We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very clean rooms & comfortable beds...little pricey.”
Review of Comfort Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Comfort Inn
Ranked #3 of 11 Hotels in Pembroke
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed March 19, 2012

Stayed at this hotel for one night during March break, booking the room based on it's #1 rating with Trip Adviser, and the fact that management often replied to reviews, suggesting to me they actually cared what people thought ! Our room was very clean, and fresh smelling, while the fridge and microwave were welcome additions in our room. During the summer, I'm sure this hotel has a beautiful view of the Ottawa river, and is close to many shopping and eating options. Travelling with my wife and daughter, their only complaint was the hotel shampoo which they both found to be substandard. My only issue was I found the $138.00 (taxes included) a little pricey. Overall, we enjoyed our experience at this hotel, found the staff friendly, and appreciated the $5.00 breakfast coupons for Frescos; a restaurant which is within walking distance, and worth visiting.

  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank SunSeekerRon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Heretoserve, General Manager at Comfort Inn, responded to this reviewResponded March 23, 2012

Thank you so much for taking the time to share your experience with us. Yes, we do sincerely care about everyone of our guests and getting feedback is essential for us to know what people enjoyed or where we need to improve. We have a wonderful team but we are always learning and growing. Thank you so much for your wonderful comments. The team will be excited when they read them. And we'd love to have you come back in the summer. Our gardens are legendary in town and our back yard has everything from a playhouse to mini golf, sun deck horseshoes and many other games. We have a guest BBQ and a beautiful patio. The view of the river of course, is sensational. Your comments have inspired us to run a special next March Break for "Kids on the Go". We'll make sure we create something special that everyone will enjoy.

We often hear that you can get a room cheaper in the GTA than you can in Pembroke, ON. Toronto has more supply than demand and when that happens, prices go down. In Pembroke thanks to Base Petawawa and Atomic Energy of Canada, along with our many businesses, we have more demand than supply. But you have inspired me. I am going to run a Managers Special on the days that it doesn't look like we are going to be full.

If you read this response I would love to have a phone call from you. Just ask for Marilyn.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (156)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

124 - 130 of 156 reviews

Reviewed February 23, 2012

For $130/night, this is nothing special. My room was clean, but a bit tired in decor. What's worse, there's no continental breakfast included. Why not? They do have a small kitchenette near the lobby, and I'm sure the basics (toast, fruit, cereal, juice) could be made available.

I'm underwhelmed.

  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jim W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Heretoserve, General Manager at Comfort Inn, responded to this reviewResponded March 12, 2012

Thank you for your comments. We do offer breakfast coupons - in fact we have increased the value to $5 to provide a nice hot breakfast at a nearby restaurant. These coupons are available on all our regular rates. Unfortunately we can not serve breakfast in our hotel due to some issues with the land purchase, but we've also added a $5 discount at a new fitness facility located nearby. Some of the rooms do have older furniture but it is in excellent condition and guests often comment our rooms are cosy. Many of our rooms have upgraded furniture and we will continue to work on our hotel. We are very proud that we offer mini/fridges and microwaves in 95% of our rooms, we have upgraded to flat screen TV's and we have upgraded our WIFI. The next time you stay with us please ask for one of our upgraded rooms - we'd love to delight you.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 18, 2012

We stayed at the Comfort Inn for one night in Feb 2012. This was a stopover night for us on our way to other places in Ontario. Our room was very clean and well maintained and although small it is a motel not a resort and therefore was exactly what we expected. The staff were very very friendly and gave us great advice about options for dinner that evening. We had dinner at the Bistro 900 (just across the road) which was delicious and fresh. Breakfast we had at Finnigans next door who make THE best pancakes in all of Ontario!!!

  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Bethie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Heretoserve, General Manager at Comfort Inn, responded to this reviewResponded March 12, 2012

What a pleasure to have you as our guest - all the way from Australia! Thank you for review. Yes we are a little select hotel overlooking the Ottawa River and while we may not have the 'bells & whistles' of a resort, we love working with people and I believe it shows with our guests. Thank you for touring our beautiful province and country. We hope your entire trip was delightful and you'll be able to return in years to come.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 30, 2012

My husband and I stayed here for 3 nights in Jan 2012, and I must say I am so glad we did.
We had a family emergency that brought us to Pembroke and we were arriving late at the hotel and I must say from the moment we arrived till we left the staff could not have been more accommodating if it was a 5star resort..actually the customer service and care we received was better that some 5star resorts we have stayed at.
The room was very nice, spotless, beds were very comfortable, flat screen satellite television and wireless access. Our room was on the first floor so unloading and loading are car was great as we were parked right outside our room and had double glass doors.
Because of the reasons for us being there the have what is called a "Compassionate Rate" so we got the room for a great price and even though they were booked up because of a hockey tournament in town when we needed to stay an extra night there was no issue and they even arranged for us not to have to change rooms.

Soooo....if you ever need to stay in Pembroke I would highly recommend this hotel it is pretty centrally located and the they have a very nice downtown area..oh and if you like pita's there is this little pita joint called the Pita Shack I highly recommend it they have the best BLT pitas in the world ...

Comfort Inn (CN289)

959 Pembroke St. E., Pembroke, ON, CA, K8A 3M3

Phone: [--]
Fax: [--]

Map/ Directions

  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank OceanboundCanada
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Heretoserve, General Manager at Comfort Inn, responded to this reviewResponded March 12, 2012

Thank you very much for your posting. Yes we do offer compassion rates for medical emergencies, visitation of the sick or elderly and funerals. Occasions such as these can be unsettling and our team is very sensitive to our guest’s needs. We also appreciate all your compliments on our hotel. Our housekeeping team is excellent. We are very proud to offer our rooms to guests with full assurance they will be fully satisfied with the cleanliness. We hope you’ll be back in the summer for a happier occasion and able to enjoy our many gardens and outdoor facilities. Thank you for being our guest!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 19, 2012

Marilyn has a team of dedicated employees that work very hard to make you happy and to enjoy your visit.

  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank BDV150650
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Heretoserve, General Manager at Comfort Inn, responded to this reviewResponded January 22, 2012

Your comments are sincerely appreciated. We do have a terrific team who are guest focused. Thank you for your loyalty and your comments.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 4, 2012

I could not believe the smell of the room we got. It was unbreathable, I do think it damaged my health. The girl at the desk could not "find" another room--even though the room we got was not the one we reserved online. I noticed some of the rooms were renovated but the one we got was tiny and stale. Unhealthy and expensive.

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank DonBog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marilyn A, Manager at Comfort Inn, responded to this reviewResponded January 13, 2012

Thank you for making us aware of this situation. Our cleaning supplies are from a very reputable commercial company. Usually the comment is how fresh and clean our rooms smell so we are surprised by your comment. We will definately review this with our Quality Assurance Manager to ensure our rooms continue to remain fresh smelling. Thank you again for taking the time to make us aware of this.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 27, 2011

No Breakfast, slow internet, and no elevator. My wife and I decided to stay at another hotel once we realized we were staying in a pet friendly room which smelled and were relocated to the second floor where we found ourselves between two hockey teams that were completely out of control in my opinion. We called the front desk and nothing was done about the noise . We changed hotels and were completely blown away when we received a better hotel at the same price with many more amenities and was 100% non-smoking.

Room Tip: ask for a room that is not pet friendly
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank John D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marilyn A, Manager at Comfort Inn, responded to this reviewResponded January 13, 2012

We are deeply sorry that your stay with us was a disappointment. It is true that we can not offer breakfast on site but we do offer a $3 breakfast coupon at two local restaurants. Apparently you were not offered this when you checked in. We have upgraded our WIFI we are happy to say. It is that we do not have an elevator. This is why we discount our second level rooms by $10 since it is an issue that cannot be fixed. During the month of November Pembroke hosts the Silver Stick Tournament and we are fortunate enough to be able to serve some of the teams. We do have security on from 6 pm to 2 am and he quickly tends to evening noise that is out of control so I am sincerely surprised to hear you comment that the issue was not attended to immediately. It is true that during the daytime we do not have security and maybe this is something we can look at next year. Yes, we are pet friendly in some rooms. We take exxtra measure to clean a pet friendly room which includes shampooing the rug and washing the comforter. Yes, we do offer a limited number of smoking rooms in an isolated corridor in our hotel to ensure we can accommodate individual needs. They may affect the satisfaction of some of our guests and we do sincerely apologize. We are glad you were able to find accommodation that suited you better but we would like to have another opportunity to serve you if you are in our area again. We take your comments very seriously and will review them at our monthly team meeting. Thank you for letting us know that you were disappointed. It is only through guest comments that we can improve.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Pembroke
2.2 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Pembroke
2.3 mi away
Best Western Pembroke Inn & Conference Centre
0.1 mi away
Clarion Hotel & Conference Centre
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Econo Lodge Pembroke
Econo Lodge Pembroke
#8 of 11 in Pembroke
91 reviews
9.7 mi away
Quality Inn & Suites
Quality Inn & Suites
#1 of 2 in Petawawa
165 reviews
10.9 mi away
Petawawa River Inn & Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Comfort Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Comfort Inn

Address: 959 Pembroke St E, Pembroke, Ontario K8A 3M3, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > Ontario > Pembroke
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 11 Hotels in Pembroke
Price Range: $91 - $126 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Comfort Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 60
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The newly renovated Comfort Inn Pembroke is 100% smoke free. All guest rooms have a 32 inch flat screen television, refrigerator, microwave, wireless internet, hair dryer, coffee maker, iron and board. Ground floor rooms have patio door access. Enjoy a complimentary breakfast in the new breakfast room. Items include eggs, bacon or sausage, freshly made waffles, yogurt, fresh fruit, assorted breads and cereal, juice, coffee and tea. The only hotel overlooking the Ottawa River in Pembroke, The Pembroke Comfort Inn offers a large back yard for you to relax in. Putt 9 holes, BBQ your dinner or just lounge on our sundeck and enjoy the sun. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Cancelon, HotelQuickly, TripOnline SA and getaroom.com so you can book your Comfort Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Comfort Hotel Pembroke
Comfort Inn Pembroke, Ontario
Pembroke Comfort Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing