We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“great host nice digs”

Montague House Bed & Breakfast
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Smiths Falls
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Montague House Bed & Breakfast
Ranked #2 of 4 Smiths Falls B&B and Inns
Toronto, Canada
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“great host nice digs”
Reviewed June 30, 2014

Tom was a welcoming, warm and very accommodating host. We were a rather large family with very young kids (not the typical B&B guests) and Tom really made us feel at home. The location was ideal for us, on the water and not far from town. The grounds were large, lots of room for the kids to run and play and the swimming pool was an added bonus for them. Breakfast was plentiful and delicious!! Overall a great experience.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bitman23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

7 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2
    5
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
2
4
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Orangeville, Canada
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed September 26, 2013

We stayed with Tom for one night and he was a great story teller and accomplished artist. He made us a wonderful breakfast before we started our day. Very interesting man and he made us very welcome. He gave us advice on restaurants and attractions in the area.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ravendi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa, Canada
Level 5 Contributor
76 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed August 4, 2013

A more charming host than Tom Holmes is difficult to imagine. An established and accomplished artist, he is ready to engage in conversation on virtually any topic you may bring up but does not initiate a discussion unless invited. In other words, always there when you need him but otherwise discretely in the background. His large four-bedroom home—tastefully decorated and comfortably furnished—is complemented by a collection of antique art works, acquired over the years, spread throughout the house. His own work is confined to the walls of one downstairs room which he calls his “gallery.” Unprepossessing from the street, the back of the house faces on a thriving flower garden facing a swimming pool and enjoys views of an extensive lawn bordering on the Rideau Canal. If you’re looking for a place in the Merrickville or Smith Falls area of Ontario that is less formal than a hotel, the Montague House B&B is the place to go. P.S. The breakfast does not disappoint.

Room Tip: Two larger rooms have private baths; the two others share a bath accessed from the hallway.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Brad14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kingston, Ontario, Canada
Level 1 Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed May 5, 2013

My husband and I just got back from our getaway, it was only a weekend but we got to visit both Smiths Falls and Merrickville.
At first we were upset we couldn't find a decent room in Merrickville, it was all booked up, so we chose the nearest B&B we could find, it was a great choice! it was only 10 min by car from Merrickville and the house was so artistic and beautiful!, so quiet! The breakfast was really yummy and the owner, Tom, was really nice to us chatting about art and his experience as an art teacher and trips to Europe. Thanks a lot for the amazing getaway!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Raquel D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Smiths Falls
1.0 mi away
Best Western Smiths Falls Hotel
0.5 mi away
Econo Lodge
Econo Lodge
#2 of 4 in Smiths Falls
116 reviews
12.0 mi away
Best Western Plus Perth Parkside Inn & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
19.6 mi away
Kemptville Suites
Kemptville Suites
#1 of 3 in Kemptville
74 reviews
1.1 mi away
Roger's Motel
Roger's Motel
#3 of 4 in Smiths Falls
70 reviews
1.7 mi away
Best Inn Motel
Best Inn Motel
#4 of 4 in Smiths Falls
49 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Montague House Bed & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Montague House Bed & Breakfast

Property: Montague House Bed & Breakfast
Address: 482 Queen St, Smiths Falls, Ontario K7A 5B8, Canada
Location: Canada > Ontario > Smiths Falls
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 4 B&Bs / Inns in Smiths Falls
Hotel Class:4 star — Montague House Bed & Breakfast 4*
Number of rooms: 4
Also Known As:
Montague House Bed & Breakfast Smiths Falls, Ontario

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing