We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Decent mexican food.”

Lone Star Texas Grill
Ranked #146 of 446 Restaurants in Richmond Hill
Price range: $8 - $24
Cuisines: Steakhouse, Mexican, Southwestern, American, Bar, Barbecue, Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Families with children
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Accepts American Express, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Digital Payments, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: Our famous fajitas are served up fresh - from the warm flour tortillas to the guacamole and the salsa. Wood fire grilled AAA steaks and smokehouse ribs are all prepared in the barbecue pit. Lone Star guarantees great food, warm southern hospitality, and a good time. We are Canada's only authentic Texas restaurant - the real deal...TEXAS to the BONE!
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
1,228 reviews
695 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 404 helpful votes
“Decent mexican food.”
Reviewed September 10, 2013

I haven't been here since they renovated. the place looks good!
The servers are all young and green. We had someone shadowing a waiter who was rough around the edges himself.
The food is pretty good.
My daughter loves the fajitas.
But you will have to search for traditional Mexican as there are not a lot of choices.
All in all it was good, pricey and not a place I would want to go often but for something different once in a while with your kids....it's ok!

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank wasntme58
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

66 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    8
    26
    20
    5
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
London,ont
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“WISHED WE WENT SOME PLACE ELSE”
Reviewed July 25, 2013

07/25/13 @ 8:09 pm at the 9301 Yonge ST. Richmond Hill location, 3 of us had hunger for ribs & had heard good things but first time experience at LONE STAR TEXAS GRILL. Atmosphere & décor was our type of place-so were excited but actual service & food a total let down! Before order asked for 3 bills=got all on one bill. Ribs looked good but were cold & sauce very salty which means too me were pre-cooked and sitting waiting for patrons to arrive which could understand were few, if they were getting the same type of service that we were getting. The fries were coated with spice, which in my mind is put on to cover up poor quality food and could not finish. We had to go and get waitress since she never came back to see how meal was, so we went and got her to advise on food temperature. She took food back which we were hesitant on doing and they re-heated same food and did not replace with fresh food or offer anything or take and money off bill to make some type of apology for poor quality food/service. The plates were cleared off table and we had still not received extra napkins asked for when we got our food & then I had to ask for wet napkins since we were sticking to everything, to which she only brought 2 for 3 people. Now back at hotel and the three of us are experiencing upset stomachs. WON'T BE BACK !

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Ryan C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lone Star T, Guest Relations Manager at Lone Star Texas Grill, responded to this review, July 29, 2013
Hi Ryan, we are sorry to hear your experience was not up to our high Lone Star standards. Please contact me at scout@lstg.ca to discuss this in further details
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Markham, Canada
Level Contributor
31 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Great Food, Great Service, Great Experience!”
Reviewed July 15, 2013

We were at my nieces 10th birthday We had a wonderful first time experience. The service was phenomenal, courteous and so friendly. Our waiter went above and beyond for us. The birthday girl and guests were so happy with the birthday song and cake. The whole crew came out to sing and wish her well ... there was lots of joy at this table with 8 kids. They gave them plenty of dough to play with as well to keep their little hands busy.

We will definitely revisit because the experience, the food, and the friendliness...a definite MUST!

It was our first experience there and we loved everything about it and will definitely go back.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Sheila2010_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
toronto
Level Contributor
203 reviews
124 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 84 helpful votes
“New Digs Work”
Reviewed May 24, 2013

The renovated the restaurant and it seems that the food and service got a lot better. It was a significant and notable difference from our last visit. The service was a 6 out of 5 - yup that good! Everything from the time we sat down to the time we left was taken care of by a very attentive waiter. He got a 20% tip for his efforts. So if you want good food for a good price and great service give this new and improved LS a shot.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank canadasafety
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richmond Hill, Canada
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
“It was okay”
Reviewed May 24, 2013

Came here for lunch today. The food was nothing out of the ordinary. The service was somewhat lacking. I'll try somewhere else next time.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank ESBmarkham
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Lone Star Texas Grill also viewed

Richmond Hill, Ontario
East Gwillimbury, Ontario
 

Been to Lone Star Texas Grill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing