We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Better than Mandarin!”
Review of Wasabi - CLOSED

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
Wasabi
Price range: $15 - $24
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Toronto, Canada
Level 5 Contributor
98 reviews
44 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
“Better than Mandarin!”
Reviewed August 21, 2013

I would rate this place somewhere between Mandarin, which has the most dreadful pseudo sushi possible, and Dragon Pearl, which has passable sushi & pretty decent sashimi as far as buffets go. As with all you can eat places, expect it to be crowded with annoying people that lack manners! Don't even bother with their desserts/cakes...waste of time & effort!

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank oogachaka
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

64 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    6
    15
    21
    12
    10
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Ottawa, Canada
Level 4 Contributor
36 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Not impressed especially for sushi”
Reviewed July 30, 2013

We went on a Saturday evening and waited only about 5 minutes for a table for two. The walk around buffet is pretty good. Decent selection but the freshly grilled choices were sporatic - on one pass there was korean beef ribs and on the next, none. Never did see any Tempura Shrimp. We ordered sushi from the waitress and it was terrible. They tasted like it was cooked & prepped in the morning & sat all day waiting for us. Most disappointing.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank E M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Victoria, Canada
Level 6 Contributor
265 reviews
204 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 103 helpful votes
“Average food but a good selection”
Reviewed July 4, 2013

My colleagues and I went here on a work lunch.
The location was good with ample parking. The staff was friendly and the decor was clean.
The food however, is mediocre. Standard dishes that didn't seem all that fresh. Even the 'cook to order' station seemed to use pre-cooked food, just reheating it.
The only redeeming quality was that there is a vast selection of food on the buffet.
My favourite was the shrimp.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank Ken M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Niagara-on-the-Lake, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Restaurant on decline...”
Reviewed March 14, 2013

This isn't my first time eating here. It was probably my 6th time over a course of ten years (when it first opened). I always remember how delicious it was eating the first few times early on. But because I live out-of-town, I can't frequently eat this restaurant. I was in town on business a few days ago and decided to try this restaurant once again, because the last time I ate here was 2 years ago and it was disappointing. My wife and I arrived at the restaurant, same decor, same non-functioning toilets, and same everything from over 10 years ago. The waitress was nice at the beginning with initial order but was never to be seen again over the course of the dinner. The sushi and sashimi we ordered came promptly. The fish seemed dried and tasteless, which made us wonder about the freshness of the fish. I decided to try my luck with the buffet, the selection was plentiful but the taste was very bland compared to many other Japanese restaurant we tried over the years. My conclusion for this restaurant is that the value is no longer there. For an all you can eat buffet restaurant you can CERTAINLY do better. I really wanted to enjoy this meal as my wife and I love seafood. But we can no longer recommend this restaurant to friends as we use to do in the past.

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank gngboy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“Good Quality All You Can Eat”
Reviewed January 23, 2013

At at Wasabi a few days ago and the food quality was good. There are however some minor issues:

Pros:
-food quality is good for sushi and sashimi
-lots of variety at buffet
-large place with good ambiance
-get reservations so you dont have to wait

Cons:
-pricey
-wait staff slow with sushi and sashimi orders, and seldom bring amount requested
-lots of deep fried and padded foods to fill you up
-long lines to be seated and wait times

All in all had a great time with family and frieds.

Would recommend this place.

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank mozillatraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Wasabi also viewed

 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing