We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great customer service”
Review of Comfort Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Comfort Inn
Ranked #3 of 11 Hotels in Pembroke
Certificate of Excellence
Elliot Lake, Canada
Level Contributor
20 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Great customer service”
Reviewed September 2, 2012

Nice facility, clean rooms - no restaurant was our only disappointment. On the plus side, you get a coupon for a nice restaurant just down the road. Front desk staff were friendly and accommodating in moving us quickly to another room when other guests got noisy in adjoining rooms. Follow up from the Management via email was unexpected and over the top to ensure we were not left with a less than stellar experience. The noise was not the fault of the Inn (just children being children) so the apology and extras offered were above and beyond. This place cares about its customers.
Not sure if there was a pool or not - we just wanted to sleep well and we did! (May 2012)

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Paks D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Heretoserve, General Manager at Comfort Inn, responded to this review, September 4, 2012
Thank you so much for your comments and support. We do sincerely care about our guests and it is so very rewarding for all of us when we receive positive comments - especially on such a public forum as Trip Advisor.

I wish we could offer breakfast on site. Nothing is impossible. Perhaps in the not too distant future we will have this dream come true. In the meantime we are delighted you enjoyed your breakfast at Fresco's. We hear such positive comments.

We look forward to the opportunity to serving you again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

144 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    53
    54
    16
    12
    9
See reviews for
33
34
7
42
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (35)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Montreal, Quebec, Canada
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed July 22, 2012

We stayed at the Comfort Inn last night as we were in town for a friend's wedding. The entire experience from booking, to check in (which we were able to do early, allowing us to change before the wedding after driving several hours) to our stay was excellent. We were well taken care of by Jody, and we were very happy with the room. We also got breakfast coupons for a restaurant down the road when we checked out.

Room Tip: We stayed on the river side - there was a nice view and they have a mini putt course out behind the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank amanada11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Heretoserve, General Manager at Comfort Inn, responded to this review, July 31, 2012
Thank you so much for your kind words. After reading I immediately jumped up and gave Jody and big Hi5. We are very fortunate at our hotel to have such great team members and Jody does an outstanding job as Service Team Leader. We appreciate the time you took to let us know you were pleased with our performance. It means alot to all of us. We receive many compliments about our hotel and our team but very few written words of praise. On behalf of all of us - thank you for taking the time to make our job feel even more meaningful.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pembroke, Canada
1 review
Reviewed July 18, 2012

I am currently in the comfort inn right now with my family, I am so angry because the smell is so potent, I have a migraine headache, both of my children are stuffed up and my husband has been sneezing and blowing his nose since we got here, what ever happen to no smell policy? smelly oils in a jar with sticks should not be allowed in the rooms, we took ours down to the front desk. Sent sprays in the stairwell that is not ventilated should not be allowed as well, this is bull and I should not have to pay for this stay.

Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank Tara W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Heretoserve, General Manager at Comfort Inn, responded to this review, July 25, 2012
Tara W, please contact me at the hotel. I would truly like to discuss your concerns with you. We have never been in the habit of spraying our stairwells. I apologize. The only product we use in the stairwells is Windex for the glass doors and windows and hot water and soap for the floors and walls.
The oil scent you found in your room is several years old and should have been removed long ago. They were only used for a brief time in the smoking rooms but we will make a clean sweep of the hotel tomorrow to make sure none remain. I am truly sorry we overlooked your room.
We are very proud of our housekeepers who are very diligent and use cleaners modestly. Several of our team members have asthma so we are sensitive to the needs of both our guests and our team members when cleaning the rooms. Our products are mild but effective. They are automatically watered down through the dispensing system. We did have a complaint earlier in the year and had the company adjusted the dispensing system. Yours is the first concern we’ve heard expressed so we will be diligent to ensure our products are all properly adjusted.
Just to let you know, that when a guest making a reservation expresses a sensitivity to smell, we clean their rooms with only hot water and a small amount of liquid soap. It is impossible to remove all smells. We must wash the linens and rugs…and so forth. But we do try our very best. This is why I would appreciate hearing from you. I would like some more information, especially since your concern was never recorded in our log book. The management team wants to ensure that we are addressing concerns immediately and with positive results.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cobourg
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed July 14, 2012

Great stay, they had dog treats for our dog, can you believe great coffee in the room! Nice area to walk around outside, great pillows, very clean, very friendly people, would go back for sure if we are ever out that way again.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank thebigbaboo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Heretoserve, General Manager at Comfort Inn, responded to this review, July 17, 2012
Thank you so much for your review of our hotel. It is so rewarding to receive such positive comments to share with the team. When you stay with us next please introduce yourself to myself or Jody. We'd love to impress you again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa, Ontario
Level Contributor
138 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 97 helpful votes
Reviewed June 19, 2012

The afternoon we arrived we were greeted at the front desk by Jay R. (he was professional, kind and could not do enough for our tired gang). He allowed us to park under the front awning so we could keep our bikes from getting soaked. He ensured our rooms were perfect by giving us a call shortly after we had arrived to ensure all was well. The treat of breakfast coupons was a welcomed aded touch.
Yes we would stay again -only thing coffee in rooms not great taste.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank vandenheja
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, General Manager at Comfort Inn, responded to this review, June 21, 2012
Thank you so much for your kind comments - JR has earned special recognition which is very rewarding for him and our team. JR personifies the spirit of our team - putting ourselves in our guest shoes to understand what needs they may have.

We have just installed new Keurig machines in every room and I am sincerely hoping this is not the coffee blend you are speaking about. There are so many choices it's hard to choose a particular flavour for every guest. We do however have regular coffee in our Great Day Cafe room that seems to be enjoyed by most. AND you get real creamers!

Again, thank you so much for your words of appreciation and praise for JR - we are very proud of him as well as the other members of our team.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa, Canada
Level Contributor
110 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed June 3, 2012

Rooms clean, TV's have been upgraded to flat screen. But for the price for 1 night with the option to pay more to stay on a ground floor room, very pricey. The cost of ground floor was $10.00 plus per night compared to second floor, since when does it cost more to go up a flight of stairs. When I used to stay at this hotel a couple of years ago, there was no extra charge for ground floor accomodations. After all it is not a patio outside of your ground floor room, it is patio doors leading to your parking spot. Micro and fridge in rooms. Decor is dated and check in very slow each time I have stayed here. Pillows on Queen size bed a little on the small side. I think it may be time to try another hotel in the Pembroke area, this hotel is costly compared to options available at others in the area.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JJ1959
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, General Manager at Comfort Inn, responded to this review, June 21, 2012
I would be so disappointed if we lost your business. Please let me address your concerns. Of the five hotels in our area, Best Western, Travelodge, Econolodge, Quality Hotel Petawawa and ourselves, we are conservatively priced. Econolodge is always the lowest price to be frank and we don't try to compete rate wise with full service hotels. They have amenities we can not offer. There use to be a $10 difference between ground and second to compensate for our lack of elevator, but it was changed to $5 back in May. I am always curious when we are described as dated since all our rooms have microwaves and fridges (unique in our area), Keurig Coffee makers, flat screens and so forth. Choice Hotels has just rolled out a new bedding program which will not be available until the end of December so until then we can't really do much about our bedding until they can manufacture sufficient qualities to supply our Canadian hotels. The two things we believe really set us apart in our area is the cleanliness of our rooms and the quality of service we offer. We do sincerely care about the satisfaction of each and every guest in our hotel. If you would please take a moment to contact me personally at cn289@whg.com, I am sure together we can resolve any concerns you have to your complete satisfaction. We want you to be happy and enjoy the time you spend with us. Thank you for your comments - we can't address what we don't know and truly appreciate you taking the time to let us know.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sarnia, Ontario
Level Contributor
124 reviews
94 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 98 helpful votes
Reviewed March 19, 2012

Stayed at this hotel for one night during March break, booking the room based on it's #1 rating with Trip Adviser, and the fact that management often replied to reviews, suggesting to me they actually cared what people thought ! Our room was very clean, and fresh smelling, while the fridge and microwave were welcome additions in our room. During the summer, I'm sure this hotel has a beautiful view of the Ottawa river, and is close to many shopping and eating options. Travelling with my wife and daughter, their only complaint was the hotel shampoo which they both found to be substandard. My only issue was I found the $138.00 (taxes included) a little pricey. Overall, we enjoyed our experience at this hotel, found the staff friendly, and appreciated the $5.00 breakfast coupons for Frescos; a restaurant which is within walking distance, and worth visiting.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank SunSeekerRon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Heretoserve, General Manager at Comfort Inn, responded to this review, March 23, 2012
Thank you so much for taking the time to share your experience with us. Yes, we do sincerely care about everyone of our guests and getting feedback is essential for us to know what people enjoyed or where we need to improve. We have a wonderful team but we are always learning and growing. Thank you so much for your wonderful comments. The team will be excited when they read them. And we'd love to have you come back in the summer. Our gardens are legendary in town and our back yard has everything from a playhouse to mini golf, sun deck horseshoes and many other games. We have a guest BBQ and a beautiful patio. The view of the river of course, is sensational. Your comments have inspired us to run a special next March Break for "Kids on the Go". We'll make sure we create something special that everyone will enjoy.

We often hear that you can get a room cheaper in the GTA than you can in Pembroke, ON. Toronto has more supply than demand and when that happens, prices go down. In Pembroke thanks to Base Petawawa and Atomic Energy of Canada, along with our many businesses, we have more demand than supply. But you have inspired me. I am going to run a Managers Special on the days that it doesn't look like we are going to be full.

If you read this response I would love to have a phone call from you. Just ask for Marilyn.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Pembroke
2.2 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Pembroke
2.3 mi away
Best Western Pembroke Inn & Conference Centre
1.2 mi away
Econo Lodge Pembroke
Econo Lodge Pembroke
#6 of 11 in Pembroke
87 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.7 mi away
Quality Inn & Suites
Quality Inn & Suites
#1 of 2 in Petawawa
151 reviews
3.5 mi away
Colonial Fireside Inn
Colonial Fireside Inn
#9 of 11 in Pembroke
27 reviews
5.6 mi away
Time Travellers Motel
Time Travellers Motel
#5 of 11 in Pembroke
21 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Comfort Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Comfort Inn

Property: Comfort Inn
Address: 959 Pembroke St E, Pembroke, Ontario K8A 3M3, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > Ontario > Pembroke
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 11 Hotels in Pembroke
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Comfort Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 60
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The newly renovated Comfort Inn Pembroke is 100% smoke free. All guest rooms have a 32 inch flat screen television, refrigerator, microwave, wireless internet, hair dryer, coffee maker, iron and board. Ground floor rooms have patio door access. Enjoy a complimentary breakfast in the new breakfast room. Items include eggs, bacon or sausage, freshly made waffles, yogurt, fresh fruit, assorted breads and cereal, juice, coffee and tea. The only hotel overlooking the Ottawa River in Pembroke, The Pembroke Comfort Inn offers a large back yard for you to relax in. Putt 9 holes, BBQ your dinner or just lounge on our sundeck and enjoy the sun. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Choice Hotels, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotwire, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Comfort Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Comfort Hotel Pembroke
Comfort Inn Pembroke, Ontario
Pembroke Comfort Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing