We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Blue Elephant Simcoe”

Blue Elephant Craft Brew House
Ranked #4 of 63 Restaurants in Simcoe
Price range: $6 - $24
Cuisines: Brew Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine
Dining options: Late Night, Breakfast, Outdoor Seating, Reservations
Description: The Blue Elephant offers a number of atmosphere options to make sure you have exactly the experience you're looking for. Do you want a restaurant with a relaxing, homey comfort? Try our Dining Rooms. Looking for a bit more flair in your atmosphere? The Thai Room adds a little spice to your ambiance. Do you want to hit the pub for a relaxing pint? Our Brewhouse has a warm and friendly bar and a selection of delicious fresh-brewed beers. Mouth-Watering Made-In-House Dishes At the Blue Elephant, we want your dining experience to be absolutely perfect. That's one of the reasons we make certain that our entire menu is made-to-order, allowing you to make any tweaks to our recipes to suit dietary restrictions as well as your personal tastes. Excellent Food, Made With Local, Fresh Ingredients Keeping it local is a great way to support the Norfolk economy, but we'd be lying if we said that was the only reason we shop local for our food. Locally grown ingredients means that all of our in-season produce is as fresh as you can get without eating it straight off the plant. By supporting local businesses, we're reaping the benefits: crisper greens, more succulent reds, and an all-around unparallelled local cuisine. NORFOLK'S FIRST, AND ONLY, MICROBREWERY The Blue Elephant Craft Brew House went on tap in September 2012 and the brews are being poured faster than we can brew them! In traditional European fashion, our beer is brewed in small batches with no additives or preservatives using local organic barley, wheat, hops and pure water. Our fresh ales, lagers, pilsners and specialty brews are available on tap in the pub, and for retail sale in our Brew Store. Be sure to look for our rotating selection of seasonal brews throughout the year!
Port Dover, Canada
Level 4 Contributor
18 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Blue Elephant Simcoe”
Reviewed June 18, 2014

Visit and eat at this restaurant on a regular basis. Mainly go for the chicken wings, but they also have a full range of great dishes. They have a Thai meal in a bowl that is really good also. Theres an outdoor patio where you can eat and drink which is really nice with the weather. Service is nice and friendly. There is also a brewery on site that they make their own beer, which is kind of cool. Its a relaxing atmosphere with fast and friendly service, with good food, hard combination to beat.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Bezenator
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

188 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    69
    65
    28
    16
    10
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Simcoe, Canada
Level 5 Contributor
92 reviews
56 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
“The Blue has made me blue”
Reviewed June 6, 2014

This was my go to pub in Simcoe. No complaints with the food and service but they recently stopped serving my favourite beer on tap, Rickard's Red, along with others! The plan is to promote their micro brewery. Laudable but frankly, the home brews are not good. Hopefully, they will relent and bring back the old standby drafts.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
7 Thank Cobler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beeton, Canada
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Nice Place to have a meal and drink”
Reviewed June 3, 2014

We first visited Simcoe, ON in the summer of 2013 and enjoyed it so much we have returned three times. We stay at the Best Western Little River Inn and are able to walk to the Blue Elephant Brew House as well as many other places. The staff at the Blue Elephant are always friendly and professional, the food is great as well as the atmosphere.....Love the outside patio! We have made Simcoe our short road trip destination. There are also great sandy beaches near by.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Laurie E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Heather P, Manager at Blue Elephant Craft Brew House, responded to this review, June 5, 2014
Norfolk has so many amazing places to visit - and we're glad that you have made The Blue one of your stops during your 'stay-cations' to the area! We hope to see you again real soon!
Cheers,
Your friends at The Blue!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Marys, Canada
Level 6 Contributor
146 reviews
86 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
“What a gem!”
Reviewed May 21, 2014

This is a great restaurant. The menu is very diverse and every item sounds delicious. People in our group had the salmon & leek chowder, mussels, liver & onions, double grilled cheese hamburger, greek pasta, lamb, Thai spring rolls and deep fried mozza sticks. (How's that for varied?) The food was delicious and well-priced. Let's not forget the craft beer! You can't go wrong at this place. We'll be back!

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank MJO_1991
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Heather P, Manager at Blue Elephant Craft Brew House, responded to this review, June 5, 2014
Glad to hear you had a great time! Thanks for stopping by and taking the time to write a review for us! Much appreciated!
We hope to see you again soon.
Cheers,
Your friends at The Blue
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canada
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“great place”
Reviewed April 15, 2014

"The Blue" as it is known as by the locals is a great place to go whether with family, friends or for business meetings. I love the intimate restaurant. Great staff!. There is a larger room upstairs as well for meetings/family get-togethers etc...They have outdoor dining as well... even one area is in the "garage". On of my favorite foods are the thai eggrolls. EXCELLENT!

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Annette V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Heather P, Manager at Blue Elephant Craft Brew House, responded to this review, June 5, 2014
Many thanks for the great review!!! We love the Thai eggrolls too!! Hope to see you again soon! Cheers,
Your friends at The Blue
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Blue Elephant Craft Brew House also viewed

 
Simcoe, Norfolk County
 

Been to Blue Elephant Craft Brew House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing