We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Delicious!!!”

The Barrel Pizza and Spaghetti House
Ranked #2 of 63 Restaurants in Simcoe
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Italian, Pizza
Dining options: Late Night, Delivery, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Delivery, Reservations
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Delicious!!!”
Reviewed September 5, 2013

This is the best Italian restaurant in Norfolk County, by far! The food is always amazing, I have never been disappointed! Do not pass this restaurant up if you are in the area!

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Brad H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

269 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    130
    92
    28
    12
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Port Dover, Canada
Level Contributor
65 reviews
37 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Best Restaurant in Town”
Reviewed August 21, 2013

We have been dining at "The Barrel" for probably 20 years. Three generations of our family have enjoyed dining at The Barrel and it is always the request of our grandchildren to dine at The Barrell. We love their consistency of their menu. Their salads are excellent and we love the hot pepper on our house salads. We love the Tuscan Chicken on angelhair pasta with a good variety of vegetables. Their Mediterranean Shrimp appetizer is wonderful. The aroma of the restaurant lets you know you "are home". Their pizza's may be a little more expensive than others, but the quality on the pizza is top notch.
They have a children's menu along with an activity sheet not just a colouring book to entertain them. They serve local wines as well as others. Their coffee is excellent
**Note** They don't allow parties of two to take a booth on weekends as I guess they realize they can make more money off four people in a booth. Their tables for two are very skimpy.
Can order ahead for take out.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank LindyLou1214
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
44 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
“Ok food”
Reviewed August 5, 2013

We dined at this restaurant last night and from the reviews I was expecting a little more. I thought this restaurant was a bit more fine dining where as it is more of a family restaurant with regular food.
I had the seafood pasta which did not come with a huge amount of seafood and the girlfriend has the Lake Erie perch which was servers breaded which. We're both surprised at as we thought they would have wanted you to taste the freshness of the fish.
Service was very good but I think we would look for a more formal restaurant if we returned to Simcoe.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank david2149
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hamilton, Canada
Level Contributor
26 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Loved this place”
Reviewed July 16, 2013

My husband and I ate here while we stayed in town and were pleasantly surprised at the food and service. The food was wonderful and our server was great. The pasta portion was plenty; it was hot and fresh and perfectly seasoned. My favourite was the caesar salad garlic stick. We will definitely come back soon and try the pizza

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank mdlouie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Simcoe, Canada
Level Contributor
10 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Cheaping Out”
Reviewed July 16, 2013

The Barrel was at one time the BEST restaurant in Simcoe and quite possibly in the general area of Norfolk. I would have put it up against any other restaurant. My last two visits - I have noticed the price has gone up and the portions are substantially smaller. I ordered the "Chicken Tetrazini" and there was hardly any food there. The salad had very little substance - just dry lettuce and only two pieces of bread. I was left hungry. My wife ordered the Chicken Milano - looked like a split in half chicken breast, 6 small roasted potatoes and a few fried mushrooms. The server never brought an appitizer, which we were charged (and eventually uncharged) for. Seems to me they are really cheaping out. New owner? Not enough food? The food quality for what was there is EXCELLENT however. Very tasty. Gus and Guido's in Brantford is a better alternative. For a few bucks more - you'll be full and have lunch for the next day. They don't cheap out on piddly things like - potato, salad, bread, noodles. I hope the Barrel smartens up, because people are noticing. The family that walked out behind me questioned the portions and the service - which is something to be desired.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
4 Thank ohmosso
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Barrel Pizza and Spaghetti House also viewed

 
Simcoe, Norfolk County
 

Been to The Barrel Pizza and Spaghetti House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing