We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Stay here,if you want bad attitude and lousy wifi”
1 of 5 bubbles Review of Comfort Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Comfort Inn
Ranked #3 of 11 Hotels in Pembroke
Belleville, Canada
Level Contributor
43 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Stay here,if you want bad attitude and lousy wifi”
Reviewed November 20, 2013

I am a platinum level member of choice hotels group, which only means that I am well aware of what to expect in a Comfort Inn; ie both the good and the bad.
BUT this particular location is the absolute worst!!!
I had stayed here before and wasn't happy, but thought it was an aberration as the property supposedly has won awards from the choice group, but second time was NOT the charm.
The people that work at the front desk are some of the rudest and most arrogant hotel employees it has ever been my misfortune to have to deal with.
The hotel does not provide breakfast, and when I asked, I was told...oh we have a coupon for the restaurant next door. If I didn't ask?? I declined, so I do not know if it was a discount or a free meal, either way I was not happy. All I wanted was a muffin and a coffee; especially considering this property is priced higher than most Comfort INN
I was driving a medium duty truck and was directed to park behind the restaurant next door, even though their lot only had a handful of cars. This leads me to believe the two businesses are jointly owned and the motel is driving business to the restaurant for breakfast.
No newspaper was provided.
Express checkout was not handled properly and when I asked to have it corrected the snooty manager at the front desk told me I was already checked out and nothing could be done to help me. I guess my displeasure was obvious and she said "have an amazing day"
Last but not least the wifi is so slow here it is unbelievable..think dial-up 1997
literally McDonalds free service is way way way better

Room Tip: stay at the Best Western or Holiday Inn or Travelodge if you are in Pembroke
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank John B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jody H, General Manager at Comfort Inn, responded to this review, November 21, 2013
On behalf of my entire team I would like to apologize for failing to exceed your expectation your last 2 stays. Your satisfaction is important to us and most importantly with your Platinum status as hotels, especially Choice Hotels are your home.

In 2014, our hotel will go through a major renovation with an addition of a breakfast room on property. It is my hope that you will re-consider staying with us again when you visit Pembroke so that we have a chance to make a first impression.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

143 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    53
    54
    16
    11
    9
See reviews for
33
33
7
42
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (35)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Waterloo
Level Contributor
10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed October 28, 2013 via mobile

This hotel has everything you could need - great location, affordable, friendly staff, clean, comfortable rooms, and a $5 voucher for breakfast each morning you are there. I stayed at this hotel with 10 people and we all agreed that we would return!

Stayed October 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Natalie R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CustomerServiceLove, General Manager at Comfort Inn, responded to this review, November 8, 2013
Thank you so much for taking the time to write this review. I will definately share this with our team- Next year we are excited to share that we will be renovated and for the first time have a breakfast on property. We hope to see you back to share in our excitement!

Yours in Hospitality,

Jody
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Germany
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed September 26, 2013

had a great stay! The hotel is nice, the rooms comfy and clean and we got a $ 5 voucher for breakfast in the roadhouse next door. The staff was super nice! Pembroke is nice as a town. You need a car to go places though.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Helpful?
2 Thank F V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CustomerServiceLove, General Manager at Comfort Inn, responded to this review, November 8, 2013
Those 3 words definately explain the Comfort Inn Pembroke and what we strive for- Thank you so much for taking the time to write this review. I noticed that you mentioned the $5 breakfast coupons for the breakfast next door. What i would love to share is that we will be renovated next year and will be able to offer you breakfast on property. Stay tuned and share in our excitement- Sure hope to see you back real soon!

Yours in Hospitality,

Jody Higgins
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Whitby, Canada
Level Contributor
36 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed September 23, 2013

We were here for an overnight with a few riders and it was a very nice, clean, comfortable hotel! Yes the decor may be a bit dated but it was well kept and did not take away from our enjoyment! Isnt that what its all about?! The front desk handled check in professionally and always with a smile, eventhough there was a huge line up! I am picky about the beds at any hotel I stay in but this was quite comfortable and LOVE the pillows! Had a great night sleep! It was perfect waking up with a Keurig coffee machine at your disposal! Brilliant!! No messing with pots, etc! Wish we had more time to play a round of mini golf, if the weather had cooperated! Oh and yes....the little rubber ducky in the bathroom was priceless! Instantly put a smile on my face after a long day! Thanks Nicole for keeping the unit clean! Would definitely stay here again when in the area!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Green146
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CustomerServiceLove, General Manager at Comfort Inn, responded to this review, November 8, 2013
This review brought a smile to my face as I could almost hear you as i read the review. I was quick to share this with the front desk and Nicole. Thank you for choosing the Comfort Inn Pembroke and I really hope you visit us again real soon. The exciting news is that we will be renovated in the early parts of 2014. Stay tuned for pictures and updates as you will find rooms renovated and a breakfast room on property.

Thanks again for the smiles

Yours in Hospitality,

Jody Higgins
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Forest, Virginia
Level Contributor
302 reviews
70 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 102 helpful votes
Reviewed September 9, 2013

This is an older hotel. Period. Nothing is renovated or new. It is fine for a one-night stay and is in a good location in Pembroke. The morning/afternoon front desk staff was wonderful. They were very friendly and accomodating. The rooms and bathrooms were clean.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank adharris0915
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CustomerServiceLove, General Manager at Comfort Inn, responded to this review, November 8, 2013
Thank you so much for writing this review-

Dear Guest,
I can't wait for you to see the something special that is going to be coming to the Comfort Inn Pembroke in the early months of 2014. All rooms will be renovated, we will be 100% smoke free and have a breakfast room on property.
Stay tuned all websites will be updated as soon as this happens.

Yours in Hospitality,

Jody Higgins
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Meaford Ontario
Level Contributor
24 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed September 3, 2013

This hotel is so unique that it has a pet friendly park right out back! They were extremely accommodating for my semi-physically disabled pet, by giving us a room on the first floor, so that my dog who can't do stairs was able to just walk out the sliding doors to the back park. The hotel was very clean, grounds are kept immaculate, the pillows were like heaven to rest your tired well travelled heads. They even gave us large doggy cookies at arrival. If you have pets, rest assured they will feel just like home at this hotel. Too many features to include. If ever travelling back to Pembroke again, this will definitely be where we will be staying! Thanks so much to the staff for all their help, and extra care taken.

Room Tip: Oops sorry they don't have a pool but it was impossible to erase the rating. They also don't...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank nuttyelvis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CustomerServiceLove, General Manager at Comfort Inn, responded to this review, November 8, 2013
Thank you so much for taking the time to write this wonderful review.
We are definately a pet friendly hotel and I know that there was quite a few that fell in love with yours.
Pets are apart of alot of families and we're more than happy to welcome them here at the Comfort Inn Pembroke.
Sure hope to see you again real soon!

Yours in Hospitality,

Jody Higgins
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winnipeg
2 reviews
Reviewed July 30, 2013

We dropped in and asked for a room after a full day of driving and were told that no rooms were available, at the Comfort Inn as well as all other hotels/motels in Pembroke. Lady working at the front dest was very helpful and friendly and phoned to several hotels in Ottawa, eventually securing us a room! Thanks from 2 weary travellers!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank hrmackie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Heretoserve, General Manager at Comfort Inn, responded to this review, August 2, 2013
Wow! You are very special people. We didn't have a roon, couldn't find a room locally, and had to send you all the way to Ottawa after driving all day...and took the time and effort to thank us on trip advisor. I am amazed. Thank you so much for appreciating the little extra's that we believe is part of service even if we can't serve you. We've never been thanked before. Thank you for making our day!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Pembroke
2.2 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Pembroke
2.3 mi away
BEST WESTERN Pembroke Inn & Conference Centre
1.2 mi away
Econo Lodge Pembroke
Econo Lodge Pembroke
#6 of 11 in Pembroke
84 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.5 mi away
Colonial Fireside Inn
Colonial Fireside Inn
#8 of 11 in Pembroke
27 reviews
9.7 mi away
Quality Inn & Suites
Quality Inn & Suites
#1 of 2 in Petawawa
148 reviews
10.8 mi away
Petawawa River Inn & Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Comfort Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Comfort Inn

Property: Comfort Inn
Address: 959 Pembroke St E, Pembroke, Ontario K8A 3M3, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > Ontario > Pembroke
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 11 Hotels in Pembroke
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Comfort Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 60
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The newly renovated Comfort Inn Pembroke is 100% smoke free. All guest rooms have a 32 inch flat screen television, refrigerator, microwave, wireless internet, hair dryer, coffee maker, iron and board. Ground floor rooms have patio door access. Enjoy a complimentary breakfast in the new breakfast room. Items include eggs, bacon or sausage, freshly made waffles, yogurt, fresh fruit, assorted breads and cereal, juice, coffee and tea. The only hotel overlooking the Ottawa River in Pembroke, The Pembroke Comfort Inn offers a large back yard for you to relax in. Putt 9 holes, BBQ your dinner or just lounge on our sundeck and enjoy the sun. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotwire, Choice Hotels, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Travelocity, Booking.com, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Comfort Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Comfort Hotel Pembroke
Comfort Inn Pembroke, Ontario
Pembroke Comfort Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing