We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Better than Kelsey's”
3 of 5 bubbles Review of Landins Bar & Grill - CLOSED

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
Landins Bar & Grill
Cuisines: Bar, Pub, Canadian, American
Dining options: Lunch, Late Night, Dinner, Reservations, Seating, Waitstaff
Restaurant details
Dining options: Lunch, Late Night, Dinner, Reservations, Seating, Waitstaff
Durham, Canada
Level Contributor
86 reviews
58 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 93 helpful votes
“Better than Kelsey's”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 14, 2013

I stopped going to Kelsey's because the quality of food decreased but when they changed to Landings I thought I'd try it out and and found it was very similar to Kelsey's but the food was so much better. The service was a little slow but the server was very friendly. So happy they have made this change. I did go again and will most likely be returning again.

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank itsmeinhere
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

14 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    2
    3
    4
    1
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Richmond, Canada
Level Contributor
90 reviews
32 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Former Kelsey's Location”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 14, 2013

If you visited this restaurant as a Kelsey's you will find much similarity. There is nothing shpecial about this restaurant, but also there is nothing to keep you away from this for a family dinner out

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
Thank Ted B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belleville, Canada
Level Contributor
118 reviews
90 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“better than kelseys”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 13, 2013

Have eat in here several time. The food is now more like home made and selection way better than the old Kelsey's. The home made soups are fabulous. Try the prime rib burger, outstanding. Friendly staff. Quite busy so if your a gang make a reservation. Try the 12oz rib eye. I had this and it was cooked to perfection. Nice to see lower prices also. The chains are just getting borring. I will return soon.

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Craig M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fredericton, Canada
Level Contributor
84 reviews
74 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
“slow service but friendly staff”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 11, 2013

We went with a large group. I ordered wings and my husband had a caesar salad. The salad was good, but not the best in town. The wings were very large, but bigger is not always better as they were quite dry. The honey garlic wing sauce was very good, but the medium sauce was more like a mild.
I ordered the chocolate ganache cheesecake, but the picture provided looked nothing like the actual dessert.
Service was friendly but ridiculously slow. We had to ask multiple times for drinks, menu's, cutlery ect.. we ended up swiping cutlery from other tables.
Overall the experience was subpar. I would not choose to visit this restaurant again as there are better places in the area.

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank kleobee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Trenton, Canada
Level Contributor
164 reviews
108 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
“SUPPER”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 3, 2013

This restaurant replaced the Kelseys and we had stopped eating at Kelseys because the food was just not good. Well we decided to try it again under different ownership and we found it was worth it. I had the ribs which for oven baked were done to perfection and my better half had the prime rib hamburger which she never eats but also found it very good. The sweet potato fries are really good. Ample Serving and i could have more but I would have over ate. Atmosphere is still the same as the old kelseys but I would go back to this one. Typical Bar and grill menu that will probably need updating frequently as the summer months will be coming. Looking forward to seeing what else they will serve

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank dperronmallette
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Landins Bar & Grill also viewed

 
Trenton, Quinte West
Trenton, Quinte West
 
Trenton, Quinte West
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing