We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Very Good” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Octagon Restaurant

The Octagon Restaurant
Ranked #3 of 439 Restaurants in Richmond Hill
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $0 - $99
Cuisines: Steakhouse, Canadian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Business meetings, Romantic, Large groups, Special occasions
Dining options: Lunch, Late Night, Dinner, Full Bar, Parking Available, Private Dining, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Valet Parking, Validated Parking, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Richmond Hill, Canada
Level Contributor
219 reviews
130 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
“Very Good”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 18, 2014 via mobile

The service is always good. The steaks and especially the ribs are excellent. Their desserts are also impressive.

Helpful?
Thank Alex H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

263 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    139
    67
    29
    19
    9
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
1 review
“Good service and best steak.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 17, 2014 via mobile

Best Steak I have ever eaten and good service.

It pays to eat there.

Don't forget to book before going to the restaurant.

Helpful?
Thank Peggy L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richmond Hill, Canada
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Old Boys Club Steakhouse”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 15, 2014

Everything one would expect from a downtown finance center steakhouse about 20 years ago. Waiters are respectful serious looking older men rather than the contemporary Keg style perky variety and the background music matches the wait staff perfectly-think English leather club chairs and fat cigars and you'll have the right idea. The Ceasar salad starter is fresh and garlicky and the crunch croutons promise many great things to come-but alas- it is beginning of a well told lie. The steak is perfectly cooked albeit lacking in any special or proprietary seasoning or treatments. It is a traditionally prepared selection of good quality beef. Full stop. Some of the more optimistic sorts might argue that this opportunity provides an excellent base from which to create a counterpoint of delicately and imaginatively prepared potato and vegetable medleys and I would agree-but sadly this is not the case. The chalky, edible innards of a baked potato peers out from its dirty shell like at any other steakhouse from days of yore requiring the triumvirate of taste-sour cream,chives and bacon bits- to justify it's banal existence at the table. Having bravely ignored centuries of culinary options and every herb in the garden this lack of imagination is breathtakingly surpassed only by the smattering of boiled garden veggies de jour which timidly peek out from under the edge of the potato in what I can only assume must be sheer embarrassment. I deflatedly reach for the salt and pepper and ask the waiter for 3 tabs of butter to see if I can remedy the situation quietly and perhaps rescue the meal from total oblivion. "More wine" I croaked thinking quietly to myself that perhaps here indeed was a day more destined for drinking than eating. The wine I should point out, remaining untouched as it was by the culinary staff and from the time of it's birth in some far off craft-making obsessed country to our glasses, remained wonderful- and as it turned out necessary.
The rest of the evening and the dessert I'm sure were adequate but alas passed unremarkably and unremembered as the anesthetic nature of our beverages played their vital role in rescuing us from too much further consciousness of the main course.
In the end a pleasant evening passed but please chef- get out your old college cookbooks and look up the vegetable option section. I'm sure you will discover some inspiration that will turn that hard-working Octagon steak from a lonely solo act into a celebrated Broadway showtune.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
3 Thank Joseph M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Always excellent!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 15, 2014

Best rib steak in the GTA. Old school atmosphere and service make it a perfect special occasion venue!

  • Visited December 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank lindiboggle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
2 reviews
“Couldn't have asked for anything better”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 13, 2014 via mobile

I got a gift card for the octagon on my birthday and went that night. Everything from the food to the service was exceptional. Prices are considerably high but worth every penny. $200 for dinner for 2 with wine, tax and tip included. The garlic bread is amazing as was my steak and lobster. The service was spectacular and I can't wait to visit again.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Jeffc3000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Octagon Restaurant also viewed

 

Been to The Octagon Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing