We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Lovely charm” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of 40 Bay Street Bed & Breakfast

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Parry Sound
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
40 Bay Street Bed & Breakfast
Ranked #1 of 11 Parry Sound B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Australia
Level Contributor
9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Lovely charm”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 9, 2013

A friend and I spent 2 nights at Susan's B&B to see the fall colours, and what a lovely time we had! We felt very warmly welcomed (with freshly baked chocolate chip cookies!) and touched by her friendliness. I had the Retreat Room which I really enjoyed - the trains did not bother me, but earplugs are provided. The room was clean and well appointed. It was nice having a chat with Susan and other guests during breakfast, and she gave us great recommendations on restaurants and places to visit. I would highly recommend the boat cruise during fall to see Georgian Bay, and to watch the sunset from the marina. Thanks Susan!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank GraceMS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
stayparrysound, Owner at 40 Bay Street Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review, December 18, 2013
Dear GraceMS - Thank you for your kind words. I am so glad that you enjoyed your stay at 40 Bay Street Bed & Breakfast and we were able to help you make the most of your stay while in Parry Sound. Perhaps we will meet you again one day in Australia!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

219 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    188
    30
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
24
140
13
17
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (52)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Toronto, Canada
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 5, 2013

We had a fantastic time at Susan's B&B. We decided to go up to Parry Sound on a whim - in late November, no less - and I couldn't have asked for a better place to stay. Warm, comfy, private, and the breakfasts were delightful! The right mix of fresh and hearty, as we individually preferred. Susan really knows the town - tourist spots as well as politics and society - and we met some great people and ate some delicious food because of her. Thanks so much! Will definitely come up again, and recommend to friends/family!

Room Tip: Call Susan and ask :)
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Meggie524
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
stayparrysound, Owner at 40 Bay Street Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review, December 18, 2013
Dear Meggie524 - I am glad we were able to help make your off-season trip to Parry Sound a success! We make a point of knowing what there is to do - whether an on-going activity or annual event (like the Santa Claus Parade) and where people can find the right restaurants based on their preferences and budgets. We hope that we will have the opportunity to meet you again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 3, 2013

I spent 2 nights at 40 Bay Street Bed & Breakfast for a wintery weekend. We stayed in the Garden Room - very clean and cozy! Susan was a delightful host, very friendly and gave us suggestions on things to do in Parry Sound - she even gave us a 2 for 1 ticket to the Bobby Orr Hockey Hall of Fame. Breakfast was absolutely wonderful - simple ingredients that taste amazing is always a win in my book. She also suggested the Bistro on the Bay for dinner our first night, which was exactly what we were looking for after our drive up from Toronto. I wholeheartedly recommend you visit Parry Sound and 40 Bay Street - I know I hope to get up there again.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Nick Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
stayparrysound, Owner at 40 Bay Street Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review, December 5, 2013
Dear Nick Y - thank you for your wonderful review - and taking a chance that you would find something to do on a wintery weekend! There is always something to do in Parry Sound and it is always our pleasure to help you discover things that you like to see and do. We certainly hope that you will visit us again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kitchener, Canada
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 6, 2013

My husband and I were in the area for the Fall colours at the beginning of October and choose 40 Bay Street as it was close to the Marina (and we planned to do the boat cruise) and it had great reviews. We have stayed in several B&Bs over the years and enjoy the escape with an at home feeling. It was easy to see why this spot has such great reviews! Our room was spacious, comfortable and private. We had the garden room (which does not look out onto the lake, but has a great back deck which we enjoyed). Susan was an awesome hostess, with great advice on where to eat and what to do. Breakfasts were inspirational (the eggs with garden tomatoes and herbs was my favorite. We would definitely stay here again!

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank cvdahe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
stayparrysound, Owner at 40 Bay Street Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review, November 9, 2013
Dear cvdahe
We are so glad you enjoyed your stay and the breakfast made with tomatoes from our garden. It was great to see people complete the many hikes you can access right in town, as well as the boat cruise.
Each of our rooms have their own unique features, and only The Bay Room has a direct view of the water. We always encourage people to make use if the two sun porches that provide waterfront views, as well as the outdoor seating areas at the front of the house if they are staying in one of the other rooms.
We hope to see you again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lansing, MI
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 2, 2013

We stayed with Susan for three nights on a circumnavigation of Georgian Bay. This is an outstanding place. She is very welcoming, the breakfasts great, and the rooms unusually spacious, nicely furnished, and comfortable. Great location right in the harbor. If Perry Sound is your destination, this is THE place to stay.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank William D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
stayparrysound, Owner at 40 Bay Street Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review, November 4, 2013
Dear William D
Thank you for choosing us to stay on your journey around Georgian Bay. We work hard to make our rooms feel like a home-away-from-home for our guests - it's important especially when you are spending several nights in one place!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 1, 2013

We stayed with Susan for 2 nights at the beginning of October as we were in the Parry Sound area to see the Fall Colours. Susan was very welcoming and her B&B was very comfortable. Breakfast was a treat each morning as was the company of the other guests. Great location for taking the Boat Cruise (fantastic, BTW), as well as walking into Town and good restaurants. Would definitely recommend 40 Bay Street B&B!

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Marty K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
stayparrysound, Owner at 40 Bay Street Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review, November 4, 2013
Dear MartyK - I am glad you were able to get a good look at the fall colours during your visit to Parry Sound. We create our breakfasts with a great deal of care; making our bread and muffins here are the B&B, using fresh produce and herbs from our gardens, and offering a variety of dishes so that guests have the ability to pick and choose a breakfast that appeals to them. We hope that we see you and your wife again in the future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mississauga, Canada
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 31, 2013

My wife and I have shared some wonderful upscale hotel and cruise ship accommodations in some rather nice cities here and abroad over the years.
Who would have guessed that a B & B in Parry Sound would provide us with an experience that ranks as one of our most warmly remembered stays? Not us, certainly.
But 40 Bay Street Bed and Breakfast seems to have all the special qualities mixed in just the right proportions to leave guests feeling genuinely welcome and looked after.
From initial inquiry to our stay (5 of us in three unique rooms) to her post-visit follow-up Susan has been nothing less than professional, efficient, knowledgeable and friendly.
We will return next year for a longer stay, without doubt.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Kruzeagain
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
stayparrysound, Owner at 40 Bay Street Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review, November 4, 2013
Dear KruzeAgain:
I am so glad 40 Bay Street Bed & Breakfast was able to meet your expectations for a great stay. From our rooms to the amenities to our breakfasts, we always hope to please and surprise our guests with quality and professionalism. Next, we'll work on providing more conducive weather for your outdoor activities!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Parry Sound
0.1 mi away
Bayside Inn
Bayside Inn
#2 of 19 in Parry Sound
4.5 of 5 bubbles 109 reviews
1.4 mi away
Parry Sound Inn and Suites
Parry Sound Inn and Suites
#3 of 19 in Parry Sound
4.0 of 5 bubbles 428 reviews
22.7 mi away
JW Marriott The Rosseau Muskoka Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Comfort Inn
Comfort Inn
#7 of 19 in Parry Sound
4.0 of 5 bubbles 131 reviews
5.5 mi away
Quality Inn and Conference Centre
1.2 mi away
Canadas Best Value Inn & Suites
Canadas Best Value Inn & Suites
#12 of 19 in Parry Sound
3.0 of 5 bubbles 85 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to 40 Bay Street Bed & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about 40 Bay Street Bed & Breakfast

Property: 40 Bay Street Bed & Breakfast
Address: 40 Bay St, Parry Sound, Ontario P2A 1S5, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > Ontario > Northeastern Ontario > Parry Sound
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 11 B&Bs / Inns in Parry Sound
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located on Parry Sound's waterfront and just a stroll to all the major attractions in town, each of our air-conditioned suites offers a unique and outstanding feature - a stunning view of Georgian Bay and the town's waterfront, a room with a spa-like bathroom, or a private, sun-drenched deck overlooking our gardens. Our breakfast menu is designed by a professional chef, whose dedication to fresh ingredients and organic products make breakfast sublime. Open year-round. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
40 Bay Street Bed & Breakfast Parry Sound, Ontario

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing