We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great location” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of 40 Bay Street Bed & Breakfast

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Parry Sound
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
40 Bay Street Bed & Breakfast
Ranked #1 of 11 Parry Sound B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Canaan Valley, West Virginia
Level Contributor
113 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
“Great location”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 13, 2012

We thoroughly enjoyed our stay at the 40 Bay Street B&B. The Garden Room was comfortable for our two night stay and the bathroom immaculate. Our innkeeper Susan was very welcoming and knowledgeable about the area. The breakfasts were delicious with entree selections being offered each morning. Susan makes her own jams and granola which were excellent. Lively conversations with Susan and the other guests added to our experience. Being within short walking distances of the area attractions is another plus.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Pinebear
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

219 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    188
    30
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
24
140
13
17
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (52)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
London, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 2, 2012

Easy to find, convenient location and very friendly. The room and bathroom were spotless and everything we required was provided for. Susan immediately put us at ease and made us feel welcome. My work schedule required me to leave earlier than the usual breakfast time but Susan was most gracious and kindly prepared her very delicious full breakfast spread especially early to accommodate me. I would not hesitate to return should I have reason to be in Parry Sound again. Elaine T

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank elaine t
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 20, 2012

We stayed in the Garden Room for 2 nights - the room was spacious and comfortable with a deck overlooking the garden. The breakfasts were delicious and the conversations with the other guests made them even more enjoyable. We were within easy walking distance of the Georgian Bay Airlines float plane tour, the Island Queen boat cruise and the shops in Parry Sound. Thanks Susan for a great stay!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank FJ_TO
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mississauga, Canada
Level Contributor
24 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 3, 2012

This B. and B. has a prime location opposite the waterfront and the Bay Room on the second floor offers a delightful water view. It has a queen bed and a pullout sofa which is comfortable, but when both are in use, there is not too much space in between for movement. The bedroom and bath were immaculate.
You can walk to the Stockey Hall where the concerts of the Festival of the Sound are held in 10 minutes.It is also a short walk into town to the main street with restaurants along the way.
Susan Poole, the owner is very efficient and friendly, and offers outstanding breakfasts with a cereal/fruit/juice course, followed by a hot course with a menu choice and very large portions.
I recommend this B. and B. highly.

Room Tip: The Bay room offers water views while the Garden room has a small deck outisde.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank nsquared4018
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oakville, Canada
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 2, 2012

We spent one night in Parry Sound at 40 Bay Street B&B and had a great experience. Clean and private room, delicious breakfast (didn't need lunch that day) and fabulous location. We will be sure to return next time we are in Parry Sound. Thank you Susan!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Sandra G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 2, 2012

We spent two nights at 40 Bay Street B&B. It was wonderful - Susan was a very welcoming host and she made a great breakfast - plus her muffins were soooo good! It had everything we needed - wifi being the most important and all rooms were ensuite - important to us. We stayed in the garden room - so had access to the deck outside plus I was able to hang my swimsuit on the line to dry over night.

Room Tip: We loved the garden room because of the deck outside
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Sandra N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mississauga, Canada
Level Contributor
19 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 1, 2012

This past weekend we finally went to Parry Sound for the Festival of the Sound. The weekend was full of wonderful music, great weather, cycling, and, of course, Susan's B&B. The garden room is lovely, with a private deck to enjoy reading and our pre-dinner gin & tonic. The nights are extremely quiet and comfortable except for the passing of the occasional train on the trestle above - at least no horns or whistles need be blown up there. And of course her breakfasts are great!

We would definitely return to see Susan and stay at her B&B again.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Deanna44
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Parry Sound
0.1 mi away
Bayside Inn
Bayside Inn
#2 of 19 in Parry Sound
4.5 of 5 bubbles 109 reviews
1.4 mi away
Parry Sound Inn and Suites
Parry Sound Inn and Suites
#3 of 19 in Parry Sound
4.0 of 5 bubbles 428 reviews
22.7 mi away
JW Marriott The Rosseau Muskoka Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Comfort Inn
Comfort Inn
#7 of 19 in Parry Sound
4.0 of 5 bubbles 131 reviews
5.5 mi away
Quality Inn and Conference Centre
1.2 mi away
Canadas Best Value Inn & Suites
Canadas Best Value Inn & Suites
#11 of 19 in Parry Sound
3.0 of 5 bubbles 85 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to 40 Bay Street Bed & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about 40 Bay Street Bed & Breakfast

Property: 40 Bay Street Bed & Breakfast
Address: 40 Bay St, Parry Sound, Ontario P2A 1S5, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > Ontario > Northeastern Ontario > Parry Sound
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 11 B&Bs / Inns in Parry Sound
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located on Parry Sound's waterfront and just a stroll to all the major attractions in town, each of our air-conditioned suites offers a unique and outstanding feature - a stunning view of Georgian Bay and the town's waterfront, a room with a spa-like bathroom, or a private, sun-drenched deck overlooking our gardens. Our breakfast menu is designed by a professional chef, whose dedication to fresh ingredients and organic products make breakfast sublime. Open year-round. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
40 Bay Street Bed & Breakfast Parry Sound, Ontario

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing