We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“What a disappointment”

Yang's Fine Chinese Cuisine
Ranked #98 of 443 Restaurants in Richmond Hill
Cuisines: Chinese, Seafood, Asian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Families with children, Business meetings
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Private Dining, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
10 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“What a disappointment”
Reviewed October 27, 2013

We usually go to Yangs when someone comes to town or if we want good Chinese food in a slightly more upscale setting. So three of us went there tonight to celebrate a quiet birthday. What complete train wreck. The restaurant was about a third full and yet it took 10 minutes and flagging someone down before we could order. We then realized we had no napkins, self help from another properly set table solved that. We ordered the Peking Duck (2 courses). So not worth it. The duck was sliced thickly and in pieces that were larger than the pancakes. We could have probably lived with that except that they came, carved the duck tableside and then said the pancakes would be coming... what restaurant shows up with the Peking duck WITHOUT the pancakes? Took almost 10 minutes for the pancakes so by then the duck was at room temp. We also ran out of hoisin sauce and when we ask for a bit more, they added it onto our bill! Irritating but not yet into the ridiculous... We had two hotpots - a shrimp satay vermicelli and a beef brisket hotpot -- both were good not great. We had almost finished the hotpots before a waiter came by and asked if we would like the leftovers wrapped up to go at which point I pointed out that the second course of the Peking Duck (lettuce wraps) had never shown up!!! By this time everyone was pretty full. The manager refused to cancel the order stating that he couldn't since the first course had already been served and they price the duck as one so he could not make any adjustments to the bill. All he could offer was to wrap it up to go. I have to say, I get way better service at a Boston Pizza. When most places screw up, they a) apologize and b) figure out a way to fix it... There was no attempt to adjust the bill in any manner. For a Chinese restaurant supposedly of a higher caliber, the service was atrocious. They just lost a regular customer.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Shumann
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

38 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    8
    18
    7
    3
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Montreal, Canada
Level Contributor
31 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Affordable and delicious”
Reviewed September 1, 2013 via mobile

Great food, well priced in a clean environment. Menu slightly confusing if you aren't fluent in Chinese

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank AraKafafian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
86 reviews
51 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“Banquet meal - 12 courses”
Reviewed June 20, 2013

Yang's is considered fine dining Chinese food so there were high expectations. We were invited for a large family dinner of 70 people. The service and food were excellent overall. The servers would individually serve each dish and the plates were changed regularly - this is expected at a fine dining Chinese restaurant. The host of the event really went all out with the menu and ordered a whole suckling pig for each table as well as the large Alaskan king crab. The only thing about the crab was that the restaurant should have presented each table with the crab as a whole on the platter and then serve each person individually. The effect of the dish was lost in the presentation even though the crab was very delicious. The set up of the room was excellent as it provided privacy from the regular customers. Surprisingly, this restaurant has numerous private dining rooms so it is good to book for private functions. The dim sum menu looks interesting so we will have to visit again to try that out.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank ChineseJamaican
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
toronto
Level Contributor
105 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 126 helpful votes
“ALWAYS excellent”
Reviewed December 8, 2012

Truly the best dim sum in the area! Service is good and they treat everyone like friends! Love, love, love this place and cannot rave enough! I am a regular --- try the specials that are not listed on the English menu!

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank princess416
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto
Level Contributor
28 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“All time great chinese food”
Reviewed August 14, 2012

宮廷御宴 (Chinese name of this restaurant) is one of our favorite Chinese dim sum restaurants in town. We have been in Canada for more than twenty years and I think this is one of the great ones in town. The quality is high but the price is on the high side (compared to the other Chinese restaurants). The outstanding Ha Gow with foie gras is my favorite. Also the noodles in fish soup with Grouper is also outstanding. My 4 years old son and my husband who doesn't like fish all love this dish. Since the noodle dish is in family size, we would give up a few dim sum just to make room for this one. Yum!

  • Visited July 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank mcmau2002
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Yang's Fine Chinese Cuisine also viewed

Richmond Hill, Ontario
 
Richmond Hill, Ontario
 

Been to Yang's Fine Chinese Cuisine? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing