We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“We would go back”
Review of Econo Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Econo Lodge
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Smiths Falls
Reviewed April 3, 2014

We stayed at this Econ lodge as a last minute decision. Positive things about this place was that the room was large, clean, bright, and the bed was very comfortable and the pillows as well. The staff was very nice. During the evening we thought they were doing renovations close by us and I called the front desk to be told that a Pee Wee team was under us. I expressed that I was not happy with all the noise. Within a half hour all was quiet.

The down side if things was that the breakfast had to be the worst we have ever had in all the years we have travelled. And yes the outside of the building from the back entrance is pretty bad. But the most important thing was our bedroom and we were very pleased with it.

Room Tip: We stayed in Room 503 facing the river but with the balconies you could not look out onto it from in...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank SueAncrum
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (126)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

72 - 78 of 126 reviews

Reviewed October 15, 2013

Walked in; the view gave me hope. Went to my room and walked out. Did not feel safe in the old building with an almost cardboard door to the so called balcony - extrememly dirty balcony.
Room was not clean. Something was spilled on the radiator and side of table on the wall against the radiator. I guess the side of the table against the wall does not need cleaning! I was in the room for less than 2 mintues - when I heard the "neighbors" shouting and swearing I decided I need to be somewhere safer, and much, much more respectable.

Gentleman at the desk was very polite and was trying hard to run a place that he has to be embaressed about.

Room Tip: Stay at the Best Western.
See more room tips
Stayed: October 2013, traveled on business
2  Thank Debbie H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 15, 2013

I recently stayed here for 8 unfortunate nights. I travel across Canada for work and the majority of my stays are in Comfort Inns. This hotel is straight out of he 70's -- it needs major repairs and updates. It has one small elevator that takes forever to come to the lobby. My first room was on the 5th floor -- a room that I could barely open the door. I had the desk clerk try a couple of times to open it and she finally moved me to the 4th floor. If possible the room was even older in décor. Before I go any further... when you need something from the front desk... you must phone a telephone number and leave your name and they call you back or come to the desk.... really?? What hotel operates like that? The ceiling stucco was falling off the ceiling... black mold around the soap dish in tub... maid rarely left coffee... never washed out the coffee pot.
I emailed the GM upon my return home and received a standard letter offering me a "free" night... like I would ever go there again! The cost of the room was $119 per night... really value is more like $39 a night. I wrote him back and declined his invite... offered a bit more criticism but have yet to hear from him (3 weeks ago)
Stay at the Best Western... I am sure it is a lot nicer!

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Cynthia1958
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 4, 2013

Why two stars? The location is great, beside the locks in the centre of the town. Also worth noting, the staff were polite so for that I'm willing to offer two stars. Other than those two positives what a letdown from a chain that is known for providing reasonable and predictable accommodations. I must admit that I'm surprised that the Choice brand allows this property to remain in their chain as a Comfort Inn. I can think of Econo Lodges that offer better facilities.

From the exterior, the building looks as run down as the interior is. Paint is peeling from the balconies. The rooms are in a similar state with worn furnishings and smells in both the hallway and rooms. It was a very warm night and I never could figure out how to make the air con work, if it even was air con. I suspect it was only a heater.

I've also stayed in the local Best Western and while the distance to the centre of the town is greater, it is a better property.

Room Tip: Check out the Best Western. Not a great hotel, but certainly cleaner.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mpsrent
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 31, 2013

I've stayed in my share of hotels lately, some nice ones, and some not so nice ones. For me, Comfort Inn, usually has no frills basics and is clean. This one needs a lot of work. Before I go any further, I must comment though the hotel's overall appearance and upkeep would make it among one of the worst in Canada, the staff were very friendly and nice. Also the views are very nice.

I had to go to the front desk 3 times; the first time my room would not open because the deadbolt was on, so they moved me, then the key didn't work, so they moved me, and lastly the door had to be the only one in the world where you had to lift up rather than down. Of course someone drawing an arrow with a marker should have been my hint that it was backwards.

The room it self was mediocre, and quite dated though the bed was comfortable. The room without a close inspection did seem clean. However:
1. Every flush of the toilet ran the risk of overflowing
2. The shower did not drain properly so you had to stand in a puddle of your own water
3. Don't even try and sit on the balcony, there is nothing to sit on and is VERY DIRTY, and someone's gross ash try was left behind
The hallways are probably as they were in the 70s, and the elevator was also disgusting and dirty.

The restaurant actually wasn't that bad, sitting on the patio and enjoying the Rideau canal was enjoyable. There is a number if Indian dishes on the menu, and the waiter explained their chef was from that part of the world which is why they had those dishes. The food was a bit pricy for what you got, but it was actually not bad.

In conclusion, I think for any amount of money this hotel is a bad choice given the dirt and issues. Even still, at 109/night it very overpriced and I would recomend you either go to Brockville or Ottawa to spend the night if possible.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Stephan29
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 5, 2013

This past weekend I was boating with friends and had booked a room at the Comfort Inn. Heading towards the locks we saw a large hotel that looked like it was abandoned and run down. What a shock I got when I saw the Comfort Inn sign! I prayed that there must be a newer Inn somewhere else in Smith Falls. Unfortunately - that was my hotel!! The stay was actually not that bad but this hotel is definitely in need of renovations. It has fabulous potential. It is on a beautiful site along the Rideau River. The entrance was once grand but now is run down on the outside. I can see this place being turned into a wonderful seniors residence if someone wanted to invest the money. This hotel will do in a pinch and if you are only staying one night.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Acadia80
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 28, 2013

this hotel was so awful. The smell from the first step into the hotel to the elevators to the rooms is stale musty And simply gross. The rooms have holes from the moisture from who knows where. The comforters had stains from god knows what. We went for a wedding and I was styling my hair and the power just went out. The maids didn't change the sheets nor did they bring any new towels. The smell was awful. The room was supposed to be a newer room but maybe as new 1960. The only thing I can say good about this hotel is they had safety pins when I needed it. The hotel is situated beautifully. I think some money should be spent to renovate and the hotel would truly be a gem.

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank 27ktravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Smiths Falls
0.5 mi away
Best Western Smiths Falls Hotel
11.4 mi away
Best Western Plus Perth Parkside Inn & Spa
0.5 mi away
Best Inn Motel
Best Inn Motel
#4 of 4 in Smiths Falls
51 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1 mi away
Roger's Motel
Roger's Motel
#3 of 4 in Smiths Falls
73 reviews
12.3 mi away
Tay Inn
Tay Inn
#2 of 5 in Perth
80 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Econo Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Econo Lodge

Address: 33 Centre St, Smiths Falls, Ontario K7A 3B8, Canada (Formerly Comfort Inn)
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > Ontario > Smiths Falls
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Smiths Falls
Price Range: $75 - $103 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:1.5 star — Econo Lodge 1.5*
Number of rooms: 64
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Choice Hotels, Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, getaroom.com, Cancelon, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Econo Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Comfort Inn Smiths Falls
Smiths Falls Comfort Inn
Econo Lodge Smiths Falls, Ontario

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing