We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Quaint room, friendly service, perfect location!”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Parry Sound
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
40 Bay Street Bed & Breakfast
Ranked #1 of 12 Parry Sound B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
London, Canada
Level 4 Contributor
47 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
“Quaint room, friendly service, perfect location!”
Reviewed August 3, 2013

My husband and I had the pleasure of staying at 40 Bay Street Bed & Breakfast last Sunday night. We were in town, working with our real estate agent, looking at cottages. Susan was wonderful and allowed us an early check in to accommodate our busy schedule. We stayed in the Garden Room and absolutely loved it. It is decorated in crisp white and pretty blue hues, has a wonderful balcony overlooking the garden and a very nice ensuite bathroom. The bed was comfortable; Susan has spared no expense with her bed linens and even offers a pillow menu!

Susan went out of her way to help us while we were there, even going through her contact list to help us find a local contractor we needed to inspect a cottage we wanted to buy. She also gave us lots of tips about buying cottages in the area.

We also appreciated that Susan had a small refrigerator stocked with bottled water just outside of our room and a Tassimo, with a wide selection of coffee and teas. Very convenient.

Our breakfast was made fresh to order and we ate in the front sun room overlooking the water. We enjoyed fresh peaches, homemade bread and preserves, and a delicious omelette with roasted peppers, mushrooms and bacon. Delicious!!

I would highly recommend the 40 Bay Street Bed and Breakfast to anyone looking for a cozy, place to stay in Parry Sound. The location is perfect. My husband and I enjoyed a beautiful stroll on the nature trail that is just down the street. There are also lots of little shops and wonderful restaurants all within walking distance.

We will definitely be back!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank arkonatraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

221 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    190
    30
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
24
141
14
17
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (54)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Lunahuana
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed June 6, 2013

Excellent location, nice historical converted house, wonderful bathrooms, and immaculately maintained. Very welcoming, friendly and helpful. Home baked muffins and bread served with a wonderful breakfast. Thank you Susan.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank makapara
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cedarburg, Wisconsin
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
Reviewed June 4, 2013

Our stay with Susan at 40 Bay Street was fabulous! The accomodations were immaculate and very comfortable. The location of the house was fabulous with views of the water and an easy walk to either downtown or restaurants. And the food was terrific! After we were served our fruit, muffins, yogurt, juice and tea in the sunroom facing the bay, we thought we had had the best. But Susan brought on the main course of omelets garnished with grape tomatoes and toast with a nice selection of jams. I would recommend this location for anyone looking for a nice relaxing place with a hostess who could be anyone's friend.

Room Tip: We had morning views of the bay, which were extremely nice.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Susan L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ontario
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed June 2, 2013

Just returned from a two-day visit to Parry Sound, and despite thunderstorms, had a fabulous time. Susan, the proprietor at 40 Bay Street, has a beautiful establishment. Our room was clean, cozy and comfortable. Susan graciously accommodates those who require special diets (wheat issues in my case) and serves a delicious full breakfast. She is knowledgeable about her community, offered advice on attractions, shopping and dining, and also offered the use of a computer when my friend's laptop died during our visit. I would definitely stay here again, and happily recommend 40 Bay Street as a great B&B.

Room Tip: There are three rooms available...and all are lovely. The bathroom in the Bay Room is compact, but...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank regis c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Berwick, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed June 2, 2013

Susan made my 5 day stay in Parry Sound absolutely wonderful. She went out of her way to make sure I was comfortable. The breakfasts were to die for, really! I highly recommend this B&B to anyone looking for a place to stay in Parry Sound (or the area). I just wish I had an excuse to go back in the near future.

Room Tip: The garden room was beautiful with a balcony/deck looking out on the garden. And it had a lovely ba...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank zuzumonro1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, Canada
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed May 24, 2013

We stopped here on our cross-Canada trip. Susan, the owner, welcomed us warmly, and was hospitable. The B&B is close to the water, and there is a trail running along the waterfront which we explored soon after getting there, with some directions from Susan. The room was clean and comfortable, although the bathroom was a little tight. Susan also accommodated our dietary requests for the morning. A good spot in Parry Sound.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Anthony B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
stayparrysound, Owner at 40 Bay Street Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review, May 26, 2013
Thank for your kind words about your stay at 40 Bay Street Bed & Breakfast. You are quite right; the bathroom in the Bay Room where you stayed is much smaller than the bathrooms in the other rooms. If people are staying for longer than one night, or require more space, I always recommend one of our deluxe rooms that are much larger and contain king-sized beds, at a slightly higher price.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
1 review
Reviewed May 17, 2013

It will not be the last time I stay at this B&B. We had a great time! Food was delicious and our host was very accomadating. I am looking forward to my next trip to Parry Sound!
P.S. walking distance to and from the downtown core.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank pigeoneater5000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Parry Sound
1.4 mi away
Parry Sound Inn and Suites
Parry Sound Inn and Suites
#3 of 19 in Parry Sound
437 reviews
1.2 mi away
Comfort Inn
Comfort Inn
#7 of 19 in Parry Sound
145 reviews
5.5 mi away
Super 8 Parry Sound
Super 8 Parry Sound
#12 of 19 in Parry Sound
134 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
22.6 mi away
JW Marriott The Rosseau Muskoka Resort & Spa
1.6 mi away
Harmony Outdoor Inn
Harmony Outdoor Inn
#2 of 12 in Parry Sound
30 reviews
1.0 mi away
Town & Country Motel
Town & Country Motel
#5 of 19 in Parry Sound
62 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to 40 Bay Street Bed & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about 40 Bay Street Bed & Breakfast

Property: 40 Bay Street Bed & Breakfast
Address: 40 Bay St, Parry Sound, Ontario P2A 1S5, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > Ontario > Northeastern Ontario > Parry Sound
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 12 B&Bs / Inns in Parry Sound
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located on Parry Sound's waterfront and just a stroll to all the major attractions in town, each of our air-conditioned suites offers a unique and outstanding feature - a stunning view of Georgian Bay and the town's waterfront, a room with a spa-like bathroom, or a private, sun-drenched deck overlooking our gardens. Our breakfast menu is designed by a professional chef, whose dedication to fresh ingredients and organic products make breakfast sublime. Open year-round. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
40 Bay Street Bed & Breakfast Parry Sound, Ontario

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing