We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great Hotel and Great staff” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Knights Inn Owen Sound

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Knights Inn Owen Sound
Ranked #2 of 10 Hotels in Owen Sound
Certificate of Excellence
Hamilton, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Great Hotel and Great staff”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 15, 2014

My wife and I booked this hotel for a 6 night stay in July 2014. When we arrived, Sam noticed that I had booked a smoking room. I did not book directly with him, choosing to book online through an online hotel site, so he wanted to make sure I actually wanted the smoking room. When I said I don't smoke but it didn't really matter, Sam took the time to show me the room and then compare it with a non-smoking room. He offered to switch us to the non-smoking room in order to give us the best stay possible. The room was very clean, updated and comfortable. The staff was very friendly and helpful at all times. This hotel is great for the price you pay. I will definitely recommend this hotel to anyone staying in Owen Sound and I will be booking again the next time we stay in the area.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank eddie t
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

152 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    74
    55
    15
    1
    7
See reviews for
46
66
8
12
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (17)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Toronto, Canada
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 7, 2014

If you like excitement, uncertainty and downside risk, then book a weekend stay at Knights Inn during the summer. At Knights Inn, your reservation is meaningless – as demand exceeds supply during weekends in July and August. So, the manager (Sam, the person I dealt with, who might also be the owner/operator), will decline to honour your reservation, if he feels that you are not addressing him with the respect he is due. Demand exceeds supply, so he can always sell the room for more money.

Some background. I am a mid 50’s man, who was travelling with my wife and two young children. We had a reservation at Knights Inn for a weekend night, at a specific rate. At check-in, the manager Sam explained that it would cost us an extra $10 – because the reservation was for 1 adult, and we had two adults. We did not dispute this additional charge, because the extra $10 was not material to us, as we explained to Sam.

But Sam felt we did not understand, and insisted upon explaining again and again and again . . . When we cut him off (no anger, no strong words – just “we understand, let’s proceed with the check in) he became upset that we would not let him explain. Finally, he said – you are insulting me, and I am not going to check you in. Did I really insult him (in which case, he is extremely thin skinned)? Might he have created a dispute when none existed because rooms in similar hotels, at that time, were selling for more than our reservation rate +$10? In any event – firm reservation, no room.

Now Knights Inn’s competitor down the road was more than willing to help out, although they did not have any available rooms. The young lady at reception called a number of hotels/motels in the area, found one that had a room available and asked them to hold it under our name. Guess which two establishments I will be recommending to anyone who is going to Owen Sound?

If you like excitement, downside risk and want to test your diplomatic skills with Sam (who could start a fight in an empty room), then Knights Inn is the place for you. Otherwise, look elsewhere, because at Knights Inn, SERVICE is a foreign concept. I would sooner pack a tent than stay at Knights Inn. How did they manage to get ranked the #2 hotel in Owen Sound?

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
15 Thank Fast_E_1234
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
nancy1175, Manager at Knights Inn Owen Sound, responded to this review, July 15, 2014
Thank you for taking your time to write a review about our service. I would like to clarify a few things regarding what happened. The dispute we had about the additional $10 charge for every extra person was taken out of context. Although I may have lost my temper, it was after dealing with similar behavior from the customer towards me. I had made it clear that the extra charge would be applied, and the customer had agreed to it. Once the payment machine was ready, the customer pulled out his credit card and simply refused to pay. Additional charges for extra people are a general policy in the hotel industries, as was stated clearly on reservation sheet. I was acting reasonably, and the way I am presented in your review is false. We welcome our customer's in a warm, comfortable and kind manner. If the customer begins to disrespect the hotel/staff, the hotel has the right to react and proceed with their own matters. Overall, the hotel agrees this negative review has been taken out of context and was made a bigger deal than it was. We hope to overcome this dispute, and see you in the future in a kinder manner.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Langley City, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 7, 2014

We stayed here for 3 nights, the staff made the process of booking in so pleasant. The room was spacious and clean. The hotel is ideally situated . We would highly recommend this hotel and stay here again

  • Stayed July 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lakhwin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leicestershire, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 6, 2014

I stayed 5 nights over there with my family. Room was very clean. 2nd days we ask manger to upgrade our room with then we got it. we had very good treat. motel is on very good location. Breakfast area very nice and clean.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank rogger s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
25 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 5, 2014 via mobile

Never been treated worse in my life! The manager, Sam, refused our corporate rate of $110 for a room with two double beds, and then said he would give it to us for $140 because there were four adults. Even though our corporate rate entitled us to four adults for $110. We said we would pay it but then he refused us the rooms when other customers came in because they were paying the regular rate ($160+). He threw us out of there and we were left scrambling at the last minute to find rooms to stay in. I don't really know if I've ever been treated worse by anyone before and I will never EVER stay in a knights inn establishment ever again. If you're a last minute traveler or clearly look like you're from out of town, stay well clear of this horrid place.

  • Stayed July 2014
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
11 Thank Traveller_ZFA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
nancy1175, Manager at Knights Inn Owen Sound, responded to this review, July 15, 2014
Thank you for taking your time to write a review about our service. I would like to clarify a few things regarding what happened. The dispute we had about the additional $10 charge for every extra person was taken out of context. Although I may have lost my temper, it was after dealing with similar behavior from the customer towards me. I had made it clear that the extra charge would be applied, and the customer had agreed to it. Once the payment machine was ready, the customer pulled out his credit card and simply refused to pay. Additional charges for extra people are a general policy in the hotel industries, as was stated clearly on reservation sheet. I was acting reasonably, and the way I am presented in your review is false. We welcome our customer's in a warm, comfortable and kind manner. If the customer begins to disrespect the hotel/staff, the hotel has the right to react and proceed with their own matters. Overall, the hotel agrees this negative review has been taken out of context and was made a bigger deal than it was. We hope to overcome this dispute, and see you in the future in a kinder manner.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South Pasadena, California
Level Contributor
157 reviews
66 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 24, 2014

I stayed in one queen bed room on my way to Bruce peninsula 3rd week June 2014. It was located just next to Hwy and seems a simple Motel with basic facilities; nothing extraordinary.

Manager was very friendly, soft and over supervisory.

Room was clean, small, average linen, small bath, fridge and microwave.For me sleep quality was very poor due to hard and tough pillows.

Breakfast was basic, but no complainants.

The Motel is not Accessible friendly and the manager seems do not care about it.

Place is good for quick, cheap stay.

Its unlikely I stay again..

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Asoka G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 13, 2014

just drove up to Owen Sound to visit with friends for a couple of days, my first visit to the Knights Inn. When given our room I requested a change and Sam ( I think that was his name) was absolutely wonderful about the change and couldn't have been nicer. Clean room and comfortable beds.Would definatly stay here again.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank PGB674
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Owen Sound
1.4 mi away
Comfort Inn Owen Sound
Comfort Inn Owen Sound
#4 of 10 in Owen Sound
3.5 of 5 bubbles 156 reviews
1.3 mi away
BEST WESTERN Inn On The Bay
BEST WESTERN Inn On The Bay
#1 of 10 in Owen Sound
4.5 of 5 bubbles 450 reviews
1.3 mi away
Travelodge Owen Sound ON
Travelodge Owen Sound ON
#7 of 10 in Owen Sound
3.0 of 5 bubbles 432 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 mi away
Owen Sound Inn
Owen Sound Inn
#5 of 10 in Owen Sound
4.0 of 5 bubbles 148 reviews
14.8 mi away
Waterview on The Bay
Waterview on The Bay
#1 of 4 in Wiarton
4.5 of 5 bubbles 327 reviews
20.7 mi away
Quality Inn
Quality Inn
#1 of 4 in Southampton
4.5 of 5 bubbles 133 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Knights Inn Owen Sound? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Knights Inn Owen Sound

Property: Knights Inn Owen Sound
Address: 672 10th St W, Owen Sound, Ontario N4K 3R9, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > Ontario > Grey County > Owen Sound
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 10 Hotels in Owen Sound
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:1.5 star — Knights Inn Owen Sound 1.5*
Number of rooms: 28
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Travelocity, Expedia and Booking.com so you can book your Knights Inn Owen Sound reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Knights Inn Owen Sound Ontario

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing