We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A pleasant surprise.”
Review of Bayside Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Bayside Inn
Ranked #1 of 19 Hotels in Parry Sound
Certificate of Excellence
Toronto, Ontario, Canada
Level 5 Contributor
67 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“A pleasant surprise.”
Reviewed November 27, 2012

Spent one night at the Inn on business. Very comfortable room, nicely furnished with WiFi. Had a very nice breakfast cooked by the Innkeeper Jeff. Would stay again when in the area. Very reasonably priced for two persons.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Richard U
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

117 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    78
    31
    8
    0
    0
See reviews for
25
54
8
16
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (31)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Toronto, Canada
Level 4 Contributor
36 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed October 9, 2012

I had a pleasant, bright, quiet room. The inn was a a good place for my overnight stop and I will come back when I need to stay in the area. Bed was comfortable with nice bedding.
Innkeeper was friendly and helpful.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Vicentine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Timmins, Canada
Level 5 Contributor
73 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 99 helpful votes
Reviewed September 4, 2012

We spent two nights at the Bayside Inn recently, and we were left with a very good impression of this small hotel. We got the suite, to accommodate two adults + two young children (ages 3 & 8), which was good size, if a bit tight once we pulled out the sofa-bed. I'm not sure we would have been very comfortable if we had to spend a lot of time there with the kids, luckily the weather was amazing during our stay and we didn't spend more than an hour of awake-time in the room. The bathroom was small, but looked clean. We liked the room decor and furniture a lot - clean, sleek lines, no nonsense - it gave the place a very good feel.

Now, there is definitely some room for improvement. We were NOT blown away by the breakfast offered. Wonderbread (even if it's multigrain) and fruit spread don't make an impressive breakfast. No pastry or was on offer. The eggs took very long, as the owner was trying to cook, take phone calls, make reservations and take care of check-out all at the same time; and when the long-awaited eggs finally came there was nothing special to them. So really, nothing worth remembering food-wise, an I would recommend eating elsewhere. Also, there was some dust in our room. When my husband moved the curtains I could smell the dust, and they made him sneeze a few times when he was opening the window. The comforter we got for the sofa-bed had some strange stains that made me uncertain if it had been washed after the last guests. Other than that, the overall feeling in the room was that of a clean and well taken care of space.

The one disadvantage that can not be improved on, is the train rail running just outside the hotel. Our room was overlooking directly the rails. On our first night we opened the window to ventilate the room, but we were awaken a few times during the night by the train passing 200 feet from our window. For the second night we shot the windows, closed the curtains and turned on the AC, and we didn't wake up once. So I guess there is a solution to this nuisance, unless a person is very sensitive to noise.

Overall I would recommend this lovely hotel.

Room Tip: Ask for a room facing away from the train rails.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Bringing_the_kids
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Ontario, Canada
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed August 10, 2012

Pros:

This is a small, B+B-type hotel (though the owners do not live on the premises). It seems to be a converted house. We had a king-sized bed in one of the attic rooms. The room was small, but super clean and very well appointed for its size. There was a bar fridge, writing desk and chair, two small club chairs, clock radio, ironing board and iron and blow dryer (which had a small nightlight on it - which came in handy as the room was very dark with the shades down).

I was traveling with our two children (ages 7 and 9) and though there was no cot available, there was a blow-up mattress that the kids fought over (!). I must say that the king bed was very comfortable!

Towels in the bathroom was amazing - thick and very absorbent (not at all thin, as you get in most hotels). Clearly new.

The hotel was conveniently located to both the main strip in Parry Sound and the waterfront.

There is complimentary coffee and tea in the dining room in the morning. They also serve breakfast and a continental breakfast (though we ended up going to Lil's on the main street).

Cons (though they were not make-it or break-it issues):

There was one small operable window in the room, and even thought the temperature was cool outside, the air did not circulate very well in the room. There was a window A/C unit however. There is no access to outside from the room (i.e. balcony). The room overlooked a street and railway tracks.

There was one train that went passed at 1:00 p.m. on Thursday and a second train that went by at 6:30 a.m. Friday morning. With the A/C going and if you are in a deep enough sleep, the train shouldn't bother you that much. There was another train that went by at 7:11 a.m.

As it is a small house-type dwelling, it is not an ideal location for kids. I was constantly being mindful of the noise level from both the kids and the tv. (Not that the kids were overly loud - just typical 7 and 9 year olds). This proved to be frustrating for both myself and, I am sure the kids. With no amenities in the building and other guests in such close proximity, it was tough to entertain them. (It was raining throughout our entire stay and it was hard to keep them quiet and occupied. There is a movie theatre in town which was playing two adult-themed movies). The owners did in fact mention that they do not get many children staying there - which is understandable.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sydjake
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tillsonburg, Canada
1 review
Reviewed August 6, 2012

My husband, daughter and I stayed at this hotel over the August long weekend. It was very relaxing. The hotel is beautifully decorated and the rooms have ultra-comfy beds that you wish you could take home with you. The owner, Jeff, is friendly and very knowledgable about the Parry Sound area. We will be returning.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 5LoveTravelling
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orono, Canada
Level 5 Contributor
72 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed June 28, 2012

This is one of my favorite places to stay. We've gone twice now and it's so relaxing. It is a small inn with 12 rooms which also serves breakfast in a common room if you'd like. The decor is great, the beds and linens are top notch, the food is great and the owner seems like he's known you his whole life. You can walk down to the waterfront in a few minutes to all the restaurants and shops and take in the view. A great value for your money! I will definitely return.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MitchB62
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Moline, Illinois
Level 3 Contributor
23 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed June 24, 2012

My husband and I stayed here for our first trip to Parry Sound. The rooms make you feel like you are at home and they are very clean. We had never stayed in a bed and breakfast before this, so I was a little nervous, but we loved it! if we ever make it back this way we will stay here again.

Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank MC773
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Parry Sound
1.5 mi away
Parry Sound Inn and Suites
Parry Sound Inn and Suites
#3 of 19 in Parry Sound
437 reviews
1.3 mi away
Comfort Inn
Comfort Inn
#6 of 19 in Parry Sound
147 reviews
5.6 mi away
Super 8 Parry Sound
Super 8 Parry Sound
#13 of 19 in Parry Sound
137 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
22.6 mi away
JW Marriott The Rosseau Muskoka Resort & Spa
5.3 mi away
Grand Tappattoo Resort
Grand Tappattoo Resort
#7 of 19 in Parry Sound
76 reviews
1.0 mi away
Town & Country Motel
Town & Country Motel
#5 of 19 in Parry Sound
64 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bayside Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bayside Inn

Property: Bayside Inn
Address: 10 Gibson St, Parry Sound, Ontario P2A 1W7, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > Ontario > Northeastern Ontario > Parry Sound
Amenities:
Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Family Hotel in Parry Sound
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Bayside Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 12
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Bayside Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bayside Inn Parry Sound, Ontario

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing