We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent Food & Great Service”
Review of Thai Basil

Thai Basil
Ranked #104 of 445 Restaurants in Richmond Hill
Cuisines: Thai
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Vaughan, Canada
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
“Excellent Food & Great Service”
Reviewed October 26, 2012

Delicious food, one of my family's favorite Thai restaurants.We go regularly and always find our meals to be consistently good.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank B B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

94 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    27
    35
    18
    5
    9
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Toronto
Level Contributor
28 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Pretty good - Nice place to dine in Richmond Hill”
Reviewed August 16, 2012

There are a few Thai restaurants in Richmond Hill and I have tried most of them. I saw this restaurant opened a few years ago, but because of the darken windows, I couldn't really see what is inside - so I made a silly assumption that this restaurant doesn't have a lot of customers - which is not true. Couple months ago, we finally decided to walk in and give it a try, to our surprise, their quality of food is pretty good - even better than restoran malaysia in the plaza closed by. We are truly surprised. The place is clean and the decor is unique - they even have a mini-waterfall right at the entrance. We ordered coconut fried rice (served in the pineapple), the satay appetizer, one vegetable dish. All are delicious! The fried rice is very good - they actually used coconut in the fried rice - the texture and taste were excellent. If you haven't been to this restaurant before, it really deserves a try!

  • Visited July 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank mcmau2002
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cornwall, Canada
Level Contributor
415 reviews
257 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 206 helpful votes
“Makes my mouth happy”
Reviewed July 7, 2012

We have been to both Thai Basil locations in the GTA and both are delightfully delicious. Lunch combination plates are well balanced with a cup of soup and a deep fried spring roll. The spices and sauces give the food a zing and a zip that lingers on the tongue for a while after the meal is devoured. The Thai Iced Tea is so different, I still do not know the ingredients, but I will crave the flavour 'till next time. Service was prompt and courteous. Decor is pleasing. This place is also easy on the pocketbook. We will definitely be back here again.

  • Visited July 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank olegar31
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colorado
Level Contributor
260 reviews
53 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 224 helpful votes
“Authentic food.”
Reviewed June 26, 2012

The athmosphere in this restaurant is pleasant, decor appealing and the service friendly and quick. It could get noisy when larger group of people decides to come here for the coctails.

The most important is the quality of the food, we ordered three different meals and all of them were excellent:
The appetizer was Thai BBQ pork, followed by Baked Mixed Seafood in Young Coconut
Stir-fried mixed seafood with coconut, sweet basil leaves, red peppers, coconut milk; baked with curry in young coconut shell
and
Thai Tamarind Smoked Duck ,Sliced smoked duck breast served with broccoli, friend onions; topped with tamarind sauce.

The only disappointment was the white wine by the glass, which we will skip the next time.

  • Visited June 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Boleslav
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Ontario, Canada
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Delish!”
Reviewed May 19, 2012

Have been to Thai Basil, Richmond Hill several times. Food is always fresh and for a change dishes do not taste the same as I have found in other Thai restaurants. They use a variety of different vegetables and sauces. Presentation is also interesting. Staff is friendly and courteous. Love the restaurant decor.

  • Visited April 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank RFSToronto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Thai Basil also viewed

Richmond Hill, Ontario
Thornhill, Vaughan
 
Richmond Hill, Ontario
 

Been to Thai Basil? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing