We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great service, staff and clean hotel” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Holiday Inn Express Toronto - Markham

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express Toronto - Markham
Ranked #3 of 7 Hotels in Richmond Hill
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Ottawa, Canada
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
“Great service, staff and clean hotel”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 2, 2013

I stayed here several times and am always received with first class service from front desk staff, dining area staff and management. Requests are addressed promptly, acommodation is up to standard for this property, and friendly staff go the "extra mile" to ensure my stay is comfortable. Rooms are very clean, TV channels clear, intent quality is high, pool area is clean and environment is pleasing. All in all, a great property and location is near many shopping and close to highways. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Neil_N_C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

230 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    107
    81
    30
    6
    6
See reviews for
75
37
25
82
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (44)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Greenwich, Connecticut
Level Contributor
64 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 26, 2013

1 night stay personal, I travel weekly for work. Positives, easy self parking, free wifi, clean room, adequate bedding, bathroom excellent quality, located close to major highways in quite corporate/light industrial park setting. This has the feel of a slightly older Holiday Inn Express but not bad overall for the price. I stay at this chain's hotels frequently and my one negative is that they have to do a serious upgrade to breakfast experience if they want to compete effectively with similar priced Homewoos Suites and Hampton Inns.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Longreach06830
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AejazOperMgrFO, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Toronto - Markham, responded to this review, August 27, 2013
Dear Longreach06830,
Thank you for taking the time to leave our property a review regarding your experience.
We hope you will give us another opportunity to provide the exceptional service that Holiday Inn Express is known for.
Sincerely,
Aejaz K
Operations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa, Canada
Level Contributor
53 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 13, 2013

I stayed there for two nights from Aug. 9 to Aug 11. I returned to this hotel because the price was reasonable, the hotel was quite new and clean and the front desk service was pretty good. The hotel was fully booked during the time when I was there but it didn’t feel crowded. There are restaurants across the hotel, they open late so if you are hungry at night, it’s a two minute walk. However, try not to forget anything at the hotel because it will never come back to you. I find the way the hotel staff handled this situation is inacceptable and ridiculous.

When I got home on Aug. 11, I realized I that had forgotten my Wimbledon Championship towel with has my initials on it which I had left hanging it in the closet. I had bought this towel when I visited Wimbledon in England during its 125th anniversary. So, I immediately called the hotel to locate my item. The front desk transferred me to the house keeping manager and I had left her a message with a brief description of the lost item and my contact number. No one called me back the following day. I called back and spoke to the house keeping manager again. She was telling me that the house keeping lady hadn’t gotten back to her. I had asked the front desk that since I checked out on Sunday, the room was still not occupied. If the cleaning lady was cleaning the room and found a personal towel hanging in the closet, why didn’t she return it to the lost and found immediately? How difficult was it? So I called back on Tuesday to see what is going on. The house keeping manager told me that my towel might be in the laundry room. WHY?? How come it ended up in the laundry room?? I didn’t ask them to wash it!!! It was not even a hotel towel nor I didn’t put it with the dirty towels! She called me back within half hour and said she found a hand towel which did not correspond to my description. Was she an incompetent or what??? Was she trying to [--] me?? So she called me to tell me that the hotel found someone’s else towel and not mine…..I will never stay in this hotel again. This is ridiculous!!! How could they not find my towel which was hanging in the closet? Did the cleaning lady just threw it in the garbage?? No other guests had stayed in this room since I checked out therefore it was impossible for others to take it. Also, the first time that I reported this incident to the front desk, the agent could’ve just gone in the room herself or sent someone to check it out right away, instead of transferring me to the House keeping manager who was away. If I were the house keeping manager when I received this message, I would go in the room myself to try to locate the item then would return a call to the client right away. Also, why would this item ended up in the laundry room??? It just didn’t make sense. In the past I had forgotten items in other hotel in the USA and the hotel was able to locate it and shipped it back to me within a week. Anyway, this was the last time I would stay in this hotel and I will definitely not recommend any of my friends and colleagues to go.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Worldtluxtraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AejazOperMgrFO, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Toronto - Markham, responded to this review, August 14, 2013
Dear SamprasCanada,

Thank you for taking the time to leave our property a review regarding your experience. We strive to provide the best possible service and experience and it is always great to hear from our guests on how we are doing. We regret the overall dissatisfaction with the way your lost item was handled. We will address this immediately and I hope when you return you will see the improvements made.

Again, thank you for your feedback. We hope you will give us another opportunity to provide the exceptional service that Holiday Inn Express is known for and to show you how great our hotel is.

Sincerely,

Aejaz K
Operations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Canada
Level Contributor
103 reviews
54 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 12, 2013

We were impressed by the efficiency of reception desk and check in formalities, not to mention their courteous and warm welcome. Hotel was clean, rooms were spacious and beds were comfortable. The hotel is conveniently located at an walking distance of several restaurants where you can easily find your favorable dish within your budget limit. The hotel appeared to be fully booked, fortunately breakfast lounge was also large enough to accommodate all the guests. Wi-Fi was fast without connection problem. altogether, we did enjoy our stay.

Room Tip: Our room was on the ninth floor, odd number.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank boroushan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AejazOperMgrFO, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Toronto - Markham, responded to this review, August 14, 2013
Dear WandererBo,
Thank you for taking the time to leave our property a review regarding your experience on TripAdvisor. We strive to provide the best possible service and experience and it is always great to hear from our guests on how we are doing.
We hope you will give us another opportunity to provide the exceptional service that Holiday Inn Express is known for.
Sincerely,
Aejaz K
Operations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
39 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 11, 2013

Road tripping with a few mates we stopped here overnight en route to niagara falls. We booked our room through bookings.com and got a great deal where the 4 of us shared a dbl room, including breakfast.
The room was new and clean and the bed was heavenly- big comfy bed with beautiful plush pillows. The bathroom was well stocked with a good shower and nice towels. Great wifi too!
My friend and I took advantage of the little gym downstairs twice- only about 6 machines and some weights, but everything you need to work up a sweat.
Positioned across the road from about 10 restaurants, make sure you ask the staff their tips on where's best for dinner.
Breakfast was good. All the basics plus more baked goods and my favourite- the pancakes! Def worth waiting the extra minute or so.
Not near anything of interest but for somewhere to rest your head- great!

Room Tip: Make sure to check out the little "store" downstairs in the lobby- toothpaste, razors etc...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank BonnieEJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa
Level Contributor
117 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 17, 2013

Stayed here with a ball team recently. The hotel staff were friendly and helpful. The bedrooms were comfortable. The complimentary breakfast was delicious with lots of good choices. The hotel is located within walking distance of lots of good restaurants. Ask at the front desk; they provided coupons for free appetizers at The Keg and Baton Rouge.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sarah W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AejazOperMgrFO, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Toronto - Markham, responded to this review, July 18, 2013
Dear Sarah W,
Thank you for taking the time to leave our property a review regarding your experience on TripAdvisor.
We hope you will give us another opportunity to provide the exceptional service that Holiday Inn Express is known for.
Sincerely,
Aejaz K
Operations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Bay, Canada
Level Contributor
66 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 16, 2013

Family weekend at Wonderland. Hotel was close and so convenient for us all. Check in was great. Young lady behind desk informed us of everything within a 3 mile radius of the hotel. Rooms clean, and we sure needed the air conditioning. Bed was so comfortable. WiFi was fast, which the kids love on their IPADS. Everyone enjoyed breakfast.
Thank you to all, we be back.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank June C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AejazOperMgrFO, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Toronto - Markham, responded to this review, July 17, 2013
Dear June C,
Thank you for taking the time to leave our property a review regarding your experience on TripAdvisor. We strive to provide the best possible service and experience and it is always great to hear from our guests on how we are doing.
We hope you will give us another opportunity to provide the exceptional service that Holiday Inn Express is known for.
Sincerely,
Aejaz K
Operations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Richmond Hill
0.4 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Toronto/Markham
0.3 mi away
Sheraton Parkway Toronto North
Sheraton Parkway Toronto North
#1 of 7 in Richmond Hill
3.5 of 5 bubbles 524 reviews
0.8 mi away
Staybridge Suites Toronto
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
BEST WESTERN Parkway Hotel Toronto North
1.4 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites by Hilton Toronto Markham
2.4 mi away
Hilton Toronto / Markham Suites Conference Centre & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express Toronto - Markham? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Toronto - Markham

Property: Holiday Inn Express Toronto - Markham
Address: 10 East Pearce Street, Richmond Hill, Ontario L4B 0A8, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > Ontario > Richmond Hill
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 7 Hotels in Richmond Hill
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Express Toronto - Markham 3*
Number of rooms: 117
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Now open! Holiday Inn Express & Suites Toronto-Markham We are a 100% smoke free hotel located in the vibrant Toronto Northeast business area, the Silicon Valley of the North . This contemporary 10 story hotel is located one block north of Hwy 7 at Leslie St., with easy access from Hwys 404 & 407. On premise features include indoor salt water swimming pool, fitness centre with treadmills, cross trainer, recumbent fitness cycle and spinner, guest laundry, business centre, meeting rooms, and ample parking. Guests Stay Smart with our free Express Start breakfast and wireless Internet access. 117 beautifully appointed rooms and suites meet all your requirements - flat screen LCD TVs, clock radios with iPod docks and wireless Internet access. Guests of the Holiday Inn Express & Suites Toronto-Markham will find this state-of-the-art hotel to be well situated for both business and leisure. Local businesses: Subex Azure, AMD, CGI, Wyeth, IBM, Dynatec, Honda, Acklands-Grainger, Motorola, GMAC, Nike, MMMGroup, Wyeth, Suzuki, Open Text, Tetra-Pak, Bose, Syneron and many other Fortune 500 companies. Local attractions: Historic Unionville, Canada s Wonderland, David Dunlap Observatory, Ontario Science Centre and Vaughan Mills Shopping Mall. Situated near Premiere Ballroom & Conference Centre and Le Parc Conference and Banquet Centre. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, IHG, Expedia, Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Toronto - Markham reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Toronto - Markham Hotel Richmond Hill
Holiday Inn Richmond Hill
Holiday Inn Express Toronto - Markham Richmond Hill, Ontario

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing