We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“PRICEY AND AVERAGE AT BEST”

Trappers Choice Restaurant
Ranked #7 of 62 Restaurants in Parry Sound
Dining options: Breakfast, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Reservations
Leamington, Canada
Level 6 Contributor
592 reviews
418 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 291 helpful votes
“PRICEY AND AVERAGE AT BEST”
Reviewed November 4, 2013

Stopped here for lunch while driving through the area and since it was close to the highway we picked this place. The parking lot was full and there was waiting line to be seated. All good signs? Well according to a lady standing in line behind us who lived in the area, the reason for the crowd was the fact that it was the only restaurant in that area of town. Actually she and her party decided to leave before being seated and wished us well. Not a good sign after all. The service was good and the food not to bad but nothing to rave about. The big thing that stood out was the prices on the menu. We split a standard corn beef sandwich and ordered only water as we were travelling and wanted a lighter lunch. The only thing that ended up being lighter was my wallet. One sandwich with a few wedge fries and no drinks came to $10.95 + tax + tip added up to $14.37.

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Jim H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

159 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    51
    74
    20
    9
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Toronto, Canada
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Mediocre At Best”
Reviewed October 2, 2013

We have visited this place over the years and it has really lowered it's standards. May have been a bad day. The waitress did not listen to our order and mixed it up. The food was not hot and flavourless. We will not be returning.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Traveller4664
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hamilton, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
“Average Food”
Reviewed September 3, 2013

My family has been eating here for years so thought we'd give it another go. The food was average. Had chicken fingers and fries to be safe. Chicken was overcooked, but fries were nice.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank pyper5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto
Level 6 Contributor
58 reviews
37 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
“Good food”
Reviewed August 26, 2013

Good food with friendly staff. We were in a rush (400 traffic!!!) so we all chose the burgers. They were delicious, the fries could have been left a bit longer and they were a touch undercooked. The staff were very friendly and the restaurant had a lot of people which is always a good sign!

We would definitely go back!

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Mikeycanuk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lodz, Poland
Level 6 Contributor
830 reviews
472 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 446 helpful votes
“Food less than average”
Reviewed August 25, 2013

Maybe it was bad day for the kitchen. Anything we got,/ fish, shrimps and cake / was not tasty and we left the restaurant very disappointed. The waitress was nice, but it`s not enough to have a good evening. Especially, that the bill was not small.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank laserkid
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Trappers Choice Restaurant also viewed

Parry Sound, Northeastern Ontario
Parry Sound, Northeastern Ontario
 
Parry Sound, Northeastern Ontario
Parry Sound, Northeastern Ontario
 
Nobel, Parry Sound
Parry Sound, Northeastern Ontario
 

Been to Trappers Choice Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing