We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Book On TripAdvisor Bonus Book your hotel on TripAdvisor — then save 20% on things to do for your trip. Use code BOOKTOSAVE.

“Great location ...!!!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Glenn-Burney Lodge

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Parry Sound
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Glenn-Burney Lodge
Save
You added Glenn-Burney Lodge to your Saves list
3.0 of 5 Resort   |   49 Glen Burney Rd, Parry Sound, Ontario P2A 2X3, Canada   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #9 of 19 Hotels in Parry Sound
Mississauga, Canada
2 reviews
“Great location ...!!!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 29, 2012

Superb location. Young staff but very formal. Food was amazing. During our stay it was very quite and lot of senior citizens were having fun. We were bit isolated with an 8 month old. We will try this place again in summer.

  • Stayed September 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Thooyan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

68 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    39
    15
    4
    7
    3
See reviews for
9
42
2
6
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (17)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Toronto, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2012

My spouse and I visited this weekend I have to say that I was blown away by the service and charm of this wonderful resort. We arrived in the evening settled in to our queen suite. The room was very clean and well designed. TV was huge and the room provided more than we expected. Beds were comfortable and the bathroom was above average.

The staff from start to finish were incredible. Everyone was extremely friendly and catered to our every need without hesitation.

If you go to the lodge, dinner in the restaurant on site is an absolute must. Chef provided us with quite possibly the finest meal we have ever had and the pricing for this level of cuisine was more than reasonable.

After dinner the staff invited us out to a lovely fire outside where we enoyed the rest of the evening under the stars.

We stayed in the fall and I can say without doubt that we will be back next summer. Great resort, great food and great service.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Blake M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Midland, Canada
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2012

My wife and I stayed at the Glenn Burney Lodge from July 29 2012 until July 31 2012. We had a wonderful time at the resort. We arrived by boat and were able to leave our 25ft cruiser at the lodge's brand new docks. The walk from the docks up to our cabin was steep, even though the path was in excellent shape. The view was worth the climb. Our cabin was very clean and had everything we needed.
On our first night at the resort we ate in the main dining room. The pickerel my wife had was absolutely the best either of us had ever had. I vowed to have it the next night, but was disappointed to hear that the restaurant did not serve dinner on Mondays or Tuesdays.
The staff at the resort were very courteous and friendly and also respectfull.
My wife was concerned about mosquitoes and blackflies, but honestly said, there were one to speak of. We sat on our deck each evening and watched the sun go down. Nweither of us swatted once.
The newly constructed waterfront (licensed) deck was spectacular. All finished in cedar, this was where we ended up eating dinner on our second night. The food was great.
We are avid boaters, and the waters near Parry Sound were warm and not nearly as busy as Southern Georgian Bay.
We had a wonderful time and will go again next year.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MarkLosch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hanau
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 22, 2012

The Glen Burny Lodge is located in the woods, a little outside of Parry Sound, right at the Georgian Bay. We stayed there for one night (actually we had planned to stay for 2).

PRO:
- the location is really beautiful and the staff was friendly and helpful.
- the dining room is very nice and overviews the lake
- the room's technical equipment was very good (if you attach importance to that):
microwave, big flatscreen, fridge, coffee maker, wi-fi

CON:
- the PRICE!!
- the ground seemed a little bedraggled
- the hygienical conditions: for us, the morst important thing is, that a room is clean. Therefor we would rather do without the tv. on the face of it, everything seemed ok, but on closer inspection you could see that the cleaning had been done (has it been done at all?) very sketchily.
the towels were filthy and so was the bedding, the fridge was dirty on the inside. the same impression in the bathroom.
the "best" was the full diaper on a chair on the balcony - that made us sure, that the room wasn't looked after.

We stayed one night and that was more than enough.
The Glen Burny Lodge has the charm of a holiday camp for teenagers - and if the price was appropiate to that (60-80 dollars maybe) - we would have been satisfied.
Unfortunately the room was more expensive than a room in the Hilton Hotel at the Niagarafalls and that is just ridiculous.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Silke F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambridge, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 21, 2012

Glenn-Burney Lodge...standing amongst the trees, it's metal roof dripping with dew, a swirl of smoke spiralling up from the chimney, the sun rising and the smell of freshly brewed coffee beckoning. We had arrived late the night before to beds warm and comfortable and were blessed with a good night's sleep. We enjoyed a most delicious breakfast in the diningroom overlooking the bay the next day before heading out for a wedding. Unfortunately for us we missed dinner, so we'll just have to come back again. Looking forward to our next stay here!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Emmiii
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto
Level Contributor
12 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2012

We have just concluded our “wedding weekend” in Parry Sound and Glenn Burney Lodge played a vital role in making the weekend such a success. From the last minute reservation on Thursday night through to the complimentary dockside bottle of bubbly on Sunday afternoon, this place exceeded our expectations. They accommodated quite a few of our guests on Friday and Saturday nights, and all of our friends and family raved about the facility. We love the location, the rooms, the food and the staff; we cannot say enough about this place. A special thank-you goes out to Lois and Katie for their exceptional hospitality as well as Chef Ron, Chef Philip and their kitchen staff for the unique and delicious meals served to us over the weekend. Cheers! We have read some reviews saying that it was unclean, ....this surprises us as the staff take great care to keep a clean facility. I guess it depends on what you focus on. The customer service, the view, the gorgeous location, the small beach, the canoes you can take for a paddle, the relaxation down at the water-side-bar, ....all of this is so top-knotch, our focus was always rewarded with a positive response. Feel free to contact me with more details if needed! A+ for Glenn Burney Lodge in our books!

Room Tip: Room #8 has super comfortable beds! Cabin #1, 2, 3 have gorgeous views! Any more advice needed? Co...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank misscross2000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 7, 2012

I recently stayed at the Glenn-Burney Lodge with my fiancé to relax for a day before we both had to go back to work - what can i say, it was certainly the best decision we could possibly have made.
The lodge was a little hard to find (we've never been there before), but the lovely staff gave us directions on the phone and made sure we arrived safely.
Our room was wonderful, we booked one of the lake-view cabins and the expectations we had based on the website were more than excelled. We went down to the Patio (i felt like Baby in Dirty Dancing) for lunch and drinks and enjoyed what has to be the best view you can have while eating oysters. In fact - we liked it so much that we stayed down there to watch the sunset before we went upstairs to have dinner.
After a good night sleep we - unfortunately - had to leave early in the morning in order to get back to Toronto in time and were delighted to see that fresh coffee was already waiting for us on the bar.
We'd love to come back with a little more time, so we can take one of the canoes out and absorb more of Georgian Bay's beautiful countryside.

Room Tip: The Cabins certainly have the best view
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Sophie S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Parry Sound
2.8 mi away
Parry Sound Inn and Suites
Parry Sound Inn and Suites
#1 of 19 in Parry Sound
4.0 of 5 stars 398 reviews
2.1 mi away
Bayside Inn
Bayside Inn
#3 of 19 in Parry Sound
4.5 of 5 stars 95 reviews
21.8 mi away
JW Marriott The Rosseau Muskoka Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.7 mi away
Comfort Inn
Comfort Inn
#6 of 19 in Parry Sound
4.0 of 5 stars 113 reviews
2.3 mi away
Knights Inn Parry Sound
Knights Inn Parry Sound
#13 of 19 in Parry Sound
3.0 of 5 stars 37 reviews
5.1 mi away
Quality Inn and Conference Centre
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Glenn-Burney Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Glenn-Burney Lodge

Property: Glenn-Burney Lodge
Address: 49 Glen Burney Rd, Parry Sound, Ontario P2A 2X3, Canada
Location: Canada > Ontario > Northeastern Ontario > Parry Sound
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 19 Hotels in Parry Sound
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Glenn-Burney Lodge 3*
Number of rooms: 10
Also Known As:
Glenn-Burney Hotel Parry Sound
Glenn-Burney Lodge Parry Sound, Ontario

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing