We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“quality in the woods” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Glenn Burney Lodge

Glenn Burney Lodge
Ranked #18 of 61 Restaurants in Parry Sound
Price range: $15 - $38
Cuisines: Canadian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar scene, Romantic
Dining options: Dinner, Accepts American Express, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff
Description: Patio restaurant located on Georgian Bay. Fine dining and superb wine list.
Hamilton, Canada
Level Contributor
91 reviews
83 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“quality in the woods”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 27, 2013

Had the family dine in one night as we were staying here. When you have 7 people dine and everyone raved about their meal speaks volumes. My one son trained to be a chef and we are very discerning. We had a range of food from poutine to wings to steak , shrimp, halibut steamed with veggies, and rice in parchment paper. Quality an portions great. Finished the meal and they let my son take a guitar off the wall and he played some acoustic Zeppelin for a finale. All this in a 30ish rustic setting. Tell me where can you pull that off. Great time and thanks to a great staff. oh yeah after that we had wine by the outdoor fire pit.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank yakidelsur
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

51 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    28
    16
    3
    3
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Ottawa, Ontario, Canada
1 review
“Passion and perfection”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 15, 2013

In a lodge restored with dramatic 1st Nation's art,passion and perfection for cuisine,wine,cocktails are evident...the sunsets across the bay from the dining room windows,set the mood ,be sure to take home some of their delish pesto,preserves,and granola I wish we could have stayed longer and eaten our way through the menu!!

  • Visited September 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Judith G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Ontario, Canada
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Glenn-Burney Restaurant, Parry Sound”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 13, 2013

We'd checked into the Glenn-Burney Lodge for a weekend to check out the fall colours of Northern Ontario. I'd been to the Parry Sound area and always found it difficult to get a good meal. Not a lot of choices. So happy to find the restaurant at the Lodge served one of the best meals I've had since coming up here. We started with a very fresh Salad and a Paan bread topped with cheese, olives, tomatoes, basil....it was sort of like a pizza but not. Considering the brisk but sunny fall day we both decided to order the beef stew. Wow! Sumptuous! They made with barley and topped it off with a dollop of sour cream. Delicious. Highly recommend this place.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Marty M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great staff. Great restaurant. Great boat ride.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 3, 2013 via mobile

We heard about this place from friends who had their wedding here and made a special trip to check it out. The staff (Zach and Graham) greeted us with a glass of Champagne. We made dinner reservations (will review that separately but it was great) and took a boat ride out on the lake. There are guided jet ski tours available apparently but it was a bit chilly. The trip lasted over three hours and we saw everything from narrow channels to a body of water you couldn't see across. We will be back next summer to do it again when the weather warms up! Highly recommend.

    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank CountryCouple75
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
30 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Did not expect this...”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 22, 2013

Nestled in the pines. Interesting mix of cottagey cabin with a modern kitchen.

Electric guitars and moose heads both hang on the walls in the dining room.

Warm and inviting. Great menu. We had a great time.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank everywhere517
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Glenn Burney Lodge also viewed

Parry Sound, Northeastern Ontario
Parry Sound, Northeastern Ontario
 
Nobel, Parry Sound
Parry Sound, Northeastern Ontario
 

Been to Glenn Burney Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing