We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! You come to us for reviews — now you can book your hotel right here on TripAdvisor.

“Excellent value” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Travellers Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Travellers Hotel
Ranked #8 of 19 Hotels in Parry Sound
Sault Ste. Marie, Canada
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Excellent value”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2013

Not a destination hotel, but a very clean, very comfortable, with a full, hot breakfast included in the very reasonable price. Nice to see a family-run motel dong a good job. Would definitely stop here again.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank paula d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

97 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    28
    39
    11
    12
    7
See reviews for
23
41
3
11
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (24)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Brampton, Canada
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 9, 2013

We were on a family trip and needed to stop in Perry Sound and from the reviews we decided to stop at the Travelers Hotel. I'm glad we did, as the owners were very friendly and informative. The rooms were a good size, with flat screen TV's. The rooms were also very clean. The hotel is conveniently located, and close to the water. The breakfast at the restaurant located in the hotel is a must. I would recommend this hotel to everyone looking for a place to rest and looking to a good breakfast to start the day.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Mo1985
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gainesville, Virginia
Level Contributor
98 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 8, 2013

We chose this hotel, because the trek from Sault Ste Marie to Niagara was just too long and Parry Sound seemed like a good stopping off point. The one other hotel listed online that also took dogs in Parry Sound, Ontario was full.

Overall this hotel met our needs. We called ahead of time to arrange for traveling with small dogs in a portable kennel. The owner agreed, but seemed nervous about the pets. He quoted us $79 for the night. It seemed on par with other hotels we had been staying with and it was during the holiday weekend.

This hotel is located right in town and is close to a fitness park where one can walk their dogs and/or exercise right along the actual Sound. The park is near a Coast Guard Facility and the local people are friendly.

Upon check in, the owner was again nervous about the dogs. He asked if they had their own bedding/blankets, etc. We assured him they did. He charged us a $20 deposit on top of our hotel fee, which was to be refunded upon check-out if the room was undisturbed by the dogs. We were issued a second floor room, which was dated, but tidy and in fairly good working order.

The room was very clean and was equipped with a mini refrigerator, which showed some wear, but was in good working order, and a microwave. We also had a window unit air-conditioner, which efficiently cooled the entire room. In the bathroom, the faucet handle for the shower pulled straight off, leaving my husband and I with lukewarm showers. There was no way to adjust the temperature. The remaining metal post of the shower control would not turn. We mentioned it to the owner upon departure and it is likely fixed by now. There was free WiFi, but we needed to ask at the front desk after settling in for the password.

We did not sleep as well as we would have liked, because we were concerned about the owner's uneasiness about dogs. We used a lint roller just to be sure there was no dog hair lingering in the room. Our $20 pet deposit was fully refunded at check out.

This hotel offers a breakfast for $9.49. It included French Toast, Sausage, Bacon, and Coffee. It looked nice, with a clean dining room. However, being on a budget, we ate at a nearby coffee and home-cooked diner called Richard's Coffee, which was located at the local Greyhound stop with other eateries.

All things considered, I would stay here again, but not with pets. The owner, even though trying to be accommodating, was hesitant about pets.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jolene B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
22 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 31, 2013

Charming place ,check in was fast .Room is basic but very clean .Everything worked as it should The only thing missing was a hair dryer ,you have to go to the office and get one . The place is close to everything no need for a car at all .We will return for sure.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank silverlake2002
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maple, Canada
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2013

Stayed here based on a recommendation from a colleague and was more than happy. Our room was located on the main level which allowed us to park our car right outside our room. Parking is also free as is wifi. Our room had a flat screen tv, mini fridge, microwave and coffee maker. The furniture in the room is older and somewhat dated. The room was very clean and the service staff was always at our call. I would recommend this to anyone with a family, or anyone passing through. The breakfast at the restaurant was a great start to our morning. We will use this for our further stays and hope our experiences to come are as positive as this one.

Room Tip: Opt in for the breakfast, worth every penny.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tara M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lodz, Poland
Level Contributor
737 reviews
273 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 427 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2013

Travellers Hotel is basic venue, located in the centre of Parry Sound. There is free parking lot available in the front of the building. The room upstairs, we have got, was rather small, very tired and dated, but in fact, it was clean and all the facilities worked normally. Because of thin walls, it was sometimes noisy. The free Wi-Fi works very bad in the rooms and it`s better to go downstairs with your device. The breakfast room looks surprisingly good and they serve pretty good morning sets. The rate 110$ per double room incl.tax and breakfast.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank laserkid
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Parry Sound hotels

Innisfil, Canada
Level Contributor
38 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2013

I (we) Have not stayed here yet however on our next trip we will consider it . The place appears to be well run , clean and close to downtown and the dock area . They run a small restaurant great morning home cooked breakfast at reasonable cost , coffee is good as well .

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Dennis45_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Parry Sound hotels
1.5 mi away
Parry Sound Inn and Suites
Parry Sound Inn and Suites
#1 of 19 in Parry Sound
4.0 of 5 stars 400 reviews
1.3 mi away
Comfort Inn
Comfort Inn
#6 of 19 in Parry Sound
4.0 of 5 stars 118 reviews
5.7 mi away
Quality Inn and Conference Centre
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Bayside Inn
Bayside Inn
#3 of 19 in Parry Sound
4.5 of 5 stars 96 reviews
0.9 mi away
Canadas Best Value Inn & Suites
Canadas Best Value Inn & Suites
#11 of 19 in Parry Sound
3.0 of 5 stars 69 reviews
0.1 mi away
Knights Inn Parry Sound
Knights Inn Parry Sound
#13 of 19 in Parry Sound
2.5 of 5 stars 39 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Travellers Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Travellers Hotel

Property: Travellers Hotel
Address: 36 Mary St, Parry Sound, Ontario P2A 1E4, Canada
Location: Canada > Ontario > Northeastern Ontario > Parry Sound
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 19 Hotels in Parry Sound
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Travellers Hotel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 23
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in downtown Parry Sound, this hotel is minutes away from the beach and all major attractions. Quiet and comfortable Travellers provides you with all your hospitality needs. All rooms come with fridge, microwaves and coffee maker. Expect high quality and value when choosing Travellers for your hospitality needs! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, Travelocity, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Travellers Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Travellers Hotel Parry Sound, Ontario

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing