We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“NICE SURPRISE -23 June 2013” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Shanloon

Shanloon
Ranked #37 of 74 Restaurants in Pembroke
Cuisines: Chinese, Asian
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Seating, Takeout
Restaurant details
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Seating, Takeout
New Glasgow, Canada
Level Contributor
83 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 325 helpful votes
“NICE SURPRISE -23 June 2013”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 7, 2013

For a change of menu during our stay in Pembroke we decided to take in a Chinese Restaurant. We were surprised to see the items that were on display for the regular buffet meal. Everything that can be imagined was available to excite your taste buds. We have been to other Chinese Buffet restaurants but the variety that was available at Shanloon's was surprising. The cost of the meal was roughly $13.50 for an all you can eat Buffet. On that day it was fairly quiet however I would think that later on in the evening it would be quite busy. Good service and good food attract a number of people.....if you do decide on trying out this wonderful Chinese experience....then expect that you are going to over indulge.....you will not be disappointed. You must give it a try....enjoy!

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank Wally389
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

22 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    4
    8
    5
    4
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Ottawa, Canada
Level Contributor
58 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 107 helpful votes
“New & Improved!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 9, 2013

The Shanloon has been renovated. It looks more modern and clean. The food as always, was excellent. Hot and fresh and delicious. We order take out from this restaurant as well and have never been disappointed. There are cheaper Chinese buffets around but this one is worth the few dollars more for the quality of the food.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Ceilidhe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pembroke, ON
Level Contributor
43 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Good buffet”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 8, 2013

A small but decent chinese buffet. Food is brought out in smaller quantities so it stays fresh longer. When items run low they are replenished quickly. Stick with the lunch menu since it's cheaper and the supper menu doesn't really add many items to justify the additional cost. Their takeout is reasonably priced and offers the choice of individual meals or family style.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Sabrina D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa, Canada
Level Contributor
66 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Great Buffet, clean fresh food”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 3, 2013

I stop here about once a month for lunch. A little pricey but the food is always fresh and good. We normally go for lunch I would not spend the money for the evening or weekend buffet. I have never ordered off the menu.

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
Thank hockymamma13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
“Chinese food mmmm good”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 1, 2013

They offered a variety of chinese dishes.If one is not sure what to choose the buffet is the right way to go.Lots to choose there and you can even go back for seconds

Helpful?
Thank Joseph L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Shanloon also viewed

 

Been to Shanloon? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing