We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Busy and bustling” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Golden Court Abalone Restaurant

Golden Court Abalone Restaurant
Ranked #132 of 439 Restaurants in Richmond Hill
Cuisines: Chinese, Seafood, Asian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Families with children
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
849 reviews
580 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 317 helpful votes
“Busy and bustling”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 1, 2014

Well located just off Leslie and Hwy 7, the main problem here is the congested parking lot and the difficulty in finding parking spaces. It is a very crowded little plaza. The restaurant is relatively ordinary but does have good food. The peking duck was particularly good. The mixed mushroom dish was also really excellent. Service was OK.

  • Visited January 2014
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Worldwatcher
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

38 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    7
    12
    12
    3
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Edinboro, Pennsylvania, United States
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Fair food, high price, very noisy”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 2, 2013

The food was nothing special, the waitstaff was unfriendly and rushed. The place was packed on a Sunday morning so someone must like it, but the crowd made service poor and the noise level was intolerable. And while some may like the idea of shark fin soup, the cruelty involved in "harvesting" shark fins is absolutely disgusting. When I saw the fins on display when we left,I knew I'd never set foot in there again.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Borohousing F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CAN
Level Contributor
66 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Good Service but need to pay more in return”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 16, 2013

This restaurant is located near Time Square, the dim sum price considered high end but lower than those ones with downtown harbour view. The food and service is good at this visit. Fried noodles in average of $16 per dish. The dim sum are very HK style and good taste. It is up to you to decide if it is worth to pay more as most dim sum are priced as large or higher, and quite a lot of tables were filled even during weekday.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank SimonCN2011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“WORSE RESTAURANT EVER”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 2, 2012

I just came back from a huge birthday party for my grandmother here. We had 11 tables of 650 each. Right when i entered thr restaurant i got in a fight with the staff because she said i asked too many questions. Ummm i just walked in didnt even finish my question brfore she yelled at me then when someone needed something they never got it. For one who claims they are a high end restaurant their service is crap their waiters are useless. This has by far been the worse restaurant ive ever been to. So not worth the money. If you are thinking about throwing a party here i advise you to reconsider for your guest will have great frustration dealing with a bunch of unprofessional rude and aggrisive service. How dare you treat your customers like this when we are giving you business. Truly need to focus on their service. My family was so pissed we didnt even tip them and we always tip. Please i advise you to think twice before coming here and save yourself the trouble. Fyi ths rudest one was a short asian lady with short hair and red higblights if u get her run!

    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
3 Thank goldencourtabalone
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
142 reviews
123 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 111 helpful votes
“Used to be one of the best dim sum restaurants”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 7, 2012

Used to be one of my fave dim sum places but the food quality has gone down.

A little bit of disappointed.

  • Visited May 2012
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank 155019Foodlover
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Golden Court Abalone Restaurant also viewed

Richmond Hill, Ontario
 

Been to Golden Court Abalone Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing