We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“Nice quiet, quaint property just minutes from town” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Ell Mar Motel

Ell Mar Motel
We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Parry Sound
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Ell Mar Motel
Ranked #10 of 19 Hotels in Parry Sound
Innisfil, Canada
Level Contributor
18 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Nice quiet, quaint property just minutes from town”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 12, 2013

We were going to stay only one night, but liked it so much, we ended up staying for two.
Our room had two queen beds (very comfy!), kitchenette with small fridge, microwave, kettle and toaster, plates, cutlery and everything else you would need in a kitchen. There is a deck out back with a small bbq which was great for our steak dinner! There is no hot plate but we were able to cook everything easily on the bbq. The back deck over looks the river and it is so peaceful, we actually left our back door open so we could listen to it all night.
The room is decorated very "cottagey". A few burn marks on the carpets, but really no big deal. The rooms are non-smoking, but maybe they used to be? I am allergic to smoke and had no problem whatsoever, so they have obviously done a great job converting them to non-smoking. The room was spotless!
Julie and Paul are fantastic hosts! We are definitely staying here next time we are in Parry Sound!

Room Tip: Get a room with the balcony facing the river
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank weenerx65
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

5 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2
    2
    0
    1
    0
See reviews for
1
4
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Winnipeg, Canada
Level Contributor
17 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 126 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 29, 2012

We arrived quite late in the evening and stopped at this motel simply because it was on the way... and boy, were we surprised! The rooms are large, decorated in a gorgeously vintage way, and had a fridge and microwave. The backyard was large with a deck and a river rushing past, which gave you a feeling that you were in a cabin in the woods. There was even a BBQ available for guest usage. The owners are delightfully nice and down to earth. Although the price we paid for one night is roughly equal to what we would have paid to stay in an average chain hotel, this place has personality and spirit that those hotel chains lack. The next time we are in Parry Sound, we would definitely stay at this motel again!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Kara O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canada
Level Contributor
66 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 23, 2012

Some of the rooms here are in very bad condition. We had to be moved because the room had not been cleaned properly and the bathroom door would not close. The next room looked o.k. but felt dirty. I got out the extra pillow from the drawer and there was a stain on it. Too many details are overlooked at this one. A nice babbling brook in the back was the only nice thing about it. We had a very hard time getting the old Air Conditioner to work.

Room Tip: Go and look at the room before you make a decision.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank souldreamers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ontario, Canada
Level Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 25, 2011

The motel is nicely decorated even if you're are not going to stay there I would recommend to drop by just to take a few pictures. Other that that rooms are clean, not expensive, owners are very nice people. make you feel at home. I would stay there again if I need a place to stay in that area.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank eseliv
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Port Severn, Canada
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 30, 2011

Ell Mar is unique. Alot of personal touch has gone into the cute, quaintness of this motel. Very clean and comfortable with your own personal BBQ, if you wish to use it. All rooms are non-smoking but you have an ashtray and chairs just outside your door, if you happen to be a smoker. Owners are very friendly, personable people.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank wendymckee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Parry Sound hotels
0.0 mi away
Quality Inn and Conference Centre
0.0 mi away
Sunny Point Resort, Cottages & Inn
0.0 mi away
Parry Sound Inn and Suites
Parry Sound Inn and Suites
#2 of 19 in Parry Sound
4.0 of 5 bubbles 422 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Chalet Rosemarie
Chalet Rosemarie
#1 of 1 in Nobel
4.5 of 5 bubbles 24 reviews
0.0 mi away
Bayside Inn
Bayside Inn
#1 of 19 in Parry Sound
4.5 of 5 bubbles 107 reviews
0.0 mi away
Comfort Inn
Comfort Inn
#7 of 19 in Parry Sound
4.0 of 5 bubbles 128 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ell Mar Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ell Mar Motel

Property: Ell Mar Motel
Address: Oastler Park Drive R.R. # 2, Parry Sound, Ontario P2A 2W8, Canada
Location: Canada > Ontario > Northeastern Ontario > Parry Sound
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 19 Hotels in Parry Sound
Number of rooms: 20
Also Known As:
Ell Mar Motel Parry Sound, Ontario

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing