We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Ok, but better options in Simcoe”
Review of Comfort Inn Simcoe

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Comfort Inn Simcoe
Ranked #3 of 3 Hotels in Simcoe
Reviewed January 4, 2013

I found the front desk staff here to always be helpful, the problems with the presentation of this hotel have nothing to do with them.

That being said, the rooms are in desperate need of updating! Bubbled and peeling wallpaper, burn marks on bathroom counters, stains on some of the carpets and bedding, occasional issues with broken appliances, and sadly several instances of garbage/incomplete cleaning between guests.

The location of this hotel makes it more convenient for guests who would like to walk around Simcoe but the comfort of the stay is greatly diminished by the condition of the rooms.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank kkcole
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barb R, General Manager at Comfort Inn Simcoe, responded to this reviewResponded January 22, 2013

Thank you for honest review of our hotel. We appreciate the positive input you gave toward the front desk staff. We do strive to ensure the comfort and satisfaction of our guests.

It sounds as if you may have stayed in one of the few rooms which have not received a full update yet. There are still a few that need the carpets and love seats replaced. Mostly, however, that has been done throughout the rest of the hotel. Had we known the room was less than satisfactory, and were we able, we would have given you a better one, possiby even our Asian themed room or the Pink room which was designed for the CIBC Run For The Cure (proceeds going to the cause).

We hope your disappointment in that room does not hamper your enthusiasm about the area in and around Simcoe. In more fair weather there is always something going on here! We do hope you will return to enjoy the many activities, festivals, local wines, produce, and treats such as popcorn, peanuts, maple syrup, and much much more all in this little corner of the world called Norfolk County!

We will certainly make sure you are happy with your accommodation before we check you in! Please do return! You will be glad you did!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (91)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

66 - 72 of 91 reviews

Reviewed December 8, 2012

Pleasant surprise. Open kitchen, snacks, great DIY breakfast, awsome coffee, great staff and service. Went out of their way to show us to a nice local restaurant (AMIGOS). Loved the atmosphere, a bit 1980's look with psychadelic patterns everywhere.

No problems with forms of payment. Only one issue with the TV not working, but not important enough to make a complaint about anyways because we were doing much more elsewhere. We are discriminate in where we sleep, and the sheets were clean, carpet and washroom clean, evn had the tops of the tables just wiped down. Very clean clean place!

Room Tip: Worth it to stay here first, comparable to a higher priced hotel. Hydro company stays there a lot fo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank goinganywherewecango
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barb R, General Manager at Comfort Inn Simcoe, responded to this reviewResponded December 16, 2012

Thank you for your wonderful review. We are happy that your stay here was pleasant. We work hard to make that so and it is encouraging when folks like you have a positive experience here. This is what makes it all worthwhile!

As for the TV, every remote control and system works differently from what one might be used to at home. Ninetynine percent of the time this is the case here. When you are here again and if you have trouble, we can check to make sure it's not some bigger issue. If it is, we will do what we can to remedy that too.

Were you able to take in the Simcoe Panarama River of Lights while you were here? The lights will be on every night until January 6th. It is something to see! There is a welcome center as well where you can get treats and gifts items unique to our area.

Again, thanks and come back soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 28, 2012

After a long day on the road, we sure appreciated the drive-up room and the fridge/microwave combo. There was even a large table with chairs in the room. Beds were comfortable, room was very clean, and although the hotel is located right on route 3 we didn't hear any road noise. The property includes a large grassy area (with BBQ's for guest use) which was wonderful for doggy walks. Oh-and I should mention that our dog received a "welcome" gift upon check in; which made all of us happy.
Although the breakfast room is very small (which meant we had to wait until there was room at the food station), the selection was good and staff were continually replenishing items. They even have coffee & tea available 24 hours a day. If ever we're in Simcoe again we would definitely stay here!

Room Tip: If you have a pet, ask for one near the "yard area".
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank greenmountaingirl2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barb R, General Manager at Comfort Inn Simcoe, responded to this reviewResponded October 3, 2012

Thank you so much for sharing your happy experience with everyone. "Pets are people too" is the sentiment of pet owners. Those who bother to bring their pets along are those whose pets are a part of the family! Our beautiful back yard, well off the highway, offers not only a great place to walk and excercise the pets, but is also a great place to relax and enjoy coffee/tea/cold drinks while reading, or visiting with friends and family. If you have come to visit family here in Simcoe, why not invite them to a BBQ?

We are not insensitive to our guests who do not have an appreciation for pets either. We do try to designate particular room types to our pet owners. For our guests who may be allergic or sensitive to pets, we do completely strip the room, right down to the bed skirts, and super vacuum everyting, once pets check out, just in case!

We look forward to your next visit. And we hope you bring your beautiful dog along too.

In Hospitality!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 9, 2012

All the rooms are very unclean... sheets all have stains and same with ceiling in rooms (not to sure what that's all about). Last week had 6 rooms booked and when we arrived we found that we only had 3 and we were being forced to bunk together because the hotel overbooked!!! Hotel staff did nothing to help us just said that they needed the room. Hotel rooms have not been renovated since the early 90s all rooms have 20 inch tube tvs with less channels then the old bunny ears. Hotel staff just says management is trying to save money. Ants and potato bugs run the hotel every place you look in and out of your room you will find them. Continential breakfast is a joke by 8 everything is gone and the room is so small only one person at a time can do anything in there. I travel Ontario for a living and this is by far the worst I have been to stay far far AWAY!!

Room Tip: Comfort Inn in brantford is a lot nicer and only 25min away.. worth the drive for the friendly staff...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank SternD69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barb R, Manager at Comfort Inn Simcoe, responded to this reviewResponded January 29, 2013

We are extremely disappointed to read this review and are dismayed to hear of this guest’s experience. We have reached out to them to try and learn more details about their stay so we can address the issues listed and learn more about where we may have dropped the ball.

We do wish that this reviewer had contacted us during their stay so that we could have immediately rectified the problem and provided a solution for them.

We always appreciate feedback that will allow us to make improvements and hope that this guest would consider giving us a second chance and provide us the opportunity to regain their confidence in our hotel.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 18, 2012

Stayed here during a visit to Port Dover.It was located about 10 mins away and has everything ,Tim Hortons,McDonald's,Walmart close by! Was clean and comfortable..enjoyed the picnic tables and outdoor chairs on the property.We were impressed with the clean breakfast room that was constantly restocked with bagels,toast as needed. We will definitely stay here again!!

Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
Thank Lynn C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barb R, General Manager at Comfort Inn Simcoe, responded to this reviewResponded September 8, 2012

Thank you for your favourable review! We are so pleased you had an enjoyable stay at Simcoe Comfort Inn. Norfolk County is a great place to visit with much to do in all seasons! It is fantastic that you were able to take advantage of our pretty and tranquil park-like back yard. We have even seen deer and wild turkeys back there, depending on the season! And yet, we are in town and handy to all of Simcoe's amenities!

Please come again soon. Norfolk County Fair and Horseshow will begin October 2nd and run through Thanksgiving. Then after that it will be Pumpkinfest in Waterford! There is always something going on in the area.

Yours in Hospitality

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 6, 2012

The rooms ard dated and not that clean. Beds are comfortable but the pillows are small. TV is small and not flat screen. The bathroom floor was crawling with red ants. No kleenex or extra roll of toliet paper when we arrived. Had to ask house cleaning for some. It was a quiet stay. Forget about the free continential breakfast, nothing much or healthy. No whole grain bread, orange juice okay. Front staff not very personable and lacking in customer service.
Glad to check out!

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank barbangi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barb R, General Manager at Comfort Inn Simcoe, responded to this reviewResponded August 10, 2012

We are very sorry to hear of your dissatisfaction with your stay here. Whenever this happens, provided the guest makes us aware they have issues at the beginning of their stay, we take every measure to remedy the situation.

I understand what you are saying about our pillows. They become compressed due to the way the pillow cases are tucked in at the end. I discovered this for myself when I checked into a Choice Hotel. I found that by freeing up the tucked in end of the pillowcase, I could fluff the pillows back to the original shape. Honestly, those pillows are heaven to sleep on when they are fluffed!

With the rapid advancement in the technology of TV's, even the big screen TV's here look ancient! It would be great if all of our rooms had the flat screen TV's. Several rooms do have them and we are working toward having them in all the rooms.

In trying to be environmentally responsible to the earth as well as our customers, we do not like to put pesticides where guests may come into contact with them. We also try to use more natural solutions, such as borax and confectioners sugar, when possible. These may not have the immediate effect that sprays and drops have. This time of year, weather dictates the activity of ants. I trust that our staff took care of irradicating them from the bathroom in a timely manner.

We appreciate your input concerning the Continental Breakfast. We will put in a suggestion to head office about that. We do have to be careful about allergies. We try to offer a variety of bread products. Aside from white bread, we have whole wheat bread, whole wheat bagels and even whole wheat English Muffins. For cereals, besides Raisin Bran and Special K, we offer oatmeal. There are several varieties of fresh fruit, plus hard boiled eggs, and 2% milk, orange juice, and locally produced natural apple cider. Yes, aside from the Belgium Waffles with natrual real maple syrup (also local), we do offer one sweet pastry as required by Choice Hotels, but the bulk of our patstry tray consists of muffins; bran, carrot, morning glory, and blueberry. And we have a wide assortment of gourmet teas and coffees.

If you do happen this way again, I hope you will choose our hotel and give us another try. You may even make special requests concerning your room.

Again, thanks for your input. It is greatly appreciated.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 23, 2012

Upon check in I was no very happy. The hotel needs refurbishing, the front desk folks were not very friendly, and the room was dark and had a nasty smell. After opening the curtains and blasting the A/C it seemed to improve. However, the bed was quite comfortable, the room was clean, and the "free: breakfast was nice. All in all, not a hotel you would wish to hang out at, but good value for simply a place to sleep.

Room Tip: Our room was right near the stairs, ask for a different room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Gail G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barb R, General Manager at Comfort Inn Simcoe, responded to this reviewResponded July 27, 2012

It is unfortunate that your guest experience here was less than perfect, and for that we apologize. It seems that most of your disappointment in the room was with the environment within the room and not the room itself. Recently we have begun the process of becoming a smoke free hotel. In converting the rooms, it does take extensive deep cleaning to remove all trace of tobacco by product from wallpaper, carpets, furniture, and other fixed elements of the room, and this has been done. It also takes fresh air and time to dissipate. Had we a vacant room to do so, we would have moved you to one that was more agreeable with your senses.

We are environmentally responsible in that we use the energy saving compact fluorescent bulbs. They seem to be dimmer that the old incandescent bulbs and take a few minutes to warm up to their potential brightness. Hopefully that technology will improve!

Our front desk staff is usually very friendly and accommodating. We apologize if you encountered one of us at the front desk who was having a tough day, and this can happen from time to time, but is rare. Though it can be tough to do when we are extremely busy, we do try to maintain our cheery dispositions.

As for the lobby, we have received some good news on that front! We have been given the green light to do a refresh and update! We are very excited for the reveal. The decor will be uplifting and current, as opposed to this dated and dark theme now. I hope you will visit us again and see the improvements sometime in the later summer/early fall. Check out norfolktourism.ca for information about all the neat things happening in our area!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Simcoe
0.8 mi away
Best Western Little River Inn
1.1 mi away
Travelodge Simcoe
Travelodge Simcoe
#2 of 3 in Simcoe
360 reviews
22 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites by Hilton Brantford, Ontario
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
21.9 mi away
Comfort Inn
Comfort Inn
#3 of 6 in Brantford
88 reviews
21 mi away
Howard Johnson Tillsonburg
Howard Johnson Tillsonburg
#1 of 1 in Tillsonburg
171 reviews
10.7 mi away
Maple Leaf Motel
Maple Leaf Motel
#1 of 2 in Delhi
5 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Comfort Inn Simcoe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Comfort Inn Simcoe

Address: 85 Queensway E, Simcoe, Ontario N3Y 4M5, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > Ontario > Norfolk County > Simcoe
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 3 Hotels in Simcoe
Price Range: $77 - $117 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Comfort Inn Simcoe 2.5*
Number of rooms: 61
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the newly renovated Comfort Inn Simcoe. All guest rooms have been renovated and include a refrigerator, microwave, wireless internet, 32 inch flat screen television. Ground floor rooms have patio door access. This hotel is 100% smoke free. Enjoy a free hot breakfast in the new breakfast room. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Orbitz, getaroom.com, Priceline, Hotwire, HotelQuickly and TripOnline SA so you can book your Comfort Inn Simcoe reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Simcoe Comfort Inn
Comfort Inn Simcoe Ontario

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing