We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Best eatery in Trenton”

The Port Bistro Pub
Ranked #11 of 75 Restaurants in Trenton
Price range: $4 - $24
Cuisines: Bar, Pub, Canadian, Gastropub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions, Bar scene, Scenic view
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Accepts American Express, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Digital Payments, Free Off-Street Parking, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: Situated in the heart of Trenton, The Port Bistro Pub is located in a beautifully restored historical building overlooking the Trent waterway. In the summer season, there is a spacious patio where you can watch the boats pass. Inside we feature the work of local artists & live music on Friday nights. The Port features a menu of gourmet comfort foods made from the very best quality, local products. Everything is made in house including hand-cut frites, desserts, and all sauces and dressings. The menu changes seasonally. We are proud of our unique beer list featuring local, regional and international brews, a comprehensive wine list and a great selection of cocktails and martinis. Additionally, we offer warm, friendly customer service and a fun unpretentious atmosphere that is uniquely ours. We strive to go above and beyond our patron's expectations and make The Port something the community can be proud of. This is partially achieved through our Green Initiatives and by highlighting the area's finest produce, meat, beer and wine.The Port opened July 14th 2011, with new owners acquiring it on August 1st 2014. The Port is locally owned and operated. We invite you to join us for some shared plates with friends, a full course meal or just a drink on the patio.
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
152 reviews
88 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“Best eatery in Trenton”
Reviewed November 25, 2013

We have always enjoyed our dining experience here. Food is consistently good, service always pleasant, and in fact, all in all, I would say that it is way above average for a community this size. Outdoor summer terrace overlooking the water is a real treat.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Pierre S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

158 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    62
    46
    20
    16
    14
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Carrying Place, Canada
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Lots of style, no substance”
Reviewed October 29, 2013

Great atmosphere, okay service, food was substandard. Very meagre serving of bread crisps for 3 people to start. I ordered soup which was served without bread, when I asked for bread I was told that I could have a few more crisps for an additional charge of $2. They weren't worth it. Fries were far too salty. None of us enjoyed the food, would not recommend.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Madhutch2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brighton, Canada
Level Contributor
10 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“A fun night out”
Reviewed October 1, 2013

The Port has a welcoming atmosphere. The staff are communicative and engaging. They let you know immediately if there is a wait for a table and make you comfortable. Our group attended on a Tuesday trivia night and had a great time. The service was prompt, and we enjoyed a variety of appetizers and meals.

The menu has something for everyone, and you can tell the chef prides himself on his creations. There is a fine chacuterie (sp?) plate which offers in-house smoked meats. The burger is prepared in house as well, allowing for the guest to choose how he/she would like it done.

The patio is lovely. They offer live music and a good drink selection. Give The Port a try!

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank MIrwin70
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Trenton, Canada
Level Contributor
27 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“port bistro pub”
Reviewed September 10, 2013

VERY poor experience... food meagre portions, salad all lettuce ... limited specialty ingredients ( if you could find them)... unbelievably poor service... One hour for appetizers/ dinner and only 4 other diners.... overcharged one bill... charged for extra ' bread'..(.actually only @ 4-5 small crustini pieces...)..... too bad... would love to have seen them do well supporting local producers but I doubt they can survive with what they are doing...

So terribly disappointed.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Redrocket982
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Halifax, Canada
Level Contributor
27 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Great addition to Trenton”
Reviewed August 25, 2013

Great patio that overlooks the river! The menu is varied and a nice change from some of the tried and true. I tried the burger and it was great! Definitely one of the best restaurants in the city.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank wyercek_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Port Bistro Pub also viewed

 
Trenton, Quinte West
 

Been to The Port Bistro Pub? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing