We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great food, great value” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Thai Basil

Thai Basil
Ranked #117 of 439 Restaurants in Richmond Hill
Cuisines: Asian, Thai
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Dining on a budget
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Delivery, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Level Contributor
47 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Great food, great value”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 4, 2013

The food here is excellent, with a wide range to choose from. The lunch specials are extremely good value. We got two specials, two drinks and dessert for $31, and it was delicious. The mango sticky rice is a must.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Cgerbs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

92 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    26
    35
    17
    5
    9
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Richmond Hill, Canada
Level Contributor
106 reviews
104 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“Love the spice”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 23, 2013

Want to see if a Thai restaurant is good or not? For me I've got to try varies soup, curry dishes, and I have to say, very authentic and tasty; also tried a few seafood, salad and desert, they all met the expectations too. The restaurant has so many other options too for ppl like meat or noodle dishes. Well done, Thai Basil.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank SaraHopeCarter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto
Level Contributor
730 reviews
416 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 612 helpful votes
“Great Thai meal”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 17, 2013

We visited this restaurant for lunch. We had the green Curry Chicken from the lunch menu (which is available 11-5 every day including weekends). It came with a spring roll and a small Yom Tum soup. The main was excellent, quite flavourful. The service was wonderful as well.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank TorontoMusicman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto
Level Contributor
231 reviews
129 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 122 helpful votes
“This Thai restaurant has it all”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 31, 2013

I love this restaurant. Let's break down what makes this special. The decor is Asian inspired and comfortable. The menu begins with a full page of drinks including smoothies and teas with all of their health benefits listed. Great during flu and cold season. The lunch specials are very reasonable running $10 or less and include a small soup and spring roll. There is also a full menu with really any dish you can think of. The service is fast. We went during a busy lunch hour and were serviced quickly with drinks and taking our order. The food came quickly as well. The steamed rice is presented in a star shape making it aesthetically pleasing on a plate. The specials are perfectly proportioned so that if you eat everything you will be stuffed but if you want something lighter then you could actually take home enough for dinner. This restaurant really has it all and I will continue going back.

    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Mandy007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
36 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“The Best Thai Restaurant”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 7, 2012

I have had dinner at Thai Basil at least a dozen times over the past eighteen months. I am not a foodie, but I like Thai food a lot, and I try to find it whenever I travel.

Thai Basil is the best Thai restaurant I have been to. The food is always delicious and the service is quick and always with a smile. In terms of ambiance it sits somewhere between romantic and casual, maybe leaning more on the casual side. The decor is nice with lots of natural wood and a waterfall for quiet white noise. The serving-ware and silver ware are nice.

The food and drink menu is extensive but not overwhelming -- they stick to their knitting and don't try bring in a whole bunch of other Asian countries' cuisine. The food menu is well laid-out and offers something for everyone. My favorite dish is the pumpkin seafood curry, served in an actual pumpkin (it motivated me to try to replicate this recipe at home). Once when I had a cold the Tom Kha soup cleared me up with just the right amount of spice. I have had different noodles, curries, x-with-garlic, soups, appetizers...all were delicious.

They also have a location in downtown Toronto but I have not been to that location.

  • Visited November 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank jpellan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Thai Basil also viewed

Richmond Hill, Ontario
Richmond Hill, Ontario
 
Richmond Hill, Ontario
Richmond Hill, Ontario
 

Been to Thai Basil? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing