We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“nothing special”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Best Western Pembroke Inn & Conference Centre
Ranked #1 of 11 Hotels in Pembroke
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed October 19, 2012

The only way to qualify my experience here is nothing special. The rooms were ok, and the staff were courteous. It is right off the highway, so if you need to get something to eat you will have to drive into town.

The restaurant at the hotel is not good. The food is expensive, and I found the meal to be disappointing. Save your money, and eat elsewhere!

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank guylaine l
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dale G, General Manager at Best Western Pembroke Inn & Conference Centre, responded to this reviewResponded November 5, 2012

Dear Guylaine l,

Thank you for your feedback, I have passed along your comments to the Restaurant Manager. We are about to begin major renovations throughout the hotel and restaurant, and we hope you will consider giving us another chance in the future once the work is complete. I would like to speak with you further about your experience, please feel free to contact me at the hotel at your convenience if you are willing to do so. Once again, thank you for your feedback, I hope we have a chance to better serve you in the future.

Kindest Regards,

Dale

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (340)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

266 - 272 of 340 reviews

Reviewed September 29, 2012

Friendly customer service. Reasonable prices. Clean comfortable rooms. My only negatives are that there is no in room Wi-fi, only a wired connection and although it is "high speed" it lags at times. Also i noticed that while using one of the stairs that the 2nd floor door was locked so we had to walk back downstairs and enter our floor through a different stair way. It's not the "best" of Best Western but still good.

Room Tip: Some rooms have a patio door to the pool but no windows to see outside.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Traveling_ppl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lorraine P, General Manager at Best Western Pembroke Inn & Conference Centre, responded to this reviewResponded October 1, 2012

Dear Guest.
Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel. Comments that we receive from our guests are invaluable tools we use to make improvements in our services. We are in the process of bringing in high speed wireless internet to the entire building. I do not have a completion date, but I believe it will be done this fall. I will look into the locked door issue, all doors to the hotel are locked at 10pm for security reasons, but your room key should allow you access. Thank you for bringing this to our attention. I hope you will visit us again, on your next trip to Pembroke and area.
Warm regards,
Lorraine

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 16, 2012

I booked two nights at the "best" western and didn't stay the night. there was one young woman working the front desk and although it was not her fault check-in took waaay too long. the lobby reeked of chlorine and the entire hotel was out of the 1800's. Room key didn't work, the basement stunk of mould (obvious water damage), no elevator to the basement rooms...the list goes on. the gym was great and the parking lot had been recently done. the one surprising thing was that within the hour i was there i could tell that the staff genuinely cared, housekeepers were great and the front desk did the best they could. would not recommend going there. they need a serious wake-up call.

Room Tip: travelodge on the main street is a beautiful hotel marble floors, great restaurant, pool, sauna, and...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lahey_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lorraine P, General Manager at Best Western Pembroke Inn & Conference Centre, responded to this reviewResponded September 18, 2012

Dear Guest,
Thank you for your kind words regarding the staff. All the staff try to provide the best customer care they are able to provide, and I am ver pleased that this shined throught in the short time you were with us. As you noticed, we are working on a complete renovation to the hotel, with the gym now almost complete and the parking lot done. The lobby will be started shorlty. With the changes planned with the lobby and pool area, we are hopeful this will elimiate the chlorine smell in the lobby. I am sorry to hear you did not stay as our guest, but I invite you to come back and see the impovements as we move forward. I will be sure to pass your comments onto the team.
Warm regards,
Lorraine

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 5, 2012

We booked the hotel through a toll free 1800 # and requested a queensized bed. The room was smelly: musty and dank as we were placed in the BASEMENT of the hotel. The room felt damp, unwelcoming and appeared to be forgotten in time. Everything from the sagging and stained couch to the worn carpet created an atmosphere of neglect. There were earwigs in the window well and hallway as well as in the change rooms at the pool. The restaurant and 'lounge' was styled with mismatched decor complete with lattice and fake potted plants. The food was non descript and coffee, terrible. Such a disappointment considering the price of 190.00 a night! I would rather drive through the night than stop at this hotel again.

  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SelectiveCustomer1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lorraine P, General Manager at Best Western Pembroke Inn & Conference Centre, responded to this reviewResponded September 18, 2012

Dear Guest,
Thank you for taking the time to write. I am slightly confused, and was hoping you might call the hotel directly, as I think you may have confused some parts of our hotel with another. Your response states you stayed in October of 2011, many things have changed since then. But we don't have change rooms in our pool area. The onsite restaurant and lounge have plants, but they are real plants and there is no lattice work in the building. Our restaurant has many positive comments on their food in general. We do have rooms on a lower level, that could have been damp, but our rates for those rooms are well below the $150.00 mark currently. We do acknowledge that the hotel is currenly outdated, and we are working on a full redesign. Please feel free to contact me direcly so we can talk about this more.
Warm regards,
Lorraine

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 30, 2012

Spent two days here as part of a driving holiday. The room was good and clean with comfortable beds.
The restaurant provided a good selection on menu for breakfast and dinner. The staff were friendly and helpful.
The car park was in the middle of extensive work to extend and resurface but this did not disturb us and there was adequate parking available.
The location was excellent for access to Highways and the town.
A good reasonably priced hotel

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank hmlhhf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lorraine P, General Manager at Best Western Pembroke Inn & Conference Centre, responded to this reviewResponded September 1, 2012

Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel. We are very pleased that the work on the parking area is now completed. We plan to do some work in the fall in the interior of the hotel. I look foward to your return, and your thoughts on the changes we will have made.
Warm regards,
Lorraine

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 26, 2012

Stayed here for one night in August.
This hotel is close to Hwy 17 with a truck stop resturant across the road. There are no resturants or stores in the area. It is a 10 min drive into downtown Pembroke. Depending on time of day and day of the week you head into town you may find everything closed, like we diid. ( includes resturants; 6pm on a Monday)
Room was okay, on third floor, tired looking; large with 2 sinks, fridge and microwave. The hotel has a pool and fitness centre which we did not use.
Staff are friendly and helpful.
Downside to this hotel; As you walk into the hotel lobby all you can smell is the chlorine from the pool. Our room faced the pool; had sliding glass door which opened onto a balcony which over looked the pool., meaning no privacy. There is no window in the room, so the only light you got was from the pool area. The room smelled of chloine, was hot and very stuffy, making it uncomfortable.
Pool opens early in the morning,( I believe 7am) making it noisey if you wish to sleep late.
Resturant- was provided with a coupon for free breakfast or $6.00 of menu price. Free breakfast is 2 eggs and toast, tea or coffee, not much of a choice. If hotel is going ot off a free breakfast at least give a choice.
Direction to hotel listed on their website not accurate if you are coming from Toronto. It says if coming from the west follow Hwy 60 to 41 but Hwy 60 does not come anywhere near the 401. Thank goodness we picked up on this earlier enough to get the right directions. Hotel needs to indicate on website better directions.
For a Best Western I am truley disappointed in this hotel. This is not up to their standards. It is differently not worth what they charge.
I would stay there again if it was only for 1 night; but would ask for a room away from the pool.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank catOntario
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lorraine P, General Manager at Best Western Pembroke Inn & Conference Centre, responded to this reviewResponded August 28, 2012

Dear catOntario,
Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel, the feedback from our guests in invaluable information we use to improve our services. We will most certainly look into the directions on the website, and have those directions made more clearly, again thank you for bringing this to our attention. We are currently working on several different plans and upgrades to our facilities, and will take your comments into consideration. I hope you will be able to visit us again, hopefully you will have more time to enjoy our indoor pool and our 6000 sq' full service fitness centre. I look forward to hearing how you like the changes as they are completed.
Warm regards,
Lorraine

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 19, 2012

i have stayed at this hotel twice. As a business traveller i need a reliable internet service, but the internet was so slow that i could not use my computer at all. In the so-called "Business Centre" in the main Lobby i found a note on each of the 2 computers that warned the user that they malfunction and suddenly cut the user off in the middle of an email. The room key did not work and every time i wanted to go to my room i had to take one of the hotel staff with me to open the door.

The rooms have cheap and horribly noisy heating/cooling units that sound like a tank is passing by. If you turn them off just so that you can actually sleep, then the room gets too hot or too cold and you cannot even open a window.The bathroom fan was a cheapy that rattled or maybe it was broken. I reported it to staff and they did not know which was the case, didn't seem to care much either. The restaurant is ok but relatively expensive. The front door of thehotel has no ramp for wheeling your suitcase in, a sign asks you to use the side door, when i went to the side door,i found there was no ramp there either. When i mentioned this to the staff at the front desk they shrugged and told me they are buildinga ramp at the back door but have not bothered updating their signage. Why should clients who need a ramp have to go all the way to the back door of the hotel ? To top it off the hotel is in the midle of nowhere, there are no stores or amenities anywhere in sight. For all that it is qute pricey.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ottawan_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lorraine P, General Manager at Best Western Pembroke Inn & Conference Centre, responded to this reviewResponded August 21, 2012

Dear Guest.
Thank you for taking the time to review out hotel. As a business traveller, we understand the growing dependance of access to the internet. We are working on bringing fibre optics to the hotel for the fall. We do currently have high speed internet in all our rooms via a hard wired internet cable. When installing this several years ago, this was the preferred choice due to the increased securtiy of hard wire over wireless. We are working on improvements to this service, as well as many others. Our wheelchair access is at the side of the hotel, we have just undergone a complete repaving of the back and side parking lot as well as the wheelchair ramp. Yes, our location is just off the main highway, we have a full service Restaurant, a full service fitness centre on site, as well as a full service truck stop with restaurant and convenience store across the street. I would be very interested in hearing, as a business traveler, what time of business or store would you like to see close to a hotel? We may be able to make suggestions to future developers! Please feel free to call me and we can discuss this futher. You can reach me at 613-735-2267. I look forward to hearing from you.
Many thanks,
Lorraine

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Pembroke
0.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Pembroke
2.3 mi away
Comfort Inn
Comfort Inn
#3 of 11 in Pembroke
156 reviews
2.2 mi away
Clarion Hotel & Conference Centre
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.6 mi away
Quality Inn & Suites
Quality Inn & Suites
#1 of 2 in Petawawa
165 reviews
2.3 mi away
Econo Lodge Pembroke
Econo Lodge Pembroke
#8 of 11 in Pembroke
91 reviews
3.4 mi away
Knights Inn Pembroke
Knights Inn Pembroke
#9 of 11 in Pembroke
29 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Pembroke Inn & Conference Centre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Pembroke Inn & Conference Centre

Address: 1 International Dr | ( just off the TransCanada Hwy # 17 ), Pembroke, Ontario K8A 6W5, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > Ontario > Pembroke
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 11 Hotels in Pembroke
Price Range: $132 - $168 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Best Western Pembroke Inn & Conference Centre 2.5*
Number of rooms: 88
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Ottawa Valley’s largest "All Indoor Recreational Hotel" and Conference Centre….with controlled & monitored indoor corridors, indoor tropical pool with whirlpool, 6000 Sq. Ft. Fitness Centre (free to hotel guests), dining and lounge, huge fireplace Lobby, and Conference Centre for 400 persons – all under one roof. The modern guest rooms are bright & spacious with most comfortable seating and beds, with many extra amenities including 32” LCD TVs. Room types include Leisure, Poolside, Fireplace, Executive suites, and full one bedroom suite. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Expedia, Agoda, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotwire, HotelQuickly, Cancelon, TripOnline SA and getaroom.com so you can book your Best Western Pembroke Inn & Conference Centre reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Pembroke Inn & Conference Centre Ontario
Pembroke Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing