We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“cat hair nighmare”

Danygraig Bed & Breakfast
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Parry Sound
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Danygraig Bed & Breakfast
Ranked #7 of 11 Parry Sound B&B and Inns
Reviewed July 22, 2011

Be warned: this B&B has two cats--but please do not mention it if you notice cat hair in your bed, as we did. We assumed the owners would be apologetic and simply change the sheets. Instead, after telling us that it was not possible that there was cat hair in the bed (my wife had already removed a handful), they later yelled at me (yes, yelled at their paying guests) for daring to tell them their home was dirty. I should say, they did change the sheets.

While this is may be a nice home, it is not very well set up for a B & B if you are a guest who wants any privacy. Our room opened onto a common space and had glass French doors with no lock.

Please study the "Rules of Etiquette" on their website before you go. We unfortunately didn't do this and apparently broke several of their rules (no baths at night, remove your shoes upon entering, etc.)--although there were no signs to inform us of these rules.

You may also want to confirm the check out time before you make your booking. We were not informed of a checkout time and then when I asked in the morning I was told that it was "10 am TODAY" because the owners were planning to go out.

We've stayed at many B & B s over the years and this was undoubtedly the most unpleasant experience we've had. I should say that after yelling at me and apologizing the owner did offer to refund our money--and indeed refunded some of it.

Stayed: July 2011, traveled as a couple
2  Thank mark_silverberg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
danygraigBB, Owner at Danygraig Bed & Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded August 18, 2011

As the proud owner of this B&B, this was the guest from hell and our worst experience in 7 years opening our home to guests!

They first called and said they had lost the directions, so we explained over the phone in five easy steps how to travel less than 6km.
They rang again and said they were lost. We again explained the simple directions.

When they arrived they complained that the township "signs" at the end of the road are too small.
They complained google maps are wrong, we explained a new bypass had just opened.
They stressed we did not provide the correct directions over the phone.

Then he complained because he saw the cat. "You have a cat!", we explained the cats are mentioned on 3 pages of our web site.
They said they did not want to take their shoes off in the house!
They walked upstairs and then stripped the bed and came down and said they had found "A cat hair" in the bed. We politely said we were sorry and would change the sheets and explained the cats are not allowed in the bed rooms.

So less than 5 minutes in our home and we were blamed for them loosing the map, our telephone directions, google maps, the township signs size, we own a cat and a "cat hair" in the bed and our policy about shoes.

This couple continued the rudeness on every encounter. We smiled and did our best to be polite and courteous.

Next morning they joined the other guests at the breakfast table who praised our hospitality explaining how wonderful it was that we had taken their grand children out on the boat which was the highlight of the vacation. The other guests at the table explained they had stayed with us for the last 4 years. This couple then became quite and no longer spoke to the other guests.

After breakfast the husband came down and said he wanted to go for a run. We said no problem, how long do you expect to be because it's our daughter birthday today, so we have personal plans later this morning.

His reply "you are running a business and we have paid until checkout time, so his wishes should override our desires". I explained again in a very courtesy manner that we would "respectfully" like them to leave by 10.00am.

He pushed again and said that his run should be more important than the owners personal needs. I suggested that he should go for his run because it was only 8:45am,

He pushed again that "you are running a business", your plans for the day are not important to me! After 10.00am they both came down the stairs eager for a confrontation with bags in hand.

I agree, that an owner should always bite his tongue, but this couple had never stopped complaining about things since the moment they arrived. I apologized to them and said we were sorry they did not enjoy the stay.

I offered to give them a refund, they immediately accepted and put out a hand waiting...

Without counting the money in my pocket I gave them everything I had in cash $125.00, which was the payment from an earlier guest that morning.

At last we observed a "smile" on the couples face. They had achieved a free nights accommodation by making up cat hair stories and bating the owners into a number of confrontations.

When first reported it was a "single cat hair", but now I see the story has grown into "handfuls".... What else could one expect from an "professor of English". A story to entertain the public...

We can honestly say this is our worst guest in 7 years in business... We feel this couple had no intentions of paying for accommodations and they would have found ANY reason to get a refund...

It is very sad that a one night guest can make the owners consider closing the business because they never want this type of rude guest again...

Then we read our guest book and understand why we open our home to guests; we can read the hundreds & hundreds of kind messages and compliments from our past guests. But no business can keep every guest happy...

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (32)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

19 - 25 of 32 reviews

Reviewed September 6, 2010

We only stayed for one night but we liked this B&B very much. We were welcomed with some tea and cookies after we had put everything in our room. The room is really part of the house, guests do not have a private living room so if you are a real B&B lover you will like this setting of being part of the family. In the morning breakfast is served in the hosts' dining room with a view on the lake while the hosts are walking around in the house, chatting with us, having tea, etc...
Our room was cosy with a large bathroom and some little things that make you feel a little more at home: cotton pads, shampoo and shower gel, eye mask to cover your eyes from the brightness in the morning, etc...

It is a 10-minute drive to Parry Sound but a very peaceful location.

  • Stayed: August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Shanna24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 26, 2010

Very friendly yet discrete service. Lovely room and great location. Breakfast superb. If you dont like early sunshine in the morning take eyeshades so you can sleep on!

  • Stayed: June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ChandlersForders
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 11, 2009

A wonderful location, excellent hosts, incredible breakfast. We had a wonderful night in a home where we were made to feel welcome. It was an awesome room with an amazing view of Georgian Bay, a private bath room and a delicious breakfast. The owners made us feel welcome and recommended a wonderful local spot for a hike, gave us ideas for a supper location and helped us to enjoy a relaxing and rejeuventing night. I would recommend this B & B to anyone looking for a wonderful vacation.

Stayed: October 2009, traveled as a couple
1  Thank murray_joanne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 11, 2009

This was our fourth year at Danygraig and, as always, we loved it. On our visits we are always drawn to the remarkable view of Georgian Bay from the huge balcony, and enjoy short walks to the secluded sandy beach nearby. The hosts are friendly and fun-loving: nothing is too much trouble, including accommodating my rather extensive food allergies. Breakfasts, even with the limitations I place upon the menu, are delicious and varied. After discovering this gem of a B&B, we brought friends with us the second year, a relative for the third year and our adult son the fourth year. The setting is very private and relaxing.

  • Stayed: August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Freedom552006
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 8, 2009

Well situated for kayak touring of the area including a good launch point to round Huckleberry Island as suggested by our hosts.
No hesitation in recommending this comfortable B&B and our hosts.

  • Stayed: August 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank H301Libelle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 7, 2009

Fabulous location - very quiet and the view from the front deck is fabulous. We spent the weekend kayaking at several locations in Parry Sound. Hosts were very helpful in assisting us with finding great spots to put the kayaks in the water. The resident humming birds are worth a trip alone.

  • Stayed: August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank cscottdu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Parry Sound hotels
0 mi away
Grand Tappattoo Resort
Grand Tappattoo Resort
#6 of 19 in Parry Sound
105 reviews
0 mi away
Parry Sound Inn and Suites
Parry Sound Inn and Suites
#3 of 19 in Parry Sound
442 reviews
0 mi away
Chalet Rosemarie
Chalet Rosemarie
#1 of 1 in Nobel
25 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0 mi away
Comfort Inn
Comfort Inn
#7 of 19 in Parry Sound
153 reviews
0 mi away
Bayside Inn
Bayside Inn
#1 of 19 in Parry Sound
124 reviews
0 mi away
Super 8 Parry Sound
Super 8 Parry Sound
#13 of 19 in Parry Sound
170 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Danygraig Bed & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Danygraig Bed & Breakfast

Address: 55 Big Sound Road, Nobel, Ontario, Parry Sound, Ontario P0G 1G0, Canada
Location: Canada > Ontario > Northeastern Ontario > Parry Sound
Amenities:
Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 11 B&Bs / Inns in Parry Sound
Price Range: $98 - $117 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Relax on the deck above the trees and forest below or enjoy the tranquility of the sunlight great room with your favorite book. Enjoy a special vacation in this newly created contemporary home with 180-degree views of Georgian Bay. Each of our luxury rooms has been carefully crafted to help you unwind, relax, and benefit in the romance of being in a special place. Enjoy a generous and creative breakfast with homemade specialties. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Danygraig Bed & Breakfast Parry Sound, Ontario

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing