We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Beautiful scenery, lovely cottages and comfortable boat”

Island Queen Cruise
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Enjoy a captain's-eye view of Georgian Bay's 30,000 Islands Biosphere Reserve aboard the 550-passenger Island Queen. We offer two and three-hour sightseeing cruises that bring passengers surprisingly up-close to the pristine beauty of Georgian Bay's remote island wilderness and the rustic charm of its grand summer cottages. Follow in the wake of early explorers as the captain steers the ship past granite shoals into narrow channels and shallow waterways exploring out-of-the-way places within the world's largest freshwater archipelago. The Island Queen is fully equipped with comfortable inside and outside seating, large viewing windows, outside observation decks, wheelchair accessible washrooms, a snack bar, a full commentary and heat for our fall colour cruises. Cruises depart daily from June 1 to mid-October each year from the town dock in Parry Sound, Ontario.
Useful Information: Wheelchair access
Toronto
Level Contributor
60 reviews
19 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Beautiful scenery, lovely cottages and comfortable boat”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 12, 2011

I went on the three hour tour of the Georgian Bay 30,000 islands and it was beautiful. I cottage in the region and had never taken the tour before. The cottages on the islands are so interesting to look at and the ship provided a history of the sites as we ventured along. I went on a cloudy/rainy day so the boat was not very busy, but it was still nice enough to see the sites outside.

Visited July 2011
Helpful?
2 Thank SaraFeld
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dave A, Manager at Island Queen Cruise, responded to this review, December 6, 2011
Dear Passenger,
Thank you for taking time to provide your feedback regarding our three-hour cruise. We’ve always found that the 30,000 Islands have a different feel or mood to them depending on the weather. Cloudy and rainy days among the islands are just as beautiful as bright sunny days, only in a different, more enchanted way. Once again, thanks for your comments.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

177 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    125
    39
    9
    4
    0
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Oshawa
Level Contributor
29 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Relaxing and beautiful!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 1, 2011

My cousin from Arizona came up to see where her mother (and mine) grew up. Staying in Parry Sound only overnight, we took the shorter 2 hour morning cruise before heading back to Toronto. The price of $25 was okay for what we experienced. We started up top but it was a pretty breezy morning so once we were out toward more open water we went below, but the views were still breathtaking of the water, rocks and windswept trees. Got some nice glimpses of gorgeous cottages and all who we saw waved at our boat. My cousin was enthralled with the beauty of the landscape after all she knows in the deserts of the USA. Even my husband and I found it interesting and a lovely way to spend a couple of hours appreciating what our great province has to offer nature-wise.

Visited August 2011
Helpful?
3 Thank HarpLover
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dave A, Manager at Island Queen Cruise, responded to this review, December 6, 2011
Dear Passenger,
Thanks for your nice comments about our two-hour cruise. Aren’t some of the cottages beautiful!? We often hear that Georgian Bay’s 30,000 Islands are Ontario’s best-kept secret. If you are looking for a relaxing one-day getaway from Oshawa, we get lots of people up from that area for our three-hour cruise. Once again, thank you for your comments.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
47 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Just lovely”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 14, 2011

A lovely way to spend an afternoon. Remember your sub block!

Visited August 2011
Helpful?
2 Thank Michael G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dave A, Manager at Island Queen Cruise, responded to this review, December 6, 2011
Dear Passenger,
Sun block is a great suggestion for those passengers who choose to sit or stand on one of our many outside observation decks. For those wanting to escape the sun, we have comfortable inside seating on two decks with large viewing windows. Thank you very much for taking the time to comment on the cruise.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Bay, Canada
1 review
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Absolutely Stunning”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 3, 2011

Some friends and I went on the 30,000 Island Queen tour for the 3 hour wilderness tour and it was beautiful. The tour was very scenic and gave a very accurate image of what the 30,000 region of Georgian Bay was like.
There was a running commentary during the cruise that gave information on local land formations, local history, wild life, water ways, etc. that was very detailed.
There was a snack bar that provided reasonable priced items for sale considering where we were.
The staff were friendly and were able to help us with seating locations, information, and other services, including tours of the boat!
I definitely recommend this $35.00 cruise to anyone looking for a quiet and relaxing get away on Georgian Bay, for educational or recreational purposes.
The giftshop on the main dock was also a nice place to get t-shirt souvenirs and other small paraphenelia.

Visited August 2011
Helpful?
4 Thank FatalScarlet16
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dave A, Manager at Island Queen Cruise, responded to this review, December 6, 2011
Dear Passenger,
Thank you for taking the time to review our three-hour cruise. We’re very glad you enjoyed it and found it relaxing and educational. We updated our commentary in 2011 and have had lots of very positive feedback from both school groups and tourists alike. Again, thanks for your kind words.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto
Level Contributor
27 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
“Too expensive for what it is”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 8, 2010

We have been cottaging near Parry Sound for over seven years, and since this is supposed to be the premier attraction in the area, we decided to give it a try. At $33 each for a 3-hour tour, we were already skeptical, but still decided to go. The cruise, which is generously labeled as a "wilderness" cruise, shows the same scenery for three hours. It cruises into the outer islands, which is really only a cottagers destinantion. There is not even commentary on the boat, with a generic voice spewing out 15-second tidbits of information every ten minutes. Nothing is included with the price of the tour, and the food (and water!) is extremely expensive. When we finally came back to the Parry Sound Docks, I was glad to be back.

Helpful?
15 Thank jsgToronto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dave A, Manager at Island Queen Cruise, responded to this review, December 6, 2011
Dear passenger,
Thank you for taking the time to provide your feedback regarding our cruise. We were disappointed to hear that your experience aboard the Island Queen did not meet your expectations. We take great pleasure in introducing passengers from all over Canada and around world to Georgian Bay’s 30,000 Islands Biosphere Reserve and it’s certainly disappointing to hear that your experience was not 100% enjoyable. It sounds like you come to Parry Sound regularly so please give us one more chance to impress you, perhaps on one of our Festival of Sound sunset musical cruises. Once again, thank you for your feedback. We do appreciate it.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Island Queen Cruise also viewed

Parry Sound, Northeastern Ontario
Parry Sound, Northeastern Ontario
 
Parry Sound, Northeastern Ontario
Parry Sound, Northeastern Ontario
 

Been to Island Queen Cruise? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing