We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Chef willing to accomodate”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Chuckles Jack

Chuckles Jack
Ranked #3 of 61 Restaurants in Smiths Falls
Price range: $15 - $20
Cuisines: Indian, Canadian, Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Special occasions, Local cuisine, Business meetings, Families with children, Bar scene, Large groups
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Lunch, Full Bar, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff
Ottawa, Ontario, Canada
Level Contributor
64 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Chef willing to accomodate”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 8, 2013

It was quiet the day we went, we were the only two in the entire restaurant.
Staff was very friendly and attentive.
When I mentioned my food restrictions the server went to the kitchen and brought back a list of items that the chef was willing to prepare special. The chef came out personally, to discuss my restrictions and I had an absolutly wonderful Pad-Tai. Food was wonderful.
The pub feeling was a suprize based on the menue but both worked.
The view overlooking the river must be really nice in the summer. Ours was a winter visit. Will definitely go back when in Smith's Falls again.

  • Visited November 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Mark S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

110 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    71
    24
    7
    5
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
ottawa
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“excellent food, lovely owners”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 17, 2013

Chef Ram, always welcomes you with open arms, he is great with our Grandkids and his food is excellent, he will go out of his way to accomodate you. Just wish he would put more of his Sri-lanken dishes on the menu and less North American!

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
Thank roycolling
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, Canada
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Excellent Food & Great Service”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 15, 2013

Stopped in for lunch on my wife's birthday and enjoyed the day's special. After lunch the owner visited our table to ensure everything was satisfactory, which it was. When he heard that it was my wife's birthday, he went back to the kitchen and came out with a complementary "Tiramasu" dessert which was to die for.
To say the least we will back again soon.

From Portland, On

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Brian P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa, Ontario
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Excellent Service, Delicious Food!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 7, 2013

We stopped here while driving through - a bit difficult to find but well worth it. Staff was very friendly and understanding of our son's food allergies. The chef came out personally, and prepared his chicken strips from scratch, even going so far as to use fresh oil for cooking it in! We had the butter chicken platter with a few appetizers - delicious! Food was wonderful, staff was amazing. Cozy pub atmosphere with great view overlooking the river. Will definitely go back.

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank familyduke
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winnipeg, Canada
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Thought it would be better with all the positive reviews.”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 22, 2013

I was staying at the hotel the restaurant is in so I thought I would give it a try. Not sure if the other reviewers haven't had Indian food before or if it's usually better. The butter chicken was quite bland and anyone that's had real Indian food would be quite dissapointed. Also, the naan bread that was supposed to come with the meal was a pita.

When paying for the meal I commented that their pos machine did not accept Amex even though the cheque holder had Amex logos all over it and the server commented that his boss makes them pay for customers to use the machine. Thought that was a bit shady.

Server was great. No issues there.

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank westendwinnipeg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Chuckles Jack also viewed

 
Smiths Falls, Ontario
 

Been to Chuckles Jack? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing