We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Gorgeous setting, lovely stay”
Review of Glenn-Burney Lodge

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Parry Sound
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Glenn-Burney Lodge
Ranked #8 of 19 Hotels in Parry Sound
County Meath, Ireland
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Gorgeous setting, lovely stay”
Reviewed August 9, 2010

We stayed here for three nights recently and really enjoyed it. It's peaceful (though apparently we had just missed the civic holiday rush) and really nicely laid out with its own beach and marina. We used the kayaks and canoes there and saw some cool wildlife up in the marshes. There was a great looking fire pit and outdoor oven outside our cabin but neither was in use while we were there.

We stayed in a Queen Lodge Room which was great, it had everything - very comfy bed, microwave, fridge, flat screen tv and a nice porch out back which was covered in so we didn't get eaten by mosquitoes. The whole place has been renovated recently but still feels quite rustic. The only thing i would say about the room is that it wasn't attended to by house-keeping each day. Our bin was pretty full by the end of our stay and we had run out of tea/coffee. We had been told on arrival that they don't change the towels each day which was fine with us. I'm sure if we had asked for the bin etc to be attended to it would have been no problem.

We only ate in the restaurant one night and we thought the food was delicious. We both had soup starters and duck for main course. We also had a good bottle of wine which was really nice too. We feel that they should really advertise the restaurant a bit more locally. It was quiet the night we ate there (there were three other groups eating) even though it was the last night of a civic holiday weekend. The food is really good, as are the staff, and its a fab location yet there's only the faintest mention of a restaurant on the sign at the entrance and no mention of it anywhere on Tripadvisor or anywhere else online. Parry Sound is certainly not the gourmet capital of Ontario (there are very few places to eat and the ones that are there are very casual, in fact we couldn't find anywhere else to get a fancy meal) so i reckon if word got out that the food was good here at Glenn Burney they could do very well.

Lois was lovely to deal with when booking and she was equally friendly in person, she gave us some great recommendations for the Parry Sound area and some tips for our next destination. It seems like they have a small team of employees there and they all seemed very helpful.

I'd recommend this as a nice stopover for a few day's peace, though the free wi-fi is certainly a nice addition too!

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Fiona M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

70 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    41
    15
    4
    7
    3
See reviews for
10
43
2
6
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (17)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Toronto
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed April 6, 2010

I found the lodge to be a welcome vacation from the stresses that it’s far too easy to get caught up in these days. My trip was serene, peaceful, gorgeous and relaxing, I was very sad to leave.

The style of the rooms perfectly suited the atmosphere of the rest of the establishment- it was luxurious but rustic, modern and quaint at the same time. It felt like a natural extension of the rest of the beautiful scenery outside.

I have to rave about the food as well, it was absolutely delicious – the variety and value is unprecedented for Parry Sound.

I took the trip with several co-workers who were also friends, and we all found it a perfect space to unwind while also getting some work done together. The lodge would be a great space the Lodge would be for team building events or seminars, I encourage you to look into possibilities for this if you’re looking for a different kind of getaway.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank fitness_superstar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mississauga
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed August 24, 2009

If you're looking for an authentic outdoorsy lodge experience, then this is definitely the place to be.

We went up to the lodge fully knowing that it is under renovation. Renovations or not, service was excellent and the staff was super detail orientated. The new owner has definitely done a wonderful job on the upgrades and renovations that were done. The landscaped property is gorgeous and certainly coming along.

My son totally enjoyed fishing and was able to catch 3 fish....great for his first time. There is also a marina next door and slip dock so you can bring your own boat. The waterfront is decent, the kids loved it, although because of being by the marina it is busy.

We rented one of the cabins and the beds are AMAZING. The big flat screen was great too and the hundreds of DVDs to choose from was awesome (it rained a little). The cabins also have screened in back porches which were excellent to allow you to sit out at night and not get attacked by bugs (it is Parry Sound after all).

We had an excellent time and are certainly returning in September. Definitely our new favourite getaway.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Eye_Candie_Photos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed August 28, 2008

Our stay at The Glenn Burney Lodge was pefect. The landscaping was beautiful and the setting was so peaceful. The rooms were fresh with new hardwood floors. And although the waterfront was next to a marina, I still thought the swimming was fantastic. In general the staff is incredibly detail oriented.

My favorite part of the stay was the meals. For what is offered, it is a great deal. We have been coming to this area for many years, and I would say the food is far better than any restaurant in Parry Sound.

I decided to write this entry after reading the previous review. Of course everybody is entitled to their opinion, but I have to say, our experience at the Glenn Burney Lodge gets high scores.

  • Liked — Landscaping, Food
  • Disliked — Main Lodge Not Completed
  • Stayed August 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank SydToronto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed August 25, 2008

Not a good experience.

Our bed was broken -- it was sloped and if you leaned on one end, it literally tipped over -- the toilet seat was broken (kept coming off) and one of our towels was dirty (smelled like a wet dish rag.)

The running water comes from the lake, and although filtered, is not drinkable, however no signs or visible warnings were placed to that effect. Water bottles were provided, but only two, and no glasses, and the water was warm and was not refigerated at arrival.

The waterfront they advertise is out onto dock of a marina, with very busy boat traffic and the swimming is not great (weedy.)

We stayed here two nights. We booked one of the motel rooms (not one of the cabins, though our friends stayed in a cabin, and found it no better.)

In the end this is just a mediocre motel dressed up in new renovations. It has very nice landscaping and an expensive dinner menu, but they need to go to hospitality school and learn the basics before charging the kind of money they are trying to charge.

I would not recommend this location.

  • Disliked — broken bed
  • Stayed August 2008
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank comradeporcupine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed August 23, 2008

The quick road access is a big plus. It's right in the heart of Goergian Bay and only two hours from the Toronto City Limits. The new Hwy 400 makes the drive zip by so quickly now. The rooms and service were excellent. We can't wait until construction on the main lodge is finished next year. These guys seem extremely detail oriented which is rare in cottage country. Sort of wish they had more rooms (only about a dozen). Looking forward to next year.

  • Liked — Location, service, attention to detail.
  • Disliked — Need more rooms.
  • Stayed July 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank CountryCouple75
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Windsor
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed July 16, 2007

My boyfriend brought me to the Glen Burney as a suprise. I loved it, the breakfast was great with warm pastries and a really nice set up. Really nice staff, very friendly and helpful. The beds were so nice, must be really expensive sheets.
We went swimming, had a big bonfire and I had my first s'more marshmellow, very yummy. We fished off the dock and the BBQ with the chef there was unbelievable! so fresh, so good. We are going back next year for sure, definitely recommend it.

  • Liked — beds!
  • Stayed July 2006, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank beacherbum
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Parry Sound
2.1 mi away
Bayside Inn
Bayside Inn
#1 of 19 in Parry Sound
4.5 of 5 bubbles 112 reviews
2.8 mi away
Parry Sound Inn and Suites
Parry Sound Inn and Suites
#3 of 19 in Parry Sound
4.0 of 5 bubbles 433 reviews
2.7 mi away
Comfort Inn
Comfort Inn
#7 of 19 in Parry Sound
4.0 of 5 bubbles 134 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
21.7 mi away
JW Marriott The Rosseau Muskoka Resort & Spa
5.1 mi away
Super 8 Parry Sound
Super 8 Parry Sound
#11 of 19 in Parry Sound
3.0 of 5 bubbles 126 reviews
4.3 mi away
Grand Tappattoo Resort
Grand Tappattoo Resort
#6 of 19 in Parry Sound
4.0 of 5 bubbles 45 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Glenn-Burney Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Glenn-Burney Lodge

Property: Glenn-Burney Lodge
Address: 49 Glen Burney Rd, Parry Sound, Ontario P2A 2X3, Canada
Location: Canada > Ontario > Northeastern Ontario > Parry Sound
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Parry Sound
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Glenn-Burney Lodge 3*
Number of rooms: 4
Also Known As:
Glenn-Burney Hotel Parry Sound
Glenn-Burney Lodge Parry Sound, Ontario

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing