Tip: Pay extra for the suite ;)
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank sheijei1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jason H, General Manager at BEST WESTERN Inn On The Bay, responded to this review, September 25, 2012
Hi sheijei1,

Your compliments on our hotel are much appreciated! I am not sure how a dirty kleenex would have gotten into a clean robe, but I will be checking into it personally. Our standard of clean is above and beyond what most other brands have which makes this alarming. Thank you for letting me know.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Owen Sound
0.8 mi away
Comfort Inn Owen Sound
Comfort Inn Owen Sound
#4 of 10 in Owen Sound
3.5 of 5 bubbles 156 reviews
0.7 mi away
Travelodge Owen Sound ON
Travelodge Owen Sound ON
#7 of 10 in Owen Sound
3.0 of 5 bubbles 432 reviews
1.3 mi away
Knights Inn Owen Sound
Knights Inn Owen Sound
#2 of 10 in Owen Sound
4.0 of 5 bubbles 152 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
Owen Sound Inn
Owen Sound Inn
#5 of 10 in Owen Sound
4.0 of 5 bubbles 148 reviews
21.8 mi away
Quality Inn
Quality Inn
#1 of 4 in Southampton
4.5 of 5 bubbles 133 reviews
14.6 mi away
Waterview on The Bay
Waterview on The Bay
#1 of 4 in Wiarton
4.5 of 5 bubbles 327 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to BEST WESTERN Inn On The Bay? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN Inn On The Bay

Property: BEST WESTERN Inn On The Bay
Address: 1800 2nd Avenue East | P O Box 516, Owen Sound, Ontario N4K 5RI, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > Ontario > Grey County > Owen Sound
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 10 Hotels in Owen Sound
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — BEST WESTERN Inn On The Bay 2.5*
Number of rooms: 100
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Agoda, Best Western and Travelocity so you can book your BEST WESTERN Inn On The Bay reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Inn On The Bay Hotel Owen Sound
Best Western Owen Sound
Owen Sound Best Western
Inn On The Bay
BEST WESTERN Inn On The Bay Owen Sound, Ontario

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing