We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Holiday Inn Express Toronto - Markham
Nearby Hotels
$86
$79
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Best Western Parkway Hotel Toronto North(Richmond Hill)(Great Value!)
$101
$82
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$93
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
$78
$73
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Richmond Hill Inn(Richmond Hill)
$66
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$108
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Residence Inn Toronto Markham(Markham)
$148
$129
Residence Inn
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$104
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$112
$79
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Emerald Isle Motel(Richmond Hill)
No availability for your dates from our partners
  • Free Wifi
Reviews (250)
Filter reviews
250 results
Traveler rating
114
90
31
8
7
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
114
90
31
8
7
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsfront deskfree parkingpancakesyogurttwo thumbsfree breakfastnice clean hotelregular roomcomfortable bedbusiness tripsitting areaconvenient locationlots of restaurantsmini fridgethe richmond hill areasome sortsuite
Filter
Updating list...
195 - 200 of 250 reviews
Reviewed June 12, 2011

An excellent, well managed property. The rooms are spacious and clean and they offer complimentary upgrades based on availability. The complimentary, hot breakfast in the morning provided a good start to a day of site-seeing. The business centre was spacious and complimentary, as well. The only negative would be that the pool area was small, the pool was cold (they had recently re-filled or done maintenance) and there was no hot tub. Overall, great service and a great property.

  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mark D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelGuestServices, Front Office Manager at Holiday Inn Express Toronto - Markham, responded to this reviewResponded June 29, 2011

Thank you so much for your wonderful review! It is very nice to know our guests were enjoying their stay at the hotel. We do not have a sauna or hot tub available but we do have a heated salt water pool and a 24 hour fitness centre available, as well as numberous golf course or other activities nearby to suit your needs. We look forward to seeing you next time!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 6, 2011

Came to hotel looking forward to swimming in the pool. Checked in, no mention that pool was out of order. It wasn't until I asked about the pool hours that I was informed the pool was out of order. Asked for a discount on overnight rate, they only took off 50$ for a 2 night stay. Up into room, the bar fridge did not work, and the cool/heat control was not working. Called front desk, they sent someone up to look at it. Eventually the cool/heat control worked but gave off a burning smell, called again to front desk. They said this is normal!! Eventually bar fridge cooled down somewhat, but never really got really cold.
Breakfast was the standard for the holiday inn, nothing special.

  • Stayed: May 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank CoolerIce
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelGuestServices, Front Office Manager at Holiday Inn Express Toronto - Markham, responded to this reviewResponded June 29, 2011

Thank you very much for your review. Our pool was being close for maintenance issue and we have no choice to close it down. We try our best to protect our guest’s safety and this is our priority. We did not have advance notice about the pool. As for the heating/cooling system, it is similar to a computer unit, when we first turn on a computer and we try to open several programs at the same time, the computer will froze. When we first turn the heating/cooling system on and we adjust it to the lowest or highest, it will generate a small smell as it is trying its best to accommodate the request. We welcome all kinds of comment as this will give us opportunity to improve. Thank you for choosing us and we hope to see you again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 6, 2011

Traveling on business, this was my first stay here, and I was very surprised by how nice this hotel was. I was not expecting this from a Holiday Inn Express. The rooms were meticulously clean, including the bathrooms, with accents of granite and glass. The staff at the desk was friendly and helpful. It was actually easy to park here and get into the hotel through either side or rear entrances with a room key. Fast food and shopping a short drive away. The rooms were well equipped for conducting business. The internet was fast, but occasionally dropped a wireless connection. The only negative was it's pretty far from downtown Toronto.

Room Tip: Park in the back for a short walk to the elavator
  • Stayed: April 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mitchd123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelGuestServices, Front Office Manager at Holiday Inn Express Toronto - Markham, responded to this reviewResponded June 29, 2011

We love your comment and we love reading comments like this! Thank you for taking the time to leave us this comment. We are not in downtown Toronto but we are close to highways where you can get easy access to other parts of the city. We also have public transportation close by where you can take the bus/subway and enjoy the Toronto city life. We look forward to your next stay and again thank you for your lovely comment!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 3, 2011

We stayed at the hotel for couple nights at the end of April. Generally hotel is clean, but front desk personnel weren’t friendly at all. We did reservation in couple weeks before our stay and prepaid, but nobody bothering even look at that. So they tried to charge full price and accommodate us in a room that was left, otherwise we were told can go out and find other place to stay. The front desk personnel clearly demonstrate that they do not care about us at all, and we deeply annoyed them by existence. Same in check-out, cold and quick go out. Strange treatment for polite and professional people!

  • Stayed: April 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Tabui2734
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelGuestServices, Front Office Manager at Holiday Inn Express Toronto - Markham, responded to this reviewResponded June 29, 2011

Thank you for your comment. As for prepaid reservations, we require the guest to pay in full at the time when reservations are made. There are situations when guests' credit card does not go through. However, we have many reservations and it will be very hard for us to call every single guest for additional information or updates. When prepaid reservations are made the guest is responsible to have a valid credit card for the full payment, or else necessary changes may be made. We appreciate your understanding of this worldwide Advance Purchase Rate policy under the IHG brand. In terms of the check out process, our front desk staffs are trained with efficiency of handling guests in a quick but professional manner. Many guests tend to prefer checking out quickly. We apologize if our staffs were quick with the check out. We hope to see you back with a more welcoming and enjoyable stay.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 3, 2011

I was here on work the second time in 12 months and chose to stay in the same hotel. The rooms are clean, staff efficient & location is great if you have business around the same area. They also provide a shuttle pick up and drop service in the 5Km radius within office hours.

The breakfast though good, has a small spread and has been the same menu over the last 12 months. So it can get a little bit bothersome to have the same breakfast if you are staying here for long periods like I did last timer for 3 week.

Though a lot of good restaurants offering worked cuisine within the 2 Km radius for great lunch and dinner options.

It is very poorly connected with public transport system, which is the case with all of Richmond Hill and can be a pain to travel to downtown Toronto on weekends. Hiring a car well prior is recommended.

Having said so, I will be here every month to 45 days and will continue to stay here owing to its definite positives.

  • Stayed: April 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank ManavDhanda
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelGuestServices, Front Office Manager at Holiday Inn Express Toronto - Markham, responded to this reviewResponded June 29, 2011

Thank you very much for your review and thank you for being our regular guest! :)
Our breakfast is a standard for all Holiday Inn Express. The brand chooses this menu after many researches and test to find this which is suitable for the taste of most guests in the world. While some guests may prefer other choices for breakfast, as you mentioned we do have plenty of restaurants in walking distance.
We do have to disagree with your comment about poor public transportation, as there is a bus stop just in front of our hotel, which takes you straight to the subway station in 15 minutes. From the subway station you can get to downtown easily. We are also very close to Hwy 7 which has the most convenience public transportation line in the Markham and Richmond Hill Area. As well the Langstaff Go Train station is only 10 minutes away from us.
Next time when you are back, we will certainly give you detail instructions on how to get to downtown in a snap. :)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews