We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“There are better ways to spend money!”
Review of Glenn-Burney Lodge

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Parry Sound
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Glenn-Burney Lodge
Ranked #8 of 19 Hotels in Parry Sound
Hanau
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“There are better ways to spend money!”
Reviewed September 22, 2012

The Glen Burny Lodge is located in the woods, a little outside of Parry Sound, right at the Georgian Bay. We stayed there for one night (actually we had planned to stay for 2).

PRO:
- the location is really beautiful and the staff was friendly and helpful.
- the dining room is very nice and overviews the lake
- the room's technical equipment was very good (if you attach importance to that):
microwave, big flatscreen, fridge, coffee maker, wi-fi

CON:
- the PRICE!!
- the ground seemed a little bedraggled
- the hygienical conditions: for us, the morst important thing is, that a room is clean. Therefor we would rather do without the tv. on the face of it, everything seemed ok, but on closer inspection you could see that the cleaning had been done (has it been done at all?) very sketchily.
the towels were filthy and so was the bedding, the fridge was dirty on the inside. the same impression in the bathroom.
the "best" was the full diaper on a chair on the balcony - that made us sure, that the room wasn't looked after.

We stayed one night and that was more than enough.
The Glen Burny Lodge has the charm of a holiday camp for teenagers - and if the price was appropiate to that (60-80 dollars maybe) - we would have been satisfied.
Unfortunately the room was more expensive than a room in the Hilton Hotel at the Niagarafalls and that is just ridiculous.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Silke F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

70 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    41
    15
    4
    7
    3
See reviews for
10
43
2
6
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (17)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Cambridge, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed September 21, 2012

Glenn-Burney Lodge...standing amongst the trees, it's metal roof dripping with dew, a swirl of smoke spiralling up from the chimney, the sun rising and the smell of freshly brewed coffee beckoning. We had arrived late the night before to beds warm and comfortable and were blessed with a good night's sleep. We enjoyed a most delicious breakfast in the diningroom overlooking the bay the next day before heading out for a wedding. Unfortunately for us we missed dinner, so we'll just have to come back again. Looking forward to our next stay here!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Emmiii
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed September 17, 2012

We have just concluded our “wedding weekend” in Parry Sound and Glenn Burney Lodge played a vital role in making the weekend such a success. From the last minute reservation on Thursday night through to the complimentary dockside bottle of bubbly on Sunday afternoon, this place exceeded our expectations. They accommodated quite a few of our guests on Friday and Saturday nights, and all of our friends and family raved about the facility. We love the location, the rooms, the food and the staff; we cannot say enough about this place. A special thank-you goes out to Lois and Katie for their exceptional hospitality as well as Chef Ron, Chef Philip and their kitchen staff for the unique and delicious meals served to us over the weekend. Cheers! We have read some reviews saying that it was unclean, ....this surprises us as the staff take great care to keep a clean facility. I guess it depends on what you focus on. The customer service, the view, the gorgeous location, the small beach, the canoes you can take for a paddle, the relaxation down at the water-side-bar, ....all of this is so top-knotch, our focus was always rewarded with a positive response. Feel free to contact me with more details if needed! A+ for Glenn Burney Lodge in our books!

Room Tip: Room #8 has super comfortable beds! Cabin #1, 2, 3 have gorgeous views! Any more advice needed? Co...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank misscross2000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed September 7, 2012

I recently stayed at the Glenn-Burney Lodge with my fiancé to relax for a day before we both had to go back to work - what can i say, it was certainly the best decision we could possibly have made.
The lodge was a little hard to find (we've never been there before), but the lovely staff gave us directions on the phone and made sure we arrived safely.
Our room was wonderful, we booked one of the lake-view cabins and the expectations we had based on the website were more than excelled. We went down to the Patio (i felt like Baby in Dirty Dancing) for lunch and drinks and enjoyed what has to be the best view you can have while eating oysters. In fact - we liked it so much that we stayed down there to watch the sunset before we went upstairs to have dinner.
After a good night sleep we - unfortunately - had to leave early in the morning in order to get back to Toronto in time and were delighted to see that fresh coffee was already waiting for us on the bar.
We'd love to come back with a little more time, so we can take one of the canoes out and absorb more of Georgian Bay's beautiful countryside.

Room Tip: The Cabins certainly have the best view
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Sophie S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Timmins, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed September 3, 2012

I recently stayed at the lodge for a wedding. I found the lodge to be greatly over priced considering the accomodations. The dining room had few menu options, and was disgusting. The tables and floor were full of crumbs, the dinnerware was filthy, and the food was over priced. The comforter in our room was stained, and the shower in the washroom hadn't been cleaned. The pressure in the shower was also horrible. There was no phone in the room, no iron or ironing board, and a limited internet signal. The staff were not friendly, and overall everything seemed rather disorganized. Oh, and there is zero sound proofing between units...you can hear everything your neighbor is doing. One positive note, the location is beautiful. If you are looking for an amazing resort, try the couples resort. 5 stars!!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank JR1983_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed August 16, 2012

We recently celebrated my husband's special birthday at Glenn Burney Lodge with 17 of our friends and family. The lodge is beautifully located overlooking the water with rock and pines that make the Northern Ontario landscape so incredible. We arrived in time for drinks on the new patio/bar down at the marina. Excellent fish tacos there too. Then it was oysters and champagne as a prelude to the amazing dinner prepared by the chefs. Local, delicious, healthy and a fab chocolate cake for dessert. After dinner, we danced in the wood paneled lodge surrounded by the amazing collection of guitars and totem poles. Quite the juxtaposition. Sitting around the bonfire on a perfect star filled summer night completed our evening. Our guests from Vancouver, Ottawa, Toronto and Markham all enjoyed their stay there immensely. Lois and the staff are welcoming and cater to every request. The rooms are perfectly in keeping with the rustic surroundings. Check out the newest cabin ...two bedrooms and totally wired with tv, sound system...all the creature comforts. Breakfast the next morning included incredible fresh baked baguette, frittata, french toast, granola and...my husband's favourite, bacon smoked at the Lodge. Lois made sure that we were all medicated with coffee.
Everyone of our guests said that they would return to Glenn Burney Lodge for the beautiful surroundings, the food, the rooms and most importantly first class hospitality. If you are looking for a retreat in beautiful Georgian Bay that is quiet, rustic but you have high standards for food and wine, this is the place. And just over two hours from Toronto.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Lovetotravel416
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto Ontario
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed August 12, 2012

I expected for the nearly 200.00$ a night that the room we got would be in better shape. Chipped tub and old furniture made me feel as if I was getting ripped off. Our room was publicized as delux but it definitely wasn't in my books.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kimjan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Parry Sound
2.8 mi away
Parry Sound Inn and Suites
Parry Sound Inn and Suites
#2 of 19 in Parry Sound
437 reviews
2.6 mi away
Comfort Inn
Comfort Inn
#7 of 19 in Parry Sound
145 reviews
21.7 mi away
JW Marriott The Rosseau Muskoka Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.1 mi away
Super 8 Parry Sound
Super 8 Parry Sound
#13 of 19 in Parry Sound
134 reviews
4.3 mi away
Grand Tappattoo Resort
Grand Tappattoo Resort
#6 of 19 in Parry Sound
71 reviews
7.2 mi away
Sunny Point Resort, Cottages & Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Glenn-Burney Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Glenn-Burney Lodge

Property: Glenn-Burney Lodge
Address: 49 Glen Burney Rd, Parry Sound, Ontario P2A 2X3, Canada
Location: Canada > Ontario > Northeastern Ontario > Parry Sound
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Parry Sound
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Glenn-Burney Lodge 3*
Number of rooms: 4
Also Known As:
Glenn-Burney Hotel Parry Sound
Glenn-Burney Lodge Parry Sound, Ontario

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing